Configuration Box from Foam Core

I have a lot of scrap pieces left over from the storage units I built.  What to do with them?

Foam Core scraps

Foam Core scraps

I had two large pieces left over.  One was a bit smaller than the other so I chose to use the smaller piece.  I decided that a base for the Configuration Box would be a good size at 9″ x 12″.  My base piece is 8-1/2″ x 11-1/2.

Cut the 8-1/2 x 11-1/2" base piece from this large piece of scrap

Cut the 8-1/2 x 11-1/2" base piece from this large piece of scrap

This will be a good size….I think 🙂

The base piece

The base piece

I started picking out the scrap pieces and laying them on the base.  Trying to figure the best use of the scraps.

Placement of scrap pieces

Placement of scrap pieces

Might as well start at the bottom.  Not knowing the sizes of Tim Holtz Configuration Box I decided to just wing it.

The first box I decided to make the inside dimensions 1-3/4″ x 2″.  The outer pieces (sides, top, and bottom) will take up about a total of 1/2″ in width and height.

First box

First box

Staying with the formula that has worked well so far, I used the metal tape to secure the two sides, top, and bottom to the box base.

Using the  metal tape to create the box

Using the metal tape to create the box

After a while I had three boxes prepared for the bottom row.  There is a lot of cutting, measuring, taping, and lining up the pieces.

Three boxes completed

Three boxes completed

Next I worked on the box I chose to make the total width of the inside base.  The process was getting easier and I was getting into a rhythm.

Creating the box that spans the width of the base

Creating the box that spans the width of the base

Things were moving along very well…..until Crapazoid!!!

I forgot to cut the larger piece down to compensate for the 1/2″ of the top, bottom, and two sides.

Crapazoid

Crapazoid

I had to cut away a portion of one end of the box.  Checking for fit and cutting a teensy bit more off until I had the right size.  Not a big problem to solve, just one of those “Being prideful will end up in a stumble”.  I was really all full of myself.  So much so that I wasn’t paying attention to what I was doing.

Cut away the excess to get the box the correct length

Cut away the excess to get the box the correct length

Once I got past that little glitch, double checking the measurements of the remaining pieces, I felt really good about the finished boxes.

Finished with the boxes

Finished with the boxes

Next was to build the outer box.  Creating the sides, top, and bottom and fitting them to the base.

Assembling the box

Assembling the box

All that was left was to put the little boxes back inside the bigger box.  Now it looks – sort of – like a Tim Holtz Configuration Box.  Not exactly but sort of close.

My configuration box

My configuration box

I still have quite a few Foam Core scraps.  Not as much as I had before.  There are enough square pieces that I’ve thought about making a box with a lid.  Maybe use it for the beaded pins I’ve made.  Stack some of the scrap pieces of Foam Core in the box and poke the pins in the foam.  Something for them to stand upright in.

Still more scraps left

Still more scraps left

And I still have one large piece of Foam Core left.  I think I’ll just put that aside somewhere for next winter.

One large piece remaining

One large piece remaining

If I were smart, I’d take the scraps and the one large piece over to Hugh so he can create some storage for Heather.  That way I can get rid of stuff that will only be taking up space.  I don’t know when I will use the stuff again.  At least by giving it to someone who could use it I will feel better about the waste.

Next is the creative journey with paper and embellishments.  I’m thinking of making this art piece about sewing.  I have the Dress Form die from Tim Holtz, a sewing machine stamp from Stampin’ Up!, some small – and smaller – wooden thread spools, a couple of old patterns I can use the tissue paper, and the sewing directions I think will be good to use.  I’ve got buttons, snaps, hooks, zippers, and all kinds of other stuff stashed away.

A note of CAUTION.  If you choose to make something out of Foam Core, please be advised.  Spray paint is really good to use because of the low liquid content of the paint.  This stuff is NOT good for any Shimmer Spritz applications.  The paper cover over the foam will curl and buckle resulting in the paper separating from the foam.  Not good.

If you want to use your Shimmer Spritzes feel free to use it on the card stock you will attach to the Foam Core.  Just don’t use it on the Foam Core.

Okay, now I’ve got to get back to the kitchen and my spaghetti for dinner.

 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aspot2stamp
    Apr 09, 2012 @ 21:21:00

    HI there. all of the scraps make me think of something like a mail type organizer. envelopes, paper things like that could be housed there. what about tool caddy on a lazy susan or marker holder or maybe a ribbon holder ?my mind runs here and there but I’m not the the one doing the construction
    Love Ya 🙂

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 10, 2012 @ 08:42:31

      My goodness, your imagination has been pinged 😀 How fun it is to read your comment and the ideas that come bouncing out from you. Have you seen the video made by “The Frugal Crafter” Ribbon Storage with Foam Core.

      I don’t know how much ribbon you have, I don’t have enough to warrant making such a huge device as hers but it can be scaled down to fit your needs and space.

      When you get to unmounting your rubber stamps and putting them in cd cases, if you don’t have any baskets to hold your stamp collections you can create your boxes with the Foam Core. I would probably tie a wide ribbon around the box for extra strength. Not because the stamps and cd cases would be too heavy, but for support when pulling the boxes from your shelf to rummage through finding the stamp set you want. You could make the wide ribbon your indicator. A Christmas ribbon for your Christmas themed stamps, a party type ribbon for your Birthday stamps and so on. That way you will know what theme is in which box by the ribbon on the outside. Just sayin’

      Thanks for the ideas.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Maureen Mathis
    Apr 09, 2012 @ 22:53:49

    How about creating a post it note and pen holder with four of those tiny “killer strong magnets” on the back to attach it to the front of a fridge? You could piece together three tall and narrow pieces of the foam core to create a small cylinder or box just big enough to hold a pen with just the top half sticking out. The base for the pen holder could just be an unfinished chipboard base attached to the sides and the front of the pen holder. Just cardstock might not work, as ink buildup might weaken the paper, allowing the pen to break through. The post it notes could be adhered directly to the decorated foam core holder. And if a full pad of post it notes would be too heavy, just use half of the pad. I’m thinking it could be rectangular shaped, with the pen holder on the left side (for right handed users) and the post it notes on the right side. I do have a lefty friend, so I could use one with the pen holder on the right.If you create a sample one, I might buy a few unfinished ones from you to decorate and give to friends. Put it on your list of things to try when you’ve lost your mojo and want to do something crafty, but are out of ideas, which is DEFINITELY not these days, girlfriend. You are cranking out ALL kind of ideas right now!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 10, 2012 @ 08:45:38

      Thank you Maureen for your idea for the Post-It-Note holder. I’ll have to think on that one for a little while. How best to do it. Sadly, my time at home is near an end. I’m leaving next Tuesday for the open highways and will have to say “Good-bye” to my craft room once again 😦

      I will keep your idea and work on it this week. Planning it out before I totally commit. Sorry my Friend.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. gardenpinks
    Apr 11, 2012 @ 17:04:27

    Love your configuration box and your ideas for decorating and embellishing it – wonderful 🙂
    Maureen and Shelly have given you plenty of ideas to use up your scraps too.
    So sorry your time in the craft room has been cut short but I shall be dogging your other blog so see what you have been up to:) Still waiting for the birth of the calendar of your photographic journey 😀

    My internet connection was playing up yesterday so couldn’t leave a comment 😦
    Your lovely box of goodies arrived today!! Thank you so much for your generosity, Kim will be thrilled with her crayons and whatever else I decide she can have 😀 Thank you Leslie.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 11, 2012 @ 22:43:43

      I’m so glad you received your box of goodies 🙂 I’m so sorry for the delay in sending it off to you. I had to laugh at your comment “…and whatever else I decide she can have”. You crack me up 😀

      I may have to take my photos to someone and have them put the calendars together. I can’t decide what I want to do with all of them 😦 Someday I will get it done.

      Sorry to hear your internet connection was acting up on you. Crapazoid, you can’t get to your forums, and other crafty websites for inspiration 😦 on days like that. Glad to know that it is working again – for the time being.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  4. thefrugalcrafter
    May 01, 2012 @ 18:30:09

    fantastic! I have lots of foamcore scraps too!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      May 01, 2012 @ 20:40:39

      Thanks 🙂 When I get home this winter from my truck driving job I will be working on that more. By then everything in the crafting world will have changed. Oh well, that’s the way it goes 😀

      Reply

  5. the best to do list
    Aug 18, 2014 @ 10:40:19

    I like the valuable information you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and check again here frequently.
    I’m quite sure I will learn many new stuff right here!

    Good luck for the next!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

