I don’t know when to stop the tweaking.

I thought I had finished the bulletin board yesterday.  The project was then handed off to Joe to add his expertise.

Joe's turn to work on the bulletin boardHe is doing some purging in his office.  He has decided to part with some of his stuff and sell it on eBay.  This frame is quite large and he had to make room for it on the kitchen table.

“Glazier Points” are going to be inserted into the back of the frame.  These will help hold the bulletin board inside the frame and keep it there when Carissa pushes the pins in to hold her important notes.

Glazer PointsHere is an “artistic” shot of the works.  Setting the glazier points.  It takes skill and someone that is not as ham fisted as I am.  I bend these things pretty bad when I do it so it has become Joe’s job because he has the right touch.

Over the shoulder view

Joe’s job complete, this puppy isn’t coming out of the frame at all.  Nice and secure!

Securely fastened

This morning I went into  my room to see how the Beacon’s 3 in 1 glue did with the push pins.  Some are holding well with this glue….

Beacon's 3 in 1 glueHowever, some are not.  Just pulling the pin from the foam core by the attached decorative piece resulted in the pin remaining in the foam core.

Beacon's 3 in 1 glue didn't work on the plastic back of this pieceTime to get the “big guns” out and use the heavy duty E-6000.

E-6000 Industrial glue

This morning I added some pink ribbon with pearls to the frame.  I used hot glue to attach it.

Pink ribbon with pearls

There is something missing……looks like there is too much open space.  After attaching the ribbon it seems that the “art piece” is an after thought.

After adding the ribbon

Time to fill up the empty space with more Graphic 45 Le’ Romantique images.

Adding more Graphic 45 imagesThat looks better…maybe.

I had to cover the back of the frame with brown paper.  Hide the glazier points, rough cut wood, and anything else.  Make it look a bit more professionally put together.

Brown paper to the back of the frame

And, of course, I had to “sign” the piece 😀

My "signature"

All that remains to do is attach a hanger piece so it can be mounted on a wall.  This will be handed off to Joe once again for the final touch.

I will restrain myself from any further tweaking of the piece.

How often do you look at something you have made and decide that it is not quite finished, after you have finished it?

Enjoy your crafting time.  My crafting time is near an end for a while 😦  Time to get back to my day job.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Sep 08, 2012 @ 16:17:17

    Oh I’m always doing tweaks Leslie and quite often found I’ve tweaked too much 🙂 It is knowing when to stop. Love the finishing touch of the ribbon – I really do love that ribbon with the pearls. It has been many moons since I have had a frivolous crafty splurge; all my very careful and frugal spends have been on essential such as cardstock or adhesive. Boy when I come off that budget leash…….watch out! LOL
    Yes I think your piece did need those extras and looks superb, I bet Carissa will love that.
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 08, 2012 @ 23:23:50

      You and me both on the frivolous crafty splurge. Everything I’m using on all of these projects is stuff I’ve had for years. I don’t even know if half of the products are still available. That ribbon with the pearls was purchased two years ago along with several other yardage ends. Still in the bag from the fabric store and totally forgotten about until I was ramming around looking for something. It is almost like treasure hunting in my room 😀

      Thank you for your kind words on the “tweaked” board. I have so much trouble figuring out when to say “When” and just stop. This time I’m happy with the results.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Tracy :)
    Sep 09, 2012 @ 10:46:22

    Beautifully done. Great project that you both put your heart into.
    Is that E600 glue really as good as everyone says it is. I need some glue that will hold up to the weather.
    I was surprised by the change in how to get to your blog..nicely done 🙂

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 11, 2012 @ 08:54:06

      Thank you Tracy, I appreciate you. I so enjoy having Joe help me on some of my projects. There are some times that he wonders what I am getting him into 😉

      The E-6000 doesn’t hold up well to heat. I used it on my handheld radio we use in our truck driving job. The gear pieces I glued on the metal foil came off….one at a time 😦 I don’t know how that glue would do in your frigid winters. Probably not very good. I don’t know what you would use for outdoors, sorry 😦 I’ll have to check on that.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

