Sizzix Texture Boutique from Michaels near Dayton, Ohio

We are in Dayton, Ohio getting trucks going to Georgia. It was hot and very humid today.

After finishing most of our work Joe suggested a trip to Michaels for a larger, and more protected, craft tote. One of his trucks was being worked on and we had an hour to wait.

I found a rolling tote by Scrap Exchange.

20120619-201256.jpg

I’ve been considering getting a Cuttlebug Die Cutting machine but there was not one to be found in Michaels. I did, however, find a Sizzix Texture Boutique.

20120619-201534.jpg

Joe, ever inquisitive, said “What’s that?”. After I took it out of the box and hunted around through my new purchases for one of the two Cuttlebug Embossing Folders I purchased…I heard a loud exclamation of “Ouch!”. Looking to see how he had hurt himself (and I’m still guffawing) Joe was quickly extracting his pinky finger from the innards of the Sizzix machine. He won’t be doing that again anytime soon 😀

I gave the “What’s That?” man the task of cranking an embossing folder through the machine.

20120619-202218.jpg

20120619-202231.jpg

20120619-202259.jpg

Embossed side.

20120619-202414.jpg

Debossed side.

20120619-202452.jpg

I am too tired to do any crafting tonight. Plus today was so hot and humid I think I sweated over ten gallons of water. Dinner is from a local grocery store. A meat and cheese plate for Joe. Fruit and yogurt for me. There is enough for both of us to share the feast of the season.

20120619-203118.jpg

20120619-203142.jpg

Tomorrow will be another long driving day. I am prepared to get crafty when the time allows.

Have a great evening. I’m going to bed.

Leslie

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aspot2stamp
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 01:05:53

    Cool machine 🙂 is it only a embossing machine? Must say I giggled at poor Joe and his ouchie finger.Sorry Joe 😦 The folder he demonstrated is very pretty That will make some elegant cards and scrapbook layouts. Take care out in the heat, it has been just aweful here with the high humidity and I get to stay inside. Hope you feel rested and ready to face a new day when you awake. I have had a chance to play with my journal and have started a few pages so they will be ready when I add journaling and photos. This scrapbook aspect has me a bit freaked out since It is all new to me. I havent been feeling so good the past week I even fell asleep with Levi tonight while Brian was watching the basketball playoffs and the kids were running amuck we slept for 3 hours!! I am sure to get a good cussing or harsh words under their breath from his parents when he wants to stay up all night and play when they need to be sleeping for work 🙂 Take care my dear friend and I will be watching for your super craft projects. By the way Maureen had a great youtube video up today if you havent seen it you may want to check it out. Tell Joe hello from us.

    Love and hugs to you both,
    Shelly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jun 23, 2012 @ 05:51:47

      Thanks for the heads up on Maureen’s video.

      You and Levi needed the sleep. It is really tough with those little power bundles when the stay wound up and rearing to go all the time.

      The machine is supposed to be just for embossing. I may try to cheat with it and see if it will handle the wafer dies. When we finally get home that is – whenever that will be!

      Joe says “Hi and thanks” for thinking of him. Hope you guys are all fairing well through the heat and humidity.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Jun 22, 2012 @ 15:55:07

    Heck all these new toys to play with you will have a real home from home craft area..albeit a mobile one but that is great and love the embossing folder.
    Your platters looked very appetising too 🙂
    We had 3 days of hot sunshine but are back to rain, wind and yet more rain…there won’t be a shortage of water this year!
    Poor Joe and his finger…craft items are dangerous Joe, some of them bite 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jun 23, 2012 @ 06:21:47

      Is the weather you are having abnormal? This time of year do you usually have sunny days mostly with an occasional rainy day? I know the last few years you have told of hose pipe bans and the drought conditions you had experienced.

      I bet all this rain is a pain come laundry time since you dry your clothes on a line outside. Seems there is a conspiracy to see how much mayhem you guys can tolerate :D.

      Poor Joe. I do wonders for his self esteem at times. I still burst out with a fit of giggles out of nowhere. :-). According to Joe – he put his pinky finger inside the mouth of the Sizzix machine to feel the rollers. He was trying to see how it worked. Joe says he felt the two wheels rub on this finger tip then it all of a sudden pulled his finger in and surprised the heck out of him. The “Ouch” was only a knee jerk reaction to the surprise and he wasn’t hurt.

      To make matters worse with my giggle fit he demonstrated what he felt on one of my fingers. I about wet myself laughing. Poor guy, he never gets a break 😀

      Tell Rod hello from me. You two be well in the temperature swings and damp.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. Tracy :)
    Jul 08, 2012 @ 17:46:45

    Sorry Joe, but I am still snickering about your poor finger, teehee.
    As I was laughing, Wayne (my hubby) asked me what was so funny, so you got us both going 🙂
    So happy you found a good tote to use Leslie

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jul 08, 2012 @ 23:32:16

      Thank you Tracy for reminding me of that day. I still get a fit of giggles thinking about Joe and his little finger getting pulled into the machine.

      He’s so funny. When I brought the machine out today to use it both of his hands quickly went behind his back. 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

