Altered desk drawer organizer.

Let me see now.  Spring of 2010 I think is when I purchased a few of these desk organizers.  The lid has a magnetic closure.  While at an Office Depot in Baltimore, Maryland I spied these in the clearance bin for $1.00 each and I snapped four of them up.  They have been in a closet ever since.

Desk organizer box with lidInside the box are small compartments for post-it-notes, paperclips, and other small items.

Partitions for note pads, paperclips and other small items

I’m using only two papers in altering this box.  DCWV Mariposa and 7 Gypsies “Lillie” 8″ x 8″ paper. The box measures 8-1/2″ wide, 4″ deep, and 1″ tall.

I’ve attached strips of Mariposa paper to the front, sides, and back of the box.

Front side of boxLeft side of boxRear of boxRight side of box

The lid of the inside of the box is covered with 7 Gypsies “Lillie” paper and the inside compartments are lined with Mariposa paper.

Inside lid and compartments

Glitter AND flowers all at once.  For those of you that don’t know me, I have a difficult time with flowers.  Have no idea why, just some kind of crazy anxiety.  Won’t look right, others do better, not the right colors.  You know, just a regular fear.  Same with glitter.

Flowers and glitter on the same piece

The finished project looks pretty cool, in my opinion 😀

Altered office organizer box

What have you found in the clearance bin of your local office supply store?  What have you found at yard sales or at a thrift shop?  If you alter something leave me a link to your blog post so I can go see it 😀

My husband is back in the hospital with a pretty big problem with his blood levels with the Coumadin (Warfarin).  His INR is supposed to be 2.1 to 2.3.  It has elevated to 9.6 and that is not good.  So I will be with him until he gets back home.

Leslie

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tina kuhlmann
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 10:20:40

    hi leslie
    the box looks awesome. sorry to hear Joe is back in the hospital. will keep you both in my prayers. tina

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 11, 2012 @ 09:32:40

      Tina, thank you for your prayers and support for Joe and I. I appreciate you very much.

      Thanks for the sweet comment on the desk organizer I altered. I finally got your blog to show up on my iPhone so I can keep track of what you are doing 😀 Exciting stuff you have going on there.

      Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 16:11:39

    Sorry Joe is back in hospital Leslie. It can take a while to get stabilised on warfarin so the staff will soon have Joe’s readings back down. Perhaps he got too excited about going back to work 🙂
    Love what you did with this organiser, those papers are gorgeous 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 11, 2012 @ 09:35:53

      Man, when Joe decides to get sick he makes it a whopper! At least he is back on the mend and going in the right direction, thankfully!

      Thank you, Lynn, for your sweet comment on the desk organizer I altered. Hope you had a great weekend, getting ready for the marathon 😉 that is named Dylan. Probably have the boys names mixed up. Sorry 😦

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

      • gardenpinks
        Sep 12, 2012 @ 16:16:38

        I’m off tomorrow to look after two whirlwinds – Liam and Dylan 🙂 Liam will be at school but Dylan, bless him, is actually an easy child to look after and is very happy with his own company. Can’t remember if I told you but the plan has changed now – I have the boys from Friday (when Jill flies out) until Tuesday and then their other grandma takes over from Tuesday until Friday. That way we all get to spend time with the boys – and they with us – and neither of us are exhausted 🙂
        I have to go tomorrow though as it will be too awkward for Jill to pick me up Friday.
        Love and hugs
        Lynn xx

      • Message In A Fold
        Sep 13, 2012 @ 19:23:42

        That sounds like an excellent plan. Both grandmothers get to spend time with the boys without the parents. Spoil them without the parents butting in 😀 I’m sure the boys will be delighted to have you in their home for a few days and will miss you when they go to the other grandparents, as you will miss them.

        Hope Jill and her husband enjoy their time in Dubai and all his hard work will pay off for him. The two of them can have a mini honeymoon 😀 Probably something they need after all the time they spend working and having a family. The adults get left out of stuff so it is really good for them to have this time alone.

        Enjoy your time with the boys. Away from weeding, pruning, and the dreaded lawn mower 😀

        Love you – Leslie

  3. charmingliltrinkets
    Oct 19, 2012 @ 22:08:00

    The thing about glitter, is there can never be too much glitter. And it’s going to get everywhere regardless, so it’s best not to try and control it, but more of a “guide it” type thing. I love glitter. I smack it on everything.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Oct 20, 2012 @ 06:53:44

      I had to go see what you were referring to about your “glitter” comment 🙂 That post was more than 5 minutes ago and I had totally forgotten about it :-} You sound like my sister. If it can take glue it can surely take glitter 😀

      Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

