A review and a couple cards.

First I want to talk about the Colorbök textured card stock. I did finally figure out how to put the two dots above the “o” in the name 🙂

20120601-174050.jpg

Sorry for the glare. I didn’t like this card stock at first. I have grown to like it. I have better card stock at home but this paper is working for me.

The one thing I don’t like is the perforated edge in the paper pack. The ragged edge that is left behind I’m not a fan of. You can see what I mean by looking at one of the cards I made while staying in Mesquite, Nevada.

20120601-174555.jpg

Secondly I want to talk about the Exacto Paper Trimmer. It has a rotary blade that cuts fairly well. Not a precise cut as I have come to like with my trimmers at home.

20120601-174819.jpg

Also, there is not a mark line for one (1) inch.

20120601-175005.jpg

I needed the 1 inch mark to cut some squares and had to resort to the Exacto Craft Knife and Exacto Cutting Mat. Good thing I purchase those two items or my idea would have had to be altered.

You can see the bad paper cutting with the trimmer on the white card stock in the upper left corner of this card I made.

20120601-175431.jpg

Third, and last, is the Exacto Grid Ruler. I miss my Olfa quilting ruler!

20120601-175611.jpg

The Exacto Grid Ruler is virtually unusable in the application I tried it with to align the 1inch squares. I ended having to eyeball it and live with the crooked placement of my squares.

20120601-175843.jpg

If you have followed my blog for a while you will know that I am a “control freak”. These little quirks of the paper trimmer, card stock, and ruler bother me.

I want to put out a card that looks semi-professional and will be pleasing to the recipient. These imperfections make me cringe.

Even though there are jagged edges, wonky cuts, and improper alignment I am fairly happy with the two cards I created today.

One with glitter 🙂 a small amount of bling, and some uphill writing.

20120601-180632.jpg

I wanted to get away from the Martha Stewart scallop punch this time. I used a white gel pen to mark around the stamped flower and the hand written “Thanks”.

I used the white gel pen around three of the little flowers I stamped using a Marvy black marker. My stamping skills leave a lot to be desired but I’m getting better. I’ve used three square bling from Jolee’s All That Bling to distract you from the bad stamping and the wonky alignment of the squares 🙂

20120601-181212.jpg

This is the last of the pink, orange, and white color combo. Hope I have inspired you to get a set of cards made using one color combination.

Have a great weekend. Joe and I are plum tuckered out and have stopped early. The adventures continue on this trek to Colorado.

Leslie

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jann
    Jun 02, 2012 @ 08:29:42

    Love to see that you are creating while “on the road!” Bet it is so good de-stresser after all the huge physical and mental challenges you face in your job. Of course…it would be a better de-stresser if your tools weren’t driving you crazy! Lol Love your cards! Thanks for inspo…I have a set of cards I need to get made today to send as a gift-and you got my creative juices going! Thanks! Love you girl…be safe and grab some rest! ((hugs)) Jann

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jun 02, 2012 @ 10:25:03

      Hey there Girlfriend. So good to hear from you 🙂

      Next time I get home that goodie box you made for me is getting packed into my traveling craft bag :D. Joe was willing to go 500 miles out of route to go home and get it but we were going to make him late in delivery.

      So glad I have been able to inspire you :-). I’m also happy to know you are still creating.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Jun 02, 2012 @ 16:17:46

    So your tools aren’t as good as the ones at home but you are still doing a good job with making the cards 🙂 I can’t believe that the makers of those pads of paper/cardstock used a tear off method instead of an adhesive at the top of the page. The only way round that is to trim a sliver off the top to remove the jagged edge.
    Good idea to pack a travelling craft bag when you are next home – the only problem will be deciding what to pack!!
    I can’t join in with this colour combination as I have little coloured cardstock – I heavily reduced my supply of coloured cardstock when I realised I didn’t particularly like most of it. When I first starte cardmaking I made many purchasing mistakes 🙂 Think we all did that. So the local schools and grandchildren had bags and bags of awful paper and cardstock passed to them. Nowadays I tend to stock up on white, cream and black cardstock, I have some shades of mirror card but use inks to colour with.

    Anyway enjoy your weekend and your crafting on the move 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jun 02, 2012 @ 19:09:55

      Oh my goodness. You have put an image in my head that makes me laugh. Little school children carrying brightly colored papers and losing bits to the wind.

      You like to color. Why not use your fantastic ink and marker talents with the color challenge?

      I used what I had, which was paper. I don’t remember saying it had to be paper. And if I did I humbly apologize for my thoughtless ramblings.

      You are quite correct in thinking over what to bring along! I’ll have to really censor myself and keep the stash down to a minimum. Ya, right.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

