Club Scrap’s 12 x 12 Idea Deck

When I need help in creating a two page 12 x 12 layout my “Go To” tool is the Club Scrap 12 x 12 Idea Deck.  I have the Version 1 which I bought not long after they were introduced.

Club Scrap Scrapbook Layout Idea DeckThis tool comes with 52 individual idea cards.  The layout sketch is on the front of the card while the cutting directions are on the back of the card.  The papers you will need are listed at the bottom of the sketch on the front.  This is called the “Gather List”.  The paper choices are left to you to decide, only the dimensions are listed, i.e. 12 x 12 and 8-1/2 x 11.

Our daughter, Tiffany…..

Our daughter, Tiffany.has made a request for me to create a scrapbook album for a special need of hers.  A place to display and store the photos she has taken of funeral homes and graveyards she visited during her time as a service provider.  Or, as my Joe so lovingly calls it…..”a body snatcher”.

Our Tiffany is a Funeral Director and an embalmer.  She loves her work.  All aspects of it.  She has garnered many accolades in the industry and her work is respected.  I’m so proud of her.

Tiffany is kind of like me.  She’s a “No Frills” kind of girl.  Shabby Chic is not her thing.  Much too delicate for her.  Although Tiffany does like lace, beads, glitter, and flowers she is not all that willing to have it reach out and grab her.

The papers I’m working with are DCWV Street Lace and I’m trying to mix the papers up in her album.  By using the smaller prints on these pages, while others are festooned with bright embossed images, I am trying to balance the bold and luminous pages with those that are a bit more subtle.

I have no idea what photos she has, nor how many.  I don’t know what the colors are in her photos but I do know there will be a lot of cream, light gray, and beige tones of the funeral homes and lots of grays from headstones in the graveyards.  I need the deeper and richer colors of the papers to accent the photos.  Help to make them “pop”.

I have found that my stash of black card stock has dwindled down to scraps.  In this layout I am using some black card stock from Club Scrap that has a map of the star system delicately embossed in gold on the black paper.

Greens, grays, and blacks.This layout is intended for graveyard photos.  The green background is to compliment the green grass.  The gray plaid type paper is to lend strength to headstones.  The black is to give weight to the full layout.  In the bottom areas of both pages I have used an Inkadinkadoo stamp with black embossing powder to create a flourish type visual to look and feel like the engraved granite on some fancier headstones.

Inkadinkadoo stamp embossed in blackAnother stamp set I am using is from Stampin’ Up! and is titled “Style Beautiful”.  I have used two stamps from this set to mimic engraving.  I’ve trimmed the black base mat in gold with a Krylon Gold pen.  I’ve also used a white gel pen at 1/8″ from the edge of the black paper to act as a holder for the green paper mat.

Stampin' Up! "Styled Beautiful" setUsing the same stamp set from Stampin’ Up! I am making photo corners.

Making photo cornersI have cut around each of the stamped images and have used my shimmer brews on them.  First with More Mustard.

Spritzed the photo corners with More MustardThen a bit of Not Quite Navy.

Spritzed with Not Quite NavyAnd a final spritz with Real Red.

A final spritz of Real RedI’ve inked the edges with Tim Holtz Walnut Stain Distress Ink.

Inked the edges with Walnut Stain Distress InkI have yet to decide on the flowers I wish to use with these photo corners.  I want to keep them small.  Some that I made last winter are just laid upon the photo corner pieces that are not glued down just yet.  I may change my mind and use half back pearls or small jewels on the photo corners.

Test fitting the photo corners and flowers

I will post the finished layout when I am done.

This type of a layout is good if you have only two photos and some memorabilia.  A lengthy description of the photo story can be placed on the second page next to the border.  A photo placed on each page along with a news article, map of a hiking trail, or a trip to a fun park.  The small boxes on the right page near the bottom can be used to display small pieces.

Here is a video, from Club Scrap, showing how you use one of the cards in the Idea Deck.  Hope you enjoy it.

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy :)
    Sep 03, 2012 @ 19:23:30

    This looks like a great product.
    Your daughter is a special person to do what she does. I can see why you are so proud of her.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 04, 2012 @ 08:22:41

      Thank you Tracy. After we all, as a large family, got over the initial creeped out bit….visions of the dead coming back to life and attacking our daughter (too many scary movies)….we accepted her career choice. When we heard about the family members that showered her with praises and gifts we totally got over being creeped out. She is providing comfort and solace for families at the worst possible times of their lives. We are so proud of her.

      Your comment means a lot to me, Tracy, and I thank you for that.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Sep 05, 2012 @ 13:08:57

    Great layout Leslie. At first sight I thought the photo corners were butterflies 🙂 Love those Inkadinkadoo flourish stamps also that black cardstock with the gold embossing! All beautiful x
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 05, 2012 @ 18:44:47

      Thank you, thank you. I’m trying to use what I have on hand and not buy anything for this project. I’m finding all kinds of things….can you imagine that?! 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. Nancy
    Sep 05, 2012 @ 14:39:38

    Really lovely work Leslie! That Club Scrap system looks great…kind of like Pagemaps before Pagemaps! Or did this come after Pagemaps? I agree with Lynn. Those flourishes look great! I also agree with Tracy. It really does take a special person to do that kind of job…especially to do it gracefully and with the right amount of sincere compassion! Yay for her! (You really do have a crazy imagination, don’t you? lol) May I ask what the lovely artwork on her arm is? It’s hard to tell in that photo. 🙂

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 05, 2012 @ 18:52:44

      I have no idea what Pagemaps are. The Idea Deck came out in about 2006. Club Scrap sends out paper and embellishment kits monthly. They include tons and tons of paper – really thick card stocks. Someone with a head for figures created these sketches with all the measurements and the people at Club Scrap asked for permission to use the sketches and made these super handy cards. I love this system.

      Our Tiffany is the “odd duck” in our family, but we love her immensely and we are so proud of her. She is really good at her job, not one that I’d be standing in line to apply for any time soon though. I’ll have to dig through my old photos. I may still have one around her somewhere. The tattoo is of a raven on a graveyard fence. The headstones are bathed in an eerie green light with a sunset. She has plans for an entire arm sleeve. Not for me though. I have a really bad fear of needles.

      Thank you very much, my friend, for your sweet comments on my work. I appreciate this coming from one whose work I so admire.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

