Club Scrap’s Assembly Line Cardmaking Idea Deck.

Card making is not my forte.  This is something that I struggle with all the time.  You want to talk about “Writer’s Block”?  I get it every time I think to make a card and begin looking at my papers.

Another crazy problem I have is scrap paper.  It drives me absolutely bonkers when I have half sheets of card stock left over having used only a portion of an entire piece.  To my loopy head, card making means waste.

Several years ago I purchased Club Scrap’s Assembly Line Cardmaking Idea Deck after it first came out.  When you consider the cost of the item, after looking at their site, you will probably click yourself right out of their website.

The Cardmaking Idea Deck is fashioned after a deck of playing cards.  There are 52 cards.  Each card has a sketch on the front of what the finished cards will look like.  On the reverse are the cutting directions.  The skill levels are noted on the Idea Card by the use of stars.  One star is easy, two stars are a little bit more complicated, three stars the complication factor goes up a notch, and four stars will challenge you.

Club Scrap's Cardmaking Idea Deck

Club Scrap’s Cardmaking Idea Deck

I have chosen three (3) Idea Cards from the deck to make a total of 12 cards.  Six (6) sheets of 12 x 12 card stock and two (2) sheets of 8-1/2 x 11 card stock will be used in total.

For one card set I have chosen two 12 x 12 pieces of card stock in a rich brown and a turquoise.  The brown card stock is a light cocoa on the reverse with a darker brown and a print on the front.  By the way, all of the card stock I’m using on these cards is from Club Scrap.  Stuff I’ve had for several years and it is high time that I use it up.

Dark brown and turquoise

Dark brown and turquoise

Once all the cuts are made – following the directions on the reverse of the Idea Card – I will have four (4) cards with an assortment of pieces to use on each card.

Four (4) cards with pieces to be used as suggested

Four (4) cards with pieces to be used as suggested

The next Idea Card will also use two (2) pieces of 12 x 12 card stock.  I have chosen a lavender and a cream.  Now the cream piece is the reverse of a light brown print.  I can used either side of the brown on the cards.

Lavender and cream

Lavender and cream

Four (4) cards and pieces to be used as suggested.  In the photo below you will see the light brown print that is the reverse of the cream card stock.

Four (4) cards with pieces to use as suggested

Four (4) cards with pieces to use as suggested

The last Idea Card calls for two (2) pieces of 12 x 12 card stock and two (2) pieces of 8-1/2 x 11 card stock.  Both the bright yellow and the deep blue have prints on the reverse side.  The yellow piece has a print and a resin type coating over the print.

Idea Card using two 12 x 12 and two 8-1/2 x 11 pieces of card stock

Idea Card using two 12 x 12 and two 8-1/2 x 11 pieces of card stock

This Idea Card creates four card bases.  You can see in the photo the print on the yellow paper.  There is a raised and embossed print on the darker blue as well.

Four card bases and pieces to be used on the card fronts

Four card bases and pieces to be used on the card fronts

The sketch suggestions shown on the front of the Idea Card are there to show you how they used the cuts of paper.  You are free to use their sketch ideas or wing it.

Use the sketches to mount the cut pieces or not

Use the sketches to mount the cut pieces or not

The other products I will be using to make these cards will all come from my stash of scrap papers, a 2004 Stampin’ Up! stamp set purchased by my neighbor from a yard sale which I bought from him :D, an unmounted rubber stamp set from Stampin’ Up! from last year or the year before (I don’t know if it is still available), and some knock off mica water colors (knock offs of Twinkling H2O’s).

2004 Stampin' Up! stamp set from a yard sale

2004 Stampin’ Up! stamp set from a yard sale

2010 or 2011 Stampin' Up! stamp set

2010 or 2011 Stampin’ Up! stamp set

Knock off mica water colors

Knock off mica water colors

Using the 2010 or 2011 Stampin’ Up! stamp set, a Spellbinder Scalloped Square die, gold embossing powder, and green glitter glue I have created this Thank You card.

Thank You card #1

Thank You card #1

Once again, using the 2010 or 2011 Stampin’ Up! stamp set I have made another Thank You card.  I’ve colored the flowers using the Knock Off mica water colors, and I dug around in my embosslets to find the butterfly embossing die from Stampin’ Up! – this is several years old and I don’t know if it is still available.  I’ve also used a Spellbinders fancy die “Labels Six” and some black brads from my stash.

Thank You card #2

Thank You card #2

This next card is one I finished today.  It is supposed to be a masculine card.  I’ve used the very same sentiment stamp but separated the “Thank You” from the sentiment.  This is the “yard sale” stamp set.  I’ve also used a Spellbinders “Curved Rectangle” die on the top part of the sentiment and a label punch from Stampin’ Up! for the “Thank You” part.  I’ve used a Sizzix/Tim Holtz embossing folder (“Gears”) and three of the Tim Holtz gear thingys along with some black brads from my stash.

Thank You card #3

Thank You card #3

I have one more to finish from this one Idea Card using the four (4) sheets of card stock.  I’ll be working on that one tomorrow.

When I’m finished I will show you my left over scrap pieces from the cut card stock.  Maybe on the next set I will use the sketches that accompany the Idea Card instead of winging it 😀

These turned out pretty good and I would not be embarrassed to give any of these three cards to someone.  I just need more practice at making cards….and using things from my stash 😀

Hope you all will have time this weekend to get crafty.

Leslie

 

 

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    May 18, 2012 @ 19:14:59

    I can’t understand why you have a problem making cards because the ones you do make are gorgeous and these samples are lovely.
    I know from reading various posts on Splitcoast Stampers and other US forums that many American gals feel either uncomfortable or have a problem making cards and for a while I couldn’t understand this until I realised that it is because many of you came to cardmaking from scrapbooking and that is where your mindset is……no offence intended 🙂
    On a scrapbook layout designer paper and other items are used and scrapbookers coming to card making seem to think that these same papers should be used however most dp patterns are too big and don’t transfer to cards so well. It really isn’t necessary to use papers on cardstock…many cardmakers rarely use papers at all; they may use mats from either matching cardstock or using a diecut as a mat. Although those Ideas Cards seem like a good idea I think they narrow the view too much. You are such a creative and innovative person Leslie you don’t need those Ideas Cards; they are too formulaic and you do great when you ‘wing it’.
    That spare cardstock is NOT going to be wasted as they could be used for making bookmarks to be incorporated into a card, used in punches or dies. Have a look at using some of your dies as card bases to make shaped cards and there are stacks of card making ideas on Splitcoast under resources.
    There is a blog by Lateblossom called Simplicity – http://simplicitybylateblossom.blogspot.co.uk/ – who rarely even uses mats or layers and her Clean and Simple cards are lovely. My style of cardmaking tend more towards the ‘less is more’ style because although I love the many layered cards all blinged up I have difficulty making them look good. Anyway these are just my ramblings 🙂
    You do make beautiful cards, just relax more! 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      May 19, 2012 @ 08:51:28

      Thank you Lynn.

      Your assessment is correct – for me anyway. I started paper crafting with scrapbooks. Having large open space to be creative allows for a bit of freedom. Translating that to greeting cards with the smaller space allotment is my difficulty. Ask Joe. He will tell you that my “spacial awareness” is nearly non existent 😀

      Then there is the dreaded rubber stamp smears. Being a control freak and a perfectionist those little bits of rubber and ink give me the heebie jeebies 😀 I spend more time saying “I can’t do ….” than actually getting a grip on myself and just doing it!

      I like to use the Idea Cards because they create the “space” for me to work in. No guessing how big a piece of card stock should be to fit a card front. Can you say “crutch”? 😀 Yes, there are times that I feel the need to be lead around by the nose instead of forging ahead on my own.

      I took a look at the link you provided for Lateblossom. You want to know the actual fear level that was created just looking at the cards on her blog?! Quite a number of her card fronts have images that are off center and those, although beautiful, put the fear of something in me. Crazy old broad, I know that I am.

      The other thing you mentioned, design paper prints being very large and not meant for card making is so very true. Sad, but true.

      As with my beginning scrapbook days, learning card making is a process that requires practice and familiarity to be any good at it. Please know that I have not taken offense at anything you have said. It is all correct and totally applies to me 😀

      It is time for me to get cracking on my bookwork. We are leaving Tuesday and I have a limited amount of time to play. Thank you, once again, for your sweet comments on my card samples. Girlfriend, if I had the confidence in myself that you have in me I wouldn’t be going back out on the road 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Carol
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 15:44:07

    Leslie Thank you for the demo on using The Cardmaking Idea Deck. I love club scraps way of breaking down ideas to a simple uncomplicated idea and you have done the same with your use of their product.
    I had saved a video long ago of a process they taught but my link no longer works I was searching for it…but happy day, in the process I stumbled onto your site 🙂 I’m adding you to my follow list. Stop by my blog, I hope you’ll find it interesting and add me as well.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jul 12, 2012 @ 10:28:15

      Thank you Carol for your comment.

      I’m going to tell you about Club Scrap’s “Cinema”. You can find it at this link
      http://www.clubscrapcommunity.com/main-inspiration/videos

      You may have to copy and paste the link in your browser to get to the site. It is chock full of videos from card making, book making, scrapbook layouts, and so much more.

      You don’t have to be a member to view the videos. The “Shop” link is available as well if you see a project you just have to make.

      Also, you don’t have to be a member to purchase items from their shop. There are some items that are for members only, while some items have a “Member” price and a “Non-Member” price.

      I, too, love Club Scrap and their awesome contributions to personal crafting.

      Once again, thank you for leaving a comment on my blog.

      Leslie

      Reply

  3. Patricia Duvall
    Jun 24, 2014 @ 14:14:22

    How do I buy the Assembly Line Card Making Idea Deck? I’ve looked everywhere??? Please let me know…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

