No glimmer mist – no problem

I don’t carry shimmer sprays in my traveling craft stash because of the elevation changes we go through in our day job. Water bottles that are not full have a tendency to cave in on themselves. The glimmer mist bottles would leak.

I’ve made a Thank You card for the nursing staff at the hospital where Joe is being treated for his Pulmonary Embolism.

20120822-103930.jpg

I’ve not made this type of card before so this is my first and it is not very difficult.

I used two sets if Tim Holtz stamps to fill in the spaces.

20120822-104322.jpg

The background paper is a piece of 6 x 12 Graphic 45 Communique card stock. The sections all have black card stock mats from my Colorbök textured card stock stash and the images are stamped on white Colorbök textured card stock.

20120822-104633.jpg

I have a mica pigment water color pallet that I used to take the place of the glimmer mists.

20120822-104813.jpg

I started off with a light yellow and randomly painted it on all the images. Some areas I used extra water to dilute the color.

20120822-105117.jpg

Next came a light green.

20120822-105225.jpg

Next I used a light red.

20120822-105932.jpg

Lastly was a light blue.

20120822-110250.jpg

Once I was satisfied with the shiny colors then I set to work on the embellishing. In the awesome stuff I got from Jann a few years back I found a bottle cap and a clock face. I attached the clock face to the inside of the cap with a foam square then added a crystal rhinestone to the center of the face. Finally I glued it down with some white glue.

20120822-110715.jpg

A couple flowers, a button, and a shiny butterfly are also items from Jann.

20120822-110815.jpg

The right edge is a butterfly stamp from Hero Arts and I applied Liquid Pearls to jazz it up. The sentiment is attached to a chipboard piece, also from Jann, covered with a scrap piece of green textured card stock from my Colorbök stash. The “Thank You” is from Inkadinkado and stamped on white textured card stock from Colorbök. The half back pearls are from my stash purchased from Michaels in Salt Lake City, Utah I think.

20120822-111259.jpg

The final piece, before presenting to the nursing staff, was Joe’s message to them.

20120822-111357.jpg

Plans are we are going home today. It will be good to be back home once again.

Give this mica pigment trick a try. I bought this set from Hobby Lobby for less than $9. Have fun experimenting.

Leslie

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Aug 22, 2012 @ 15:24:47

    Beautiful card Leslie and would never have guessed this was your first attempt at a tri shutter card. Fab job you have made of it.
    Love that colour palette of mica paints; I bought some mica paints similar to yours some years ago but they don’t have the range of colours yours have. You did a great job and can imagine the shimmeryness on the card…shame photos never do shimmers justice 🙂
    So glad the medics consider Joe okay to go home….don’t wrap him up in cotton wool though as you will only stress yourself out LOL.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Aug 22, 2012 @ 17:18:38

      Thank you Lynn. That card, with all the folds and cuts, is a bit intimidating. Then comes the part of trying to figure out how it folds and stands in place! Almost got the better of this old girl 😀 I said Almost!

      Joe’s home and I’m happy. He’ll try to get away with stuff for a while. Then one day, in the upcoming week or two, he will be pushing me to get ready to get back out on the road. Then I’ll have to be the one that tells him to slow down and I’ll be the bad guy. I don’t need him to go and pull this kind of thing again! Hospitals! They are not my ideal place to sleep at night!

      Thanks, so much for your love and support these past few days. I didn’t feel so alone and I appreciate you for that.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Indira
    Aug 22, 2012 @ 20:13:57

    Hi, Leslie I haven`t read my emails for a while, I just doing now and I`m shock with the notice that Joe is on the Hospital, how is he? how are you? I couldn`t imagine how you feel. God is wonderful and He will heal Joe, trust him. Please, tell Joe he have to rest, remember when my little girl got fluid on her lung, we had special care for her for 6 month until the doctors definitely said she was ok, so please told him that the most important thing on a recovery is the rest and don`t forget to take care of you, too. Love.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Aug 23, 2012 @ 08:16:46

      Indira, you are the sweetest and I appreciate having you as my friend. Yikes, I didn’t know your precious little girl had fluid in her lung. The both of you must have been a bit scared 😦 I’m very happy she is doing great now and has fully recovered. Joe is doing well. He’s a bit slow in getting around but he is healing and on the mend. It won’t be long before he will be back to his old ways of hurry up and let’s go 😀 We got home from the hospital yesterday afternoon and he has a bit more freedom without nurses poking and jostling him about every two hours 😀

      Thank you, once again, Indira for your concern and your well wishes.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. Maureen Mathis
    Aug 24, 2012 @ 00:21:05

    Yay! You’re HOME! I hope you two are able to catch up on some well deserved SLEEP and peace and quiet. You’ll be SO much more comfortable at home in your own bed, living room and craft room…..though I doubt you’ll get ANY business paperwork or crafting done because you’re not gonna let Joe get out of sight for long. But at least you’ll have more space, and not get confined to that single hospital room. I’m so glad you’re home! Maybe the two of you can try to walk for a few minutes each morning and evening. Just a few loops around your house to start with, though – don’t overdo it!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Aug 24, 2012 @ 13:19:25

      Man, the first night home I slept like the dead. Joe got himself out of his chair during the night to go to the bathroom and I didn’t even know it. The bad back pain in his lower left side has been attributed to sciatica. A trip to Walgreens for a hot water bottle has made all the difference in his walking and moving. He is still sleeping in his recliner but I’m okay with that because he is getting the sleep he needs to recover.

      The “Home Health Aides” that have been coming morning and night the past few days have been really great. I’m taking your advice and getting some notebooks made for them. Gives me something to do while he naps and I don’t have to be chasing him around.

      Once again, I so appreciated your call the other morning. Talking to you on the phone was a confidence booster for me knowing that I could call you if I felt like I was about to go bonkers 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

