Cease & Desist email I received

I have had a night’s sleep and have cooled down. Below is the email I received that spurred yesterday’s post.

Guess one might say this is a cautionary tale for any SU Demos that stray off the reservation 🙂

—————–
May 22, 2012
Incident 16896109

Dear Leslie,

We recently were made aware that your blog links to a site in which competitive products are available for purchase.

We want to remind you that Section 9 (d) of the Independent Demonstrator Agreement, the Competitive Activities Policy (Section 6.3) and the Internet/Web Site Policy (Section 6.22) of the Demonstrator Manual, state that demonstrators are not permitted to promote, market, or sell the products of other companies who offer similar products. This means you cannot promote competitive companies or post links to other companies who sell competitive products, including digital artwork. The links in question are to Martha Stewart, Club Scrap, Tim Holtz, and Hobby Lobby.

We value you as a demonstrator and we want you and all demonstrators to be successful within our established policy framework. As such you will need to remove the links in question, as well as any other competitive links you may have. We request that you make these changes and notify us in writing by May 29, 2012. If you have any questions or concerns about these policies please call 1-800-STAMP UP or respond to this e-mail. We look forward to hearing back from you soon and resolving this incident.

Respectfully,

Libby Slem
Compliance Assistance
Stampin’ Up!

This e-mail and any previous e-mail messages, including files, may contain confidential and/or privileged material. If you are not the intended recipient, please contact the sender and delete all copies. Any unauthorized review or use is strictly prohibited.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    May 23, 2012 @ 09:28:34

    Seriously? They sound a little paranoid!

    Reply

  2. aspot2stamp
    May 23, 2012 @ 09:28:55

    I can completely understand their stand on this issue. It devalues their procuct if you say” tombo mono adhesive is on sale at hobby lobby buy it there not from me ect.”. But when there is no product they have comprabile like say stampin write markers and copic markers I cant see where that hurts them. It’s like compairing apples to oranges. I love stampin write markers but that dont mean if I had copics I’d cease to use my stampin write markers I still love them. Same as I continue to use their product almost exclusivly now even though I can but whatever I want. I still prefer what they have. Just my thoughts Or 2 cents .

    Love ya and hope you have a great day.
    Say Hello to Joe and wish him a great day also.
    Hugs,
    Shelly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      May 23, 2012 @ 22:23:06

      I’m glad you enjoy using SU products. Everyone, all crafters, have a preference of some kind and an attachment to manufacturers or suppliers.

      It would be truly sad if only one organization cornered the market on craft supplies and tools 🙂

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. Maureen Mathis
    May 23, 2012 @ 11:59:10

    It sounds like you just need to inform them that you are no longer a demonstrator, and find out what clean up efforts are required on past blog posts to be in compliance. It’s a huge organization, so it’s not uncommon to have to remind the right hand what the left is doing. Chin up and give them a call; remember what they say about burning bridges, because you may decide to be a demonstrator again, and you’ll want to be welcomed back into the fold!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      May 23, 2012 @ 22:28:18

      I have made contact with SU and I have received an apology for the research not being done.

      This winter I think it would be a good thing for me to add something to my videos stating I am no longer a Demo. That might help.

      Hey, I’m just as guilty in this as SU is. I should have handled this long ago.

      Thanks for your support.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  4. gardenpinks
    May 23, 2012 @ 16:23:59

    I don’t understand how they can get away with having such a monopoly over ‘their’ demos. The more I hear about SU’s policies the less I like them and would much prefer to be ‘free’ to choose to use whatever company’s products I wanted and can source cheaper.
    I have heard of SU handing out these emails before because some ‘kind’ person informed SU that this person or that person was using certain products on their blogs/Youtubes and many people have given up being demos as they could no longer stand SU’s restrictive practises.
    Have you emailed/’phoned them yet?

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

