Finished “Architecture” layout

Finished "Architecture" layoutClick on any of the photos in this post to have a larger view of the details.

As mentioned in yesterday’s post, this two page layout is for the photos Tiffany has taken of Funeral Homes she has been to.  In her “body snatching” days, as Joe calls them, Tiffany traveled all over Colorado and Kansas to pick up or deliver a family’s loved one – to or from a Funeral Home.

This little wisp of a girl, all by herself, started out her career by going into hospitals, nursing homes, and private residences to remove the dearly departed and take them to the Funeral Home she worked for.  She’s shifted 300 pound men from seated positions or lying abed onto a gurney all by herself.  There were a few times she had to call for assistance but not many.

Tiffany told me of one incident when she arrived at a nursing home pushing her gurney down a hall.  The nurse at the station greeted her with “I didn’t know we were expecting you!”  Tiffany realized at that moment she had gone to the wrong place and had to make a quick exit and get back on track.  Several hours later she was called to the nursing home she had previously arrived at and was asked if she were psychic.

I digress, sorry.

Looking through my stash of forgotten stamps I was in need of something that “resembled” stone or brick work.

Stamp that resembles stone or brick workThe stamps I have chosen are both from Club Scrap and date back to the 2004 and 2005 collections.

The long stamp that looks like laid brick is from the “Mosaic Twist 2005” collection.

Mosaic Twist 2005 Club Scrap collection

The “Listen with your eyes” stamp is from “Fossils 2004” collection.

Fossils 2004 Club Scrap collection

I was in need of photo corners.  The items I had created for the “graveyard” layout were not a good fit for this type of a layout.  Looking through my stamps I remembered I had purchased some sort of geometric shapes form eBay back in 2006.

Geometric stamps purchased from eBayI don’t recall the seller’s name.  It has been so long ago.  I chose the stamp that seemed to resemble brick work more than the others.

Stamp that sort of resembles brick workI stamped this image four (4) times on white card stock.  The inks I used were Antique Linen and Tea Dye Distress Inks from Ranger Industries.

I cut out around each image.  The diameter of this stamped image is just a little over one inch.

Stamped image is just a little over 1"This image is inked with Tea Dye Distress Stain.  Then I cut this piece in half diagonally.

Cut the image in half diagonallyUsing Antique Linen Distress Stain I stamped the same image on the inner part of the open space.

Using Antique Linen Distress Stain I stamped in the middle of the photo cornerThis gave me a “two toned” effect on the photo corners.

Two toned photo cornersI inked the edges of the photo corners with Walnut Stain Distress Ink.

White glue was added on the back side along the edge then adhered to the photo mat.

Add glue and adhere to the photo matI found some architectural renderings in the “Salvage Stickers” collection by Tim Holtz.  The card stock stickers fit rather nicely in the top right corner of the second page.

Salvage Stickers collection by Tim Holtz

I found a “hearse” type of car image from an 8″ x 8″ pad of Graphic 45’s “A Proper Gentleman” paper collection that fit nicely in one of the smaller squares that might have remained empty otherwise if Tiffany doesn’t have close up shots of windows or doors that would fit in these tiny spaces.  I used a large tag punch, I think an old Marvy one, that I’ve had for years.

Old car image from Graphic 45 "A Proper Gentleman"

Another image from the 8″ x 8″ paper collection of Graphic 45’s “A Proper Gentleman” fit in one of the longer spots on the page.  The tuxedo clad gentleman made me think of a Funeral Home Director.

A tuxedo clad gentleman from Graphic 45's "A Proper Gentleman" collectionThe flowers I’ve added were die cuts from, I think, a Stampin’ Up! die.  I’m not sure which Sizzix die it is but the papers are out of print Stampin’ Up! paper scraps.  The button centers are from my large stash of buttons.

Die cut flowers using outdated Stampin' Up! scrap papersAnother die cut flower using Stampin' Up! outdated paper scraps

The finished layout has a small bit of ribbon tied into a bow with a charm hanging from it.  The charm makes no sense to the layout but it was dangly 😀 and not a crystal looking thing.

The finished two page layout without the glare

The next layout I’m doing for Tiffany will be to hold the “Thank You” letters and cards she has received from the families she has helped.  I will be using another cutting guide from the Club Scrap Idea Deck.

Cutting guide from the Club Scrap Idea Deck

This one will hold “Easter Eggs”.  No, not the multi colored and decorated Easter, Easter Eggs.

You, and she will have to find these images hidden on the pages 😀

Tim Holtz "Stampers Anonymous" Mini Halloween stamp set

It may take me a couple days to finish this one so stay tuned 😀

Have fun in your crafting and creating.

Leslie

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Sep 05, 2012 @ 14:50:44

    Great layout Leslie and so much detail 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 05, 2012 @ 18:56:16

      Thank you Lynn. Scrapbook layouts were my introduction to paper crafting. For me it is so much more enjoyable than making cards. Cards I struggle with. I think it is the boundary of the two. One small and one large. Then again, it just could be my crazy brain 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Carissa
    Sep 05, 2012 @ 17:08:44

    You make me want to scrapbook again… 😀
    Tiffany will love this!!! Good job, mom!!
    I love you!
    ~Me~

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 05, 2012 @ 18:57:11

      Thank you my sweet daughter. That is high praise indeed and makes my heart swell. I can’t wait for you to see it when we all get together in Orlando 😀

      I love you my Punkin – Mom

      Reply

Leave a Reply

