An experimental card

I wanted to see what a particular photo would look like on a card front with the center popped out.

20120609-222603.jpg

The photo I’m using today is of a fountain in Green River, Utah at the Tamarask Inn.

20120609-222706.jpg

I wanted the fountain part stepped out from the flat photo surface. Using the rectangular shape template from Fiskars I set it up then cut the area out using my craft knife.

20120609-222913.jpg

Behind the hole I cut out I placed a piece of orange textured cardstock from Colorbök.

20120609-223033.jpg

I cut another piece of the orange card stock and used my Martha Stewart punch on the edge then adhered it behind the photo. A piece of black Offray gross grain ribbon was placed at the bottom of the photo and above the scalloped punched edge.

Using the small scallop edge on one of the Fiskar templates and a white gel pen I made faux stitching lines along the templates edge on both sides of the card front.

20120609-223452.jpg

A happy find was a scrap of the Martha Stewart punched paper fit perfectly in the Fiskars scallops. I traced the punched holes onto the card front to match the punched edges.

20120609-223652.jpg

After I had stamped three flowers from one of the Studio G stamps onto white card stock I realized I already had a piece in there from my oopsey yesterday in making the Triptych card. The 5″ x 7″ I originally intended to use was too small.

20120609-223930.jpg

That is why this card is an experiment. Besides, I’m not all that happy with it. Sometimes that is what happens in paper crafting. You win some and you lose some 🙂

Have a great Sunday.

Leslie

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Jun 10, 2012 @ 08:34:09

    That is almost a pyramage scene…pyramage consists of decreasing squares mounted with foam on top of each other to make a whole picture again. Plenty of better descriptions on the internet.
    Like the overall effect except the orange, I think. Just my opinion but think the orange is a little too bright and detracts from the photo.
    Good for you though to keep experimenting and crafting when you can :D.

    Love ands hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jun 10, 2012 @ 21:10:05

      It went to “Hell in a hand car” really fast and I tried to rude it till the wheels fell off 😀

      I know you said you used to do a lot of the pyramage cards before. I’ll have to look them up.

      Thanks for your truthful comment. I do appreciate it 🙂

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Pati Mishler
    Jun 10, 2012 @ 15:14:01

    I agree with gardenpink’s, my eye’s go to the orange right away, should go to the picture right away. Something about the orange, just my opinion, the bright of the orange is overwhelming the picture i think. Keep going sis, your doing a good job, keep trying things. love you sis.

    Reply

  3. Tracy :)
    Jun 10, 2012 @ 21:20:42

    I think your card looks great.
    Did you use one or two photos for this card.
    It looks like you popped the cut out part of the photo on the full sized photo.
    Cool technique.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jun 23, 2012 @ 05:42:50

      Sorry it has taken so long to respond to your comment 😦

      It is just the one photo. I cut the center out and popped it up. I didn’t even think to do the “Tracy Money Shot” 😀

      Thank you Tracy for dropping by.

      Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

