Results of my day at home playing with macaroni

The macaroni I used were thin spaghetti, elbow, and bow tie.

Thin spaghetti, elbow, and bow tie macaroni noodles

Thin spaghetti, elbow, and bow tie macaroni noodles

Shelly, aka Tachar, from aspot2stamp still has her full mental and humor faculties in tact although she is suffering some horrendous tooth extraction pain.

One day we might see a post on the device she is thinking about.  Macaroni hot glued to a piece of foam core and used as a stamp.  She also saw Butterflies in my experiment that I did not see.

I used the bow tie noodles with several of my home made spritzes on Whisper White card stock.

Bow tie and elbow macaroni used with home brewed spritzes

Bow tie and elbow macaroni used with home brewed spritzes

The outline of the bow tie noodle mask is where Shelly saw the butterflies…before I messed with the elbow noodles to make the designs.

You can watch the video of my process here.

The two pieces I like that came from this experiment are vellum and ink jet photo paper.

The vellum is a piece I have from Club Scrap.  This paper is unlike any other that I’ve used before.  Very smooth surface and a thicker paper.  Vellum is non porous and does not absorb ink as other papers and card stock does.

Joe interrupted my experiment a couple days ago to help clean up his stash of items from our porch area.  I opted to leave the Faded Jeans Distress ink to dry on its own over night.  18 hours later the ink was still wet in places.  Enough that I poured Gold embossing powder over the entire paper surface and heat set it.

I like  this piece and will use this technique one again.

Vellum, Faded Jeans Distress ink, gold embossing powder

Vellum, Faded Jeans Distress ink, gold embossing powder

Lastly, I used a piece of Kodak ink jet printer photo paper with alcohol inks.  Adirondak Stream, Butterscotch, and Current along with elbow macaroni shaken in a plastic box.  I REALLY like this piece and will definitely use this again.

Alcohol inks, elbow macaroni, and photo paper

Alcohol inks, elbow macaroni, and photo paper

It is time to get the suitcase packed and the pickup loaded to head back out for Nashville for our final set of trucks today so I have to get out of this blog and back to work.  Seems like Monday to me but it is Thursday.

The month of May has some very interesting “National Days” coming up.  One of them is “Sandwich Day” in Great Britain.  I’m not sure of the exact day in May it is held but I will be making a post from the road about it in my other blog – Foolishness and Mayhem.

I’m sure my Friend from the UK – Lynn Claridge – will be lending a hand on that front.  At least I hope she has something different than bologne and cheese 😀

Have a fantastic weekend everyone.

Leslie

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 09:03:26

    My favorite one is the alcohol inks on photo paper. I have a bunch of photo paper that came with some printers, and I don’t really like to print photos at home, because I just don’t think they look as good as those printed elsewhere. I’ve not thrown them away; no , I don’t consider myself to be a hoarder, but I also don’t throw brand new things away…..Of course, I guess that’s how it ALWAYS starts, though, right? Anyway, now I have something new to try!

    Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:25:54

    Lovely papers you create there and what fun you all had doing it too 🙂
    Must try and load the video and see what you were up to!!

    Sandwich Day???? OMG who invents these crazy days??? And who the heck takes any notice of them???? I certainly don’t 😀

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 26, 2012 @ 16:44:28

      Last week I saw a Twitter post about National Scrapbooking month in May. Curious I went looking for other “National” days and found a gob-a lot (my crazy phrase) of them.

      National Sandwich Day is sometime in May and was started by some Brits. Sounds plausible since your country’s “Earl of Sanwich” – or is it Sandwich? – is credited with being the inventor of said repast.

      So….I’m thinking….since you and your countrymen have “Bubble and Squeak” surely there is a sandwich that would have an amazing name as well 😀

      Thank you for your comment on the papers I made. If you can’t watch the video….

      Tape a piece of card stock or other paper of your choice to the inside lid of a plastic container. Add your rice or dry beans – since Rod doesn’t care for macaroni – add drops of ink of your choosing into the plastic bowl along with about 8-10 beans or a pinch of rice. Put the lid on well then shake the tar out of the bowl. Make your beans or rice come in contact with the paper.

      See what you come up with. Can’t have you miss out on the fun just because your Internet connection is iffy 🙂

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. gardenpinks
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 11:12:16

    Bubble and Squeak! LOL That ‘meal’ came about due to frugality ….cabbage leftovers mashed with potatoes and fried. Love the smell but hate the taste as I dislike cabbage and such like but Rod loves his squeak and bubble with an egg:)
    Yes it was the Earl of Sandwich who gave his name to thi ‘delicacy’, only because he was busy playing cards and didn’t want to leave the game to eat and suggested that cold meats were put between two hunks of bread before that pieces of bread were used as plates by the very poor ….if you were a little better off you used wooden platters and rich people had metal (gold, silver, pewter) platters. Bread was a huge part of the staple diet until potatoes were brought over from Europe. Francis Drake nicked them off the Spanish 🙂 I wonder what those early potatoes were like before all the breeding?!
    As for sandwiches in this household…depends which part of the week it is, just after shopping and there are all manner of fillings towards the end of the week then the fillings are becoming sparse! LOL My personal favourite has to be crusty bread and prawn cocktail! Or a nice tasty cheddar cheese and slices of onion on slices of a new crusty loaf – yum!!!!
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 27, 2012 @ 19:20:49

      First time I ever heard of “Bubble and Squeak” was from the movie “Bedknobs and Broomsticks” with Angela Landsbury. I tell you, girlfriend, you people talk funny 😀

      To get a good crust bread we have to go to a French bakery or go to Chicago, Illinois…better yet to New York City. Bread, for the most part, comes from factories and is soft. Even our grocery stores that make their own breads don’t have crunchy tasty bread. I’m jealous!

      Joe would sit at your table, gladly, for the prawn cocktail and crusty bread. He will pass on the onion sandwich though. Me, I’ll have to say that I don’t have quite the refined pallet. Fish and I are not friends and onions are only for cooking 😀

      Thanks for the wonderful information. I know if there is anyone that can give us the “Skinny” (as used to be said when I was a teen) it is you and in such an enjoyble way you share it also.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  4. Nancy
    May 01, 2012 @ 20:42:09

    Well, my friend, I did it! I made a macaroni card! I don’t know if you had rules or not because I’m still avoiding my mailbox and I came here from Lynn’s blog! lol
    I’m sorry if I did it wrong but I had fun! I hope you like it! 🙂 You can find it here:
    http://www.nickelnook.com/2012/04/leslies-macaroni-challenge.html
    Thanks for the fun!
    Love & Prayers,
    Nancy 🙂

    Reply

  5. Tracy :)
    May 03, 2012 @ 21:05:08

    Great experiments with the inks and papers.
    I never experiment, but I should.
    I have lost you along the way, so happy to be hearing from you again 🙂

    Reply

  6. Carley
    Sep 07, 2014 @ 22:11:10

    It’s nearly impossible to find knowledgeable people about this
    topic, but you sound like you know what you’re talking about!

    Thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

