Notebook for our Family Physician

How often do you go to your doctor in pain or just plain sick?  Knowing you have a physician that is there for you, even waking him/her up from a well deserved sleep to complain of an ailment you just can’t stand dealing with any longer?

Our Family Physician, Dr. Thomas Carlisle, has been there for Joe and I since about 1996.  I am totally ashamed to admit this but I don’t show my appreciation to him any more than paying his bill 😦

Today, I am going to remedy that!

Graphic 45’s “A Proper Gentleman” 8″ x 8″ pad is the paper I’ve chosen for our doctor.  The stickers, and gel stickers are from my stash.  I’ve had them for several years with the intention of  making something for our doctor but just never got around to it.  These sticker sheets are by:  Karen Foster Designs – “Doctor Visit”; Karen Foster Designs – “Medical (Gels)”; Reminisce – “What’s Up Doc? (Gels)”; and Reminisce – “What’s Up Doc?” (stickers).  I’ve used a Sizzix Scallop Tag Pocket, and a scrap piece of Club Scrap heavy black textured card stock.

This is the front of the notebook.

Front of notebook

The back is also a piece from Graphic 45 “A Proper Gentleman”.

Back of notebook

I wanted to make a “prescription” sheet but had to wing it.  The paper is a heavy weight card stock scrap from my Club Scrap stash.

A fake prescription placed in the tag pocket

Stickers and gel stickers have been used for the prescription bottle and the pills.

Prescription bottle and pills

I’m hoping he will like this extremely late “Thank You” gift.  At least he might know that we appreciate him and all the time he has spent with us over the years keeping us well.

I am going to take advantage of Joe napping in his chair to go play some more in my craft room 😀

Leslie

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Aug 24, 2012 @ 18:08:48

    Great fun notebook and if your doctor has a sense of humour he will appreciate this wonderful thank you. Oh sciatica is not nice; both Rod and I suffer from it from time to time. I don’t think our bed helps either but we shall be having a new bed as soon as we move – think we deserve that 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Aug 24, 2012 @ 19:00:36

      Amen on deserving the new bed! 😀 Plus watching all the 30 something’s mow the yards, tend to the flower beds, pull the weeds, and push the wheel barrow around 😀 You two are quite amazing for a couple of old codgers 😀

      Joe and I delivered the notebook to our doctor. He read the “Take two aspirin and call me in the morning” and he chuckled at that. HE was the one that got Joe on an aspirin regimen several years back and I truly think that is what has pretty much made this a cake walk compared to what others were going through. When our doctor opened the cover and saw that it was a notepad he was delighted and I was happy. It was good to give him our token of gratitude – finally after all these years. Better late than never I guess 😀

      When is your next post going up? I think I heard a rumor you were working on something new.

      You two take care of yourselves. Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Aug 25, 2012 @ 16:28:41

    Rod had to take a daily aspirin for some years as part of his hypertension regimen but the doctor has told him to stop taking them now as the side effects can be quite serious – aspirin attacks the lining of the stomach.
    I took a break from serious crafting for a while so I could catch up on the gardening, sorting out the house etc only doing the necessary crafting for swaps or birthday cards. I am working on a smaller project at the moment but nothing exciting!
    In a couple of weeks or so I shall be away for a whole week as Jill will be joining Darren in Dubai. Darren has to go to Dubai on 28th August for 3 weeks for the company he works for – Jaguar-Landrover- as he is part of a team performing hot weather climate testing on prototype vehicles that are due for production in 2 years time. Jill will be able to go out for Darren’s last week and I foolishly offered to babysit 😀 Liam will be at school but Dylan is still at home so I shall be an exhausted wreck by the time the parents come home! I shan’t be able to take much craft stuff with me as there is no where safe to store out of Dylan’s way and it appears that is undergoing Commando training 🙂 All of 3 years old and he climbs like a mountaineer!
    Less of the old codger if you please 🙂 Just because my hair is almost white I am still under 60!! Another 4 years before I get there 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Aug 25, 2012 @ 17:30:41

      Sorry about the codger remark ;-). Seems I’m older than you. I turned 58 in July. Feel like I’m 30, except when I walk with 30 year olds and can’t keep up :-(. My legs aren’t going as fast as I think they should.

      Oh my! You will be totally wrung out by the time you get back home after caring for your grandsons while their parents are away. I hope all goes well for Darren in his trials in Dubai with the vehicle testing.

      From the sound of your gardening you are in the process of an overhaul. Seeing the photos of your beautiful gardens as they are now I can well imagine the new work you are doing will be fantastic. Maybe after things settle down a bit and the new plantings dig in you’ll do an update of your grounds in one of your blogs. I so love looking at your handiwork.

      I’ll keep you in my thoughts and prayers whilst you are babysitting. One can always do well with a bit of strength and backing 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. gardenpinks
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 18:06:37

    On the gardening front Leslie it isn’t an overhaul with new plantings but we have had so much rain that the weeds are rampant and I just haven’t been able to keep on top of the maintenance. So it is weed pulling, pruning and generally tidying up but some of those flower beds are huge and I can’t do as much as I used to – age creeping up! Well not so much creeping as galloping actually.
    Oh you want to try and keep up with Jill when she is walking! I puff and pant alongside while she keeps up a conversation, if I need to reply to her I have to stop and catch my breath!! 🙂
    One day Jill said to Liam “right come on we’re going to the supermarket” Liam asked “are we driving or running?” LOL He has to run to keep up with her, Dylan was okay as he was in the pushchair but as Jill’s brain started turning thngs over she would speed up and walk faster and faster. She hadn’t realised how fast she was going until she noticed that Liam was running full pelt alongside her LOL Keeps him fit too 🙂
    I wasn’t offended by your old codger remark, found it amusing 🙂 I don’t take offence at such things 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Aug 27, 2012 @ 09:02:36

      Oh my! I had a great laugh at your Dylan’s remark to his Mom 😀 That is just way too funny…”are we driving or running?” Poor little tyke. I bet he would prefer a drive more often than a run 😀

      As for you and your gardening. I feel sorry for all the weed pulling and pruning you have to do in your lovely garden. I bet there were times you wished you had a magic wand to zap those weeds right out of the ground instead of bending over or being on your knees.

      After all the hard work I bet you had a very tired smile on your face as you saw your lovelies cleared of the weeds. Maybe not so keen on the climb up the stairs to the bath afterwards to soak your aching muscles. I’m hoping your estate agent comes quickly to take the photos and get the buyers lining up to speed you and Rod to Cornwall 😀

      Take care my friend.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  4. Jann Gray
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 18:25:43

    Love this gift! Super cute – and so very thoughtful! I also love seeing that you are crafting…so good for the soul! Hugs! ~Jann

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Aug 27, 2012 @ 09:03:45

      Thank you Jann. It is good to be crafting in my room once again. Can’t find anything since I’m getting reacquainted with that space but I’m working at it 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

