Liquid Pearls v Glitter Glue

Friends, we are burning up the highway. NOT!

Between flat tires and radiator hoses spewing hot gunk – PLUS – the National Holiday of July 4th we have gone 103 miles in two days.

We are in Wichita Falls, Texas and a hotel room awaiting the resuming of business tomorrow. So I am taking advantage of the down time to play around with some products.

Jann Gray of WhatYouMakeIt created a superb crafting stash for me a few years back. It is now in my kit :D. Thank you, Jann, once again.

20120704-135249.jpg

20120704-135320.jpg

I am using a clear stamp set from Inkadinkado.

20120704-135437.jpg

Liquid Pearls from Ranger Industries.

20120704-135634.jpg

20120704-135657.jpg

And Glitter Glue from Studio G.

20120704-135806.jpg

Results thus far……

20120704-135858.jpg

The Liquid Pearls is better at filling an area. I like the way it is looking as the product dries.

20120704-140139.jpg

The Glitter Glue tends to have a peak that falls over after application.

20120704-140540.jpg

The recommended drying time of the Liquid Pearls is 2-3 hours for thin layers and up to 24 for thick layers. The Glitter Glue has a longer drying time, upwards of 6-8 hours for thin layers and up to 24 for thicker applications.

I think this stamped image would be better suited for a heat embossing technique or maybe some Copics.

I do like the look of the plain stamped image over the blinged up image.

20120704-141116.jpg

Have you worked with Liquid Pearls? If so, leave me your thoughts and what you have done with them.

Leslie

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Indira
    Jul 04, 2012 @ 14:48:38

    Your butterfly are beautiful. I haven`t use it liquid pearls, but I think I`ll try it. Happy 4th of July.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jul 04, 2012 @ 19:22:18

      Thank you, Indira. I’d love to see what you create with Liquid Pearls :-).

      Your cupcake Cricut pieces, how fun would it be to sparkle the sprinkles 😀

      And that high heel shoe you made for a co-worker. The Liquid Pearls package says you can thin it with water and paint it on like a glaze.

      You may have tons of fun with it 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Jann
    Jul 04, 2012 @ 15:54:51

    Yeah! Although I am sad that your plans have had quite a few kinks in them…resulting in unexpected time in a hotel room…I’m glad to see you using the time for a little creativity! Seeing your box just made me smile!

    I am a fan of liquid pearls and stickles…no matter what I try- I just can’t seem to get good results with glitter glue! I am probably just too impatient…but I usually just end up with a gooey mess.

    Stay inside…keep cool…and keep craftin’!

    Love you,
    Jann

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jul 04, 2012 @ 21:05:08

      That sweet box you made for me is the best!! Time to bring it along and dive in to all the greatness you gave me 😀

      You have any tips on using the Liquid Pearls? I’d love your tips 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. Nancy
    Jul 04, 2012 @ 15:55:13

    Perfect timing! I must say your project took my breath away, Leslie! It’s gorgeous!! The combination of the pearl and glitter is stunning! *sigh* Love it!
    I’ve purchased some of the liquid pearls but haven’t used them yet. From what I understand, they are very similar to use as the dimensional fabric paint of old! Well, only as far as texture, obviously! Never did the old paint have that wonderful color or glimmer. As for the peak on the glitter glue…try giving the piece a little tap from the underside and it should smooth out. Much as you do when tapping off the embossing powder. I’ve had the glitter glue dry much faster in the winter but when it’s humid it tends to take longer.
    It really is beautiful, my friend! The image is so pretty and the ink color is wonderful as well! I LIKE it! 🙂
    I’m so glad I caught this before it got lost in the great abyss of my mailbox. Lynn’s message is in there somewhere and I’ve been searching FOREVER! LOL What a mess!
    Take care!
    Love & Prayers,
    Nancy 🙂

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jul 04, 2012 @ 21:14:47

      Thanks for the tip on tapping the backside of the glitter glue! I really appreciate knowing that.

      Glad you are feeling well once again. Overloaded in box is one of the hazards of blogs :-). You’ll make your way through it and find Lynn’s note.

      I think you will really like using the Liquid Pearls. They go on smooth. And they are also recommended for fabrics just like the other fabric paints. Hand wash is recommended though so I’ll stick to paper 😀

      I’ve got to find your blog posts in my over stuffed in box as well.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  4. Tracy :)
    Jul 08, 2012 @ 17:40:34

    I love your emergency craft kit 🙂
    I have used both. I like to use the liquid pearls for just that. Pearls 🙂 I just put down dots…but then again I only have the one colour 😉
    The glitter glue, I use the same way. I like to do dots with it as it seems to dry faster.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jul 08, 2012 @ 23:28:15

      I’ve found that a heavy handed squeeze on the glitter glue bottle is not something that ought to be done. Administer a good swirl with a straight pin or paper clip inside the nozzle first then slowly squeeze.

      A hard squeeze shoots the nozzle cap out of the bottle and what follows is quite a sparkly mess 😀

      The Liquid Pearls don’t seem to dry in the nozzle like glitter glue does.

      Thank you, Tracy, for your comment.

      Leslie

      Reply

  5. thefrugalcrafter
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 12:55:33

    I love the look of the glitter an pearls on the butterfly!

    Reply

  6. gardenpinks
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 16:44:07

    Like Jann I am not a fan of glitter glue although one tip I learnt was to squeeze a little onto scrap paper first to get the air bubbles out and then be gentle and give it a little tap on the back 🙂 I usually go with stickles as they are friendlier and more subtle. Love the perfect pearls bu only have one colour and used as Tracey said as pearls but they do have that wow factor when used as a colouring medium as you have done with the butterfly – that is scrummy lovely. When I first saw that butterfly image I thought wouldn’t that make a gorgeous brooch?! The perfect pearls look like enamels, very pretty 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jul 13, 2012 @ 01:39:17

      That Glitter Glue can be some wicked stuff. I don’t have much in the way of Stickles but I do have to say that I’m really liking the Liquid Pearls. Not so messy and the colors are bright.

      Thank you for your sweet comment on my card. I like the butterflies and how they turned out.

      I’m looking forward to seeing your cards.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

