Fiskars has answered my die cutting problem.

I had an idea fomenting in my brain. This idea called for a couple of die cuts.

Crapazoid, I’m going to have an entire craft room in our pickup, squeezing Joe out.

We are on our way to Santa Rosa, California and going right through Salt Lake City, Utah. Surely there is no other place than here in the heart of scrapbook and card making Mecca to find what I need.

I did. Fiskars Circles, Ovals, and Rectangles Shape Templates.

20120604-223302.jpg

With that problem solved, next was to find a work surface in the hotel room. Joe will be using the desk.

20120604-223426.jpg

There is an ironing board in the “closet” of this room. I’ll use that.

20120604-223522.jpg

Now for the photo I’m using on this card.

20120604-223603.jpg

Okay, after you are finished giggling :-). This is a picture of a Stove Pipe rock formation. I took this while traveling through Grand Junction, Colorado.

I used one of the medium sized Ovals from the Fiskars template to draw around the part of the photo I wanted then cut it out with my craft knife.

20120604-223959.jpg

20120604-224013.jpg

20120604-224023.jpg

I used the next larger size of Oval for a photo mat.

20120604-224116.jpg

20120604-224127.jpg

20120604-224137.jpg

After a bit of messing about and constructing, this is my finished card.

20120604-224242.jpg

20120604-224257.jpg

Hope you all had a wonderful Monday and are now ready for Tuesday.

Keep in mind. Crafting can be done anywhere as long as you start with an idea.

Leslie

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 08:41:06

    Oh, Leslie!! Your ironing board creation is FABULOUS! I have been enjoying your “on the road” crafting so very much! I’m afraid I’ve been a terrible friend and my “distractions” lately have kept me from visiting!
    Thank you so very much for your congratulations on my blog today! I’ve been so nervous about my announcement and was terrified that nobody would visit me after I posted! Yet there YOU were! I appreciate you very much, my dear friend!
    Oh…and I’m glad my card make you laugh! You know how much I like to do that!
    Love & prayers always,
    Nancy ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jun 05, 2012 @ 10:22:56

      I’m so excited for you. Did you ever think you would become a part of a Design Team? Sure do wish I could give you a hug, my excitement for you will have to do.

      Thank you, Nancy, for your sweet comment on my card.

      Love you my Friend ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

      • Nancy
        Jun 05, 2012 @ 10:35:49

        I feel your hug and I thank you for it! ๐Ÿ™‚
        I also appreciate your excitement! I’ve been so nervous…and excited! It’s such an international bunch!
        No…I actually didn’t think I would be on a Design Team. You see…I’ve actually been invited to be on a couple of other teams and I have had to say no. The requirements were just too much…with weekly posts and blog hops and other scheduled events. With my migraines continuing to rule my schedule, there’s just no way I can get into something like that. Even without the migraine issue why would I want to? Wouldn’t that take away a lot of the fun of what we do and why we do it? It would then become a “job”, right?
        So when this offer came it was a different kettle of fish! lol It’s only once a month with some advance notice and lots of freedom! I can work with that! Plus, I must confess there’s something special about a request coming out of the blue to be on such an international team.
        There’s a good prize in the offering…you should consider linking up a project! If not right now, then sometime in the future!
        Truth be told, Leslie, I can’t believe I have become a “card maker”! haha I just shake my head at that one! ๐Ÿ™‚
        I can’t begin to tell you how much your encouragement and friendship mean to me! You and Lynn have always been there with a kind word! It means so much!
        Nancy ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Message In A Fold
        Jun 05, 2012 @ 18:33:09

        Reading your comment about the weekly challenges and blog hops I have to agree with you on that being like a job. A really demanding and bad paying job at that. I wonder how many people quit crafting altogether because of burn out?

        I feel so bad for you. Your migraines really to put a whoop on you sometimes. How you can remain so happy and upbeat after a bad one is beyond me. Your faith is unshakable and I think that helps.

        I still have plans of knocking on your front door and demanding to be lead to your crafty space :-). Maybe someday will come soon ๐Ÿ˜€

        Lynn is a mighty special person. She cracks me up something fierce sometimes. I can’t help but have a good belly laugh. Lynn has a heart of gold and is rich in her praises.

        Yes Lynn, your ears are probably burning ๐Ÿ™‚

        I eagerly await your next month’s challenge and your scripture or hymn pieces as well.

        Love you – Leslie

  2. gardenpinks
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 16:02:49

    Awwwwwwwwww Nancy you made me blush ๐Ÿ™‚

    Now why would we giggle about that particular photo Leslie ๐Ÿ˜€ Obviously my mind doesn’t work the same way as yours ๐Ÿ™‚

    Lovely card you made and did the ironing board work as a work surface?? Ironing boards aren’t the most stable things – though how I would know that as I don’t possess one!!! I make use of the kitchen table to do my ironing on and I have to tell you I do very little ironing! Absolute bare minimum LOL
    Now do you have a sky, bridge or barn photo handy??????

    Girlfriend you are doing a fantastic job with these cards ๐Ÿ™‚

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jun 05, 2012 @ 18:46:43

      I have lots of sky photos and a few bridges. I’ll have to dig around in my laptop library for you ๐Ÿ™‚

      I actually own an ironing board. It hangs on a wall in my laundry room gathering dust. I use a bath towel and the top of my dryer for the little bit I do.

      I used to have to do blankets, sheets, towels, wash cloths, and underwear, besides the standard clothing items. Had enough of that and was in “Hog Heaven” when permanent press came to stay ๐Ÿ™‚

      Get well my friend.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

    • Nancy
      Jun 06, 2012 @ 17:58:13

      All I’m going to say to you, Lynn my dear, is that I’m very happy to hear you can still blush! hahaha
      As for ironing boards…UGH!! I have one because I sew and quilt and use it for those purposes! How do you spell the word that sounds like i i i ? lol Okay, I’m very tired and I just cracked myself up! ๐Ÿ™‚ Make sure you all pronounce that correctly now, alright! haha It’s got to have the y sound in there too. Oh dear, I was going to respond to Leslie as well but I think that should wait for another time!
      Tracy…please don’t read this! lol It’s been a very long day!
      Oh, and remind me to tell you about the bear that was in our yard yesterday! It was the strangest thing! Seriously…we don’t get bears in our back yard…but we did! lol
      Later, my friends! Love ya! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

      • Message In A Fold
        Jun 07, 2012 @ 08:16:16

        You are a multi faceted crafter! You make plush bears, quilts, cards, and layouts. I bet there are other things as well.

        Yikes! A bear in your yard. That is a story all by itself.

        Love you – Leslie

  3. Tracy :)
    Jun 06, 2012 @ 08:42:55

    Great card.
    Love your work desk ๐Ÿ™‚
    As for thos fiskars templates…there is a special UFO looking cutter to help cut the shapes out.

    Reply

  4. Indira
    Jun 13, 2012 @ 21:34:16

    I really like your card, Leslie. When I start scrapbooking, I bought some Fiskars template, I used some time, but after I got the cricut, I forgot them. I should take off some dust of them and use it. Thanks for the inspiration.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jun 13, 2012 @ 21:40:57

      Thank you, Indira :-). I really need to find a hotel with a good Wi-Fi for my laptop I drag around with me.

      Seriously. I need to add your blog to my list of “Blogs I Follow” so any new posts are seen on my iPhone. I really need to catch up on you and your crafting.

      How are your cute, cute, cute son and daughter? Last I heard you were all really sick from some virus. Yes, it has been that long since I’ve been able to read your blog ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Thanks for popping in.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

