Pull from your stash, you’ll not believe what you can do with it.

My finished layoutMy post yesterday was about using a cutting system to help you in making and planning your scrapbook layouts.  This is the finished project.  All that is needed is three photos to complete it.  To see the photos better click on them to get a full view.

The photo corners I made yesterday using a stamp set I have had for over a year, maybe longer.

Photo cornerThe newest item I have is a stamp set by Hampton Art and made for Graphic 45.  I used black heat embossing powder on the stamped image.

The tone of this layout is of past times.  I mean, when you think of a graveyard you don’t think of the current times…unless you have recently lost someone (and I’m sorry for your loss).  The general public think in terms of long ago and the older people that are interred there, not their contemporaries.  So I have chosen items that speak to the past.

I don’t know if Tiffany will appreciate the images from the 1930’s and 1940’s but, personally, I think the items I’ve used make this layout not so creepy.  What normal person wants to have photos of headstones in their albums?!

Hampton Arts heat embossed imageThe next item from days gone by is an Art Deco image.  This is from a stencil I purchased many years ago from Club Scrap.  It was one of those things, when I got it, I wondered just exactly why I did.  Now it has found a use.

Art Deco stencil from Club ScrapI’ve used Tea Dye and Aged Mahogany Distress Stains with this stencil.

Stencil colored with Tea Dye and Aged Mahogany Distress StainsIt looks really great adhered to the black card stock foundation that I built yesterday.

Stencilled Art Deco piece trimmed and mountedThe last bits that harken to days gone by are two card stock stickers from Tim Holtz “Lost and Found” collection.

Card stock stickers

Card stock stickers from Tim Holtz "Lost and Found" collectionI dug around in my stash in search of a rhinestone flourish and could not find a single piece that hasn’t already been scavenged with pieces missing.  So I had to create my own.  Once again, a stencil I purchased from Club Scrap many years ago has come to my aid.

Flourish stencil from Club ScrapI used a pencil to trace the outer lines of the flourish to have a guide to follow.

Pencil lines to follow in creating a flourish

Using Glossy Accents to attach the rhinestones and my long forgotten stash of rhinestones from Stampin’ Up! I set to work.

Glossy Accents and assorted sizes of rhinestones from Stampin' Up!Once I glued all the rhinestones on I found I was left with a messy bit of over run of glue 😦

Unsightly glue spotsIt even looked pretty bad from a distance.  The shiny glue was like a beacon to show the bad job I did.

From a distance the shiny glue stand outI had to hide the glue.  Feathers are ideal because they are long enough to cover several faults at one time and a single colorful Prima like silk flower has been used to hide the feather quills. A small grouping of flowers I made help to cover over a few more faults.

Feathers and flowers cover the bad glue spotsIf you are anything like I am you have amassed quite a bit of stuff in your craft area.  Think about how you can use something to your benefit.  Take a look at your stencils to see how they can help to create decorative elements on your cards or scrapbook layouts.  The only “shopping” to do is in your own stash 😀  You paid good money for these items, now figure out how to use them 😀

A final look at the completed layout

Hope you are enjoying your Labor Day weekend in the States.  Outside the US I hope you are enjoying your Sunday.

Leslie

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy :)
    Sep 02, 2012 @ 15:30:13

    Your layout is great, I am sure your daughter will love it.
    I like how you used the stencil to position your rhinestones and how you covered up your glue shine 🙂

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 02, 2012 @ 15:52:55

      Thank you Tracy, I appreciate that! I can’t have my daughter think I’m imperfect and have faults 😀 I’m glad you like the layout, thank you for the sweet comment.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Jann
    Sep 02, 2012 @ 15:37:12

    Totally LOVE this layout and all the wonderful details you put into it! And of course, you know I am all about using what we have in our stash (so there is no guilt about getting MORE!) Lol..

    You’re inspired me to go work on some projects that need a few touches….

    So good to see you in your craft room!

    Love you,

    Jann

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 02, 2012 @ 15:58:24

      Wow, I’ve inspired you!? That is totally awesome, it is usually the other way around 😀

      Thank you for the sweet comment on this layout. I appreciate you.

      I know what you mean about guilt free shopping 😀 I’ve had to go on a Michaels and Hobby Lobby diet 😀 until we get back on the road once again.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. Maureen Mathis
    Sep 02, 2012 @ 17:18:36

    Once you’re off your “Michaels and Hobby Lobby” diet, get some matte gel medium for adhering the rhinestones. It will dry with a matte finish, and is a little more forgiving than the shiny Glossy Accents or Crystal Effects glues.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 02, 2012 @ 19:21:22

      Oh, great. That is good to know. I’ll have to make a note on my reminder to get gel medium on my future trip. I must make another note to get more rhinestones 😀 as well. Thanks for the great tip.

      I saw you went to some kind of a bash recently. Was that a gathering of the Michaels craft gurus that you were part of? Are you still teaching classes in Austin? I sure do wish I could go to one of your classes 😦 I’ll get to one! I’ve got to get to one of your classes.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  4. gardenpinks
    Sep 05, 2012 @ 14:33:34

    So many items on this layout that I love 🙂 The Art Deco stencil is gorgeous, I am a fan of Art Deco as I think it looks so elegant. The rhinestone flourish is great and the feathers and flowers pull it all together so it is a good job you had to add those 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 05, 2012 @ 18:47:03

      Man I know. I love that Art Deco stencil but it doesn’t go with everything.

      Thank you for your sweet comment on my put together flourish. I really enjoyed making that and as you can see I’m getting a little more comfortable with flowers 😉

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

