Coming Soon. Cards from the highways.

See this man. He is an enabler of the first order.

20120529-072138.jpg

He was willing to drive over 500 miles out of route to get me home and take some of my craft supplies along to create while I’m a passenger for the next week.

We stopped at a Wal-Mart in Kingman, Arizona to pick up a few supplies. Double “A” batteries, toothpaste, and Breathe Right Strips. While there Joe said “Let’s find the craft stuff.”.

I found two pads of 12 x 12 textured card stock by Colorbok, (I don’t know how to put the two dots atop the “o”) for $5 each. Normally sell for $12. Joe saw the paper trimmer after I added a cutting mat and craft knife to the basket. He was adamant in his belief that I would need the trimmer πŸ™‚

I picked up a few clear stamps, black ink pad, and four tubes of glitter glue from Studio G. All for $1 each. He even helped scour the store for a tote πŸ™‚

20120529-073301.jpg

We are delivering his trucks in Greenfield, California today then driving up to Sacramento for two more for him.

Keep watching for updates on my “haul” and cards created as I get bounced and jostled on our way to Las Vegas, Nevada then later to Greeley, Colorado.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    May 29, 2012 @ 08:57:47

    You should sprinkle some glitter in the cabs before you deliver the trucks…..and wouldn’t it be fun to install some hidden cameras to watch the reaction of the truck drivers as a diner waitress kindly tells him that he has glitter all over his shirt and arms?!!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      May 30, 2012 @ 08:25:50

      You crack me up!

      The reactions of other men in truck stops would be just as funny. Doing double takes at the sparkling man walking around his truck in the fuel island filling up, washing his windows, and checking the oil πŸ˜€

      Reply

  2. aspot2stamp
    May 29, 2012 @ 09:13:59

    AWWW how sweet of him !! I can’t wait to see what you’re inspired by. As I craft on the road with Brian I found it easier to have pre cut my card stock or made card fronts to add to bases later. For me a craft knife and movement would spell surefire disaster πŸ™‚ leading to blood and who knows what other kind of ….. injury to myself and the other passengers Lol. Way funny Maureen !! Hope you are all having a great week. I’m off to get our van recall fixed finally !!!!! Think to be without it for most of the day.

    Hugs and much Love,
    Shelly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      May 30, 2012 @ 08:35:29

      Craft knife usage would be for nightly stops πŸ™‚

      I’m glad Joe had me get the trimmer. I think cutting card bases is an excellent idea.

      Hope all goes well with the recall fixes on your vehicle. Being without it for the entire day is hard to do. That is when you find all kinds of reasons to go to the store or somewhere else. Always happens to us πŸ™‚

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. Jessica
    May 29, 2012 @ 10:51:41

    What a nice hubby! Looks like that extra 500 miles wore him out! LOL What a nice guy!! Elk Grove has a great rubber stamp store near Sacramento. http://www.stamperscorner.net/
    9683 Elk Grove-Florin Rd. Phone: 916-686-0651
    I’d hate for you to miss this fabulous store!! πŸ˜‰

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      May 30, 2012 @ 08:40:46

      Thanks Jessica. I would have loved to have stopped at that store. We will be back up near Sacramento again, if plans don’t change, and I will make a point of stopping there.

      Leslie

      Reply

  4. Lilie
    May 29, 2012 @ 13:10:45

    You sure have a great and supportive husband. Can’t wait to see what you make on the road. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  5. Tracy :)
    May 30, 2012 @ 18:13:44

    Awww what a sweetie, he sounds like my guy.
    Including the breath right strips…..or are those for you πŸ˜‰

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      May 30, 2012 @ 19:39:34

      Breathe Right strips are for Joe’s loud snoring!

      How fortunate we are to be blessed with guys who are not afraid of glitter πŸ˜€

      Hope Kristy’s fingers are healing and the rising waters in your town recede.

      Leslie

      Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      May 30, 2012 @ 19:43:01

      Joe snores loud enough to wake the dead. The strips stop the racket πŸ™‚

      Hope Kristy’s fingers are healing and the flood waters that have hit your area are receding.

      Leslie

      Reply

  6. gardenpinks
    May 31, 2012 @ 16:41:34

    Oh bless him that he was prepared to go so far out of the way but that you could pick up supplies at a WalMart.
    Will troll through your other posts to see what you came up with but it will be an experience if nothing else ….crafting on the move.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      May 31, 2012 @ 18:42:38

      Yes, indeed, it was very sweet of Joe to want to go out of route for me. I talked him out of it and paid for that by his help in the craft section of WalMart :D. Not a bad price to pay either.

      It has been an experience crafting in the road. One thing I have come to, finally, appreciate is put things away as I’m done with them. πŸ™‚

      Thanks Lynn. I’ll pass on your compliment to Joe πŸ™‚

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

