Heather came over to make four cards.

Some time back Heather presented me with a Thank You card she had made.  It is the sweetest card 🙂

She tried out her stamping skills to add a personal touch on this card and I appreciated her efforts.

Thank You card from Heather

Thank You card from Heather

Inside of card

Inside of card

Since I’ve been making cards myself I figured it was just as good a time as any to teach Heather how to make cards for herself.  She wanted to come by  yesterday morning while I was doing my paperwork but Joe had to stop her.  Interrupting me during the most dreaded task I have is not a good thing and Joe can attest to that, so he felt it was better for him to hurt Heather’s feelings than for me to do it.  She had to go to work later in the afternoon so I called her yesterday and asked if she would like to make cards with me today.

I sent Heather a text message with the items I wanted her to bring over.  If you don’t learn how to use what you have then you will be disappointed afterward.  My instructions were to bring two (2) pieces of 12 x 12 card stock, a set of rubber stamps, adhesive, and four (4) sheets of 12 x 12 design paper.  I also told her to bring over some of her punches.

The card stock she brought was not as thick as I would have liked so I went into my stash for this project.  As you can see, Heather brought an assortment of tools and things to play with 😀

Heather came prepared to get crafty :D

Heather came prepared to get crafty 😀

I cut the card stock using one of the Cardmaking Idea Cards I’ve recently used.  I had her fold the card bases while I got the rest of the things sorted out.  Once the card base pieces were folded I had her play with the rest of the card stock pieces.  I let her determine how she would like to use the pieces, a suggestion or two from me but this is how Heather decided on placing the pieces.

There is no wrong way, nor a right way to do this. It is just what your particular sensibilities are.

Card bases with the pieces laid out

Card bases with the pieces laid out

I suggested she use one of her punches on one of the brown pieces for her card front.

Using a border punch

Using a border punch

I told Heather to punch both sides of the piece of card stock.  She had an oopsy on the other edge.

Oopsy with the border punch

Oopsy with the border punch

No big deal.  I just whacked a bit off of the oopsy side and had her do it over.

Fixed the oopsy and you never knew it happened

Fixed the oopsy and you never knew it happened

With all the brown going on I brought out my white gel pen for her to make little dots all along the punched edges.

Using a white gel pen on the brown card stock

Using a white gel pen on the brown card stock

A little bit of stamping practice then she got down to business.  I had her punch out one of her stamped images with a 1-3/8 square punch and ink the edges.  She stamped another image and punched that one out as well.

Punching out the stamped images

Punching out the stamped images

Beautiful card.  This is one she can be proud to give away.

Finished card

Finished card

Heather didn’t have a stamp with just a flourish.  The one stamp had a couple of flourishes with a “Thank You” smack dab in the middle.

Pretty stamp with the flourishes

Pretty stamp with the flourishes

Using the tip of the stamp pad Heather carefully inked only the outer flourish.  She did a great job  🙂

Carefully inking the flourish

Carefully inking the flourish

Her second card turned out pretty great.  A bit of patterned paper and a different punch change this card up quite a bit.

Heather's card #2

Heather’s card #2

Heather is learning quite a few new things today.  Next it was the “Marker to stamp technique”.  I showed her how to color her rubber stamp using a water based dye marker….

Craft marker to rubber stamp technique

Craft marker to rubber stamp technique

I told her she would need to “huff” on the stamp to reactivate the marker….

Huffing on the stamp

Huffing on the stamp

Delightful little bird appeared from this technique.  Heather was pleasantly surprised and excited by her results 😀

Cute bird Heather stamped

Cute bird Heather stamped

Heather’s card #3 is charming 😀

Cute, cute card

Cute, cute card

Heather’s card #4 I sort of took over.  I stamped the multi-language “Thank You” sentiment using white craft ink and added white embossing powder then heat set it.  I promised Heather that would be the next technique she would learn from me.

Heather's card #4

Heather’s card #4

Heather stamped the “Thanks” image and put this card together.  Now she has four Thank You cards to give out that she can be proud of.

Next was to make envelopes for her cards.  From the patterned paper she brought over I had her measure the card bases and cut her paper.

Measure your card base on the diagonal.  Corner to corner.  The measurement you get from doing this…add one (1) inch.  For the two 5″ x 7″ cards the diagonal measurement is 8-3/4″ – add one inch then cut the paper to 9-3/4″ x 9-3/4″.

Measure the card base and cut the paper of your choice

Measure the card base and cut the paper of your choice

I have a video on making an envelope and it will be at the end of this post.  Once the card has been centered in the cut paper, carefully fold the paper edges over the card to mark the crease lines….press really well using a bone folder.

Press the folds with a bone folder

Press the folds with a bone folder

There will be little triangle pieces on the four edges of the paper.  Cut on the outside of the score marks to the fold line.

Cut out the excess paper at the corners

Cut out the excess paper at the corners

Now Heather has four envelopes to go with her four cards 😀

Envelopes for the cards

Envelopes for the cards

An odd assortment of rubber stamps can be used successfully in card making.

Small stamps - mostly line art

Small stamps – mostly line art

Mostly graphic stamps

Mostly graphic stamps

Word stamps

Word stamps

Don’t let a small stash of rubber stamps stop you from being creative.  Use your imagination and your talent and all will work out fine 😀

Now for the video on making envelopes from card stock or design paper.

Hope you have all had a great Sunday.

Leslie

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aspot2stamp
    May 20, 2012 @ 21:57:56

    Happy to see your post. I’ve been kinda trolling the last couple days the world wide web. Heather is becoming a well rounded crafter under your watchful eye. You’re a great teacher and friend. I had a suggestion for the thank you flourish stamp just put a piece of scotch tape over the middle ink up as usual take the tape off and there you go.Wasy way to only ink up what you want on a stamp. Hope you are having fun plus getting the dreaded paperwork in order.
    Take care my dear friend,
    Hugs and Love ,
    Shelly

    Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    May 21, 2012 @ 17:23:40

    Echoing Shelly Heather is doing very well under your tutelage and those are lovely cards she made. I liked all the cards she made but my favourite has to be the bird one. And that is a great way to use up paper..make envelopes and what happy mail someone will receive when one of those is sent out 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      May 22, 2012 @ 07:19:12

      Secretly, I enjoyed teaching Heather the marker technique with her bird stamp. She had a lot of questions as I used markers on the rubber stamp. My answer to all of her questions was so mean 😀 “Wait and see. It is magic!” You remember all the same questions. “Doesn’t the ink dry out? How will that work? Won’t it look awful when you mix all the colors like that?”

      To hear her indrawn breath, then to see her lean forward to have a look at the stamped image, and her exclamation of surprise and delight was all worth it 😀 Having examples of cards I made to help her along in creating her set made it easier for Heather to understand the process a bit more. I was really happy with her results. And Heather is as well 😀

      Thank you, Lynn for your sweet comment. I’m sure Heather will appreciate it if she reads your words 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

