Shimmer Spritz storage from Foam Core

Shimmer spritz storage from Foam Core

Shimmer spritz storage from Foam Core

I learned a lot from yesterday’s adventure with the stamp pad storage made from Foam Core board.  This little guy went together quite a bit faster today since I didn’t have to stop every half hour and figure out the math stuff.

I made the back dimensions 12-1/2″ wide by 15″ tall.  Since the middle supports worked well with the stamp pad thing I figured why mess with something that already works.  I kept with the 4-1/4″ and 8-1/2″ measurements.

Inner supports at 4-1/4" and 8-1/2"

Inner supports at 4-1/4" and 8-1/2"

I did make myself a “Jig” from one of the scrap pieces of Foam Core.  I measured 1-1/2″ from the bottom edge then made a mark, moved up 1/4″ and made another mark.  From that second mark I measured 1-1/2″ then continued up the piece like that.  This ensured that I did, in fact, have a width of 1-1/2″ for my shelves instead of the wonky maybe 1″ on one side and over 1″ on the other side as happened with the ink pad thing.

Meausring "Jig" spaced at 1-1/2"

Measuring "Jig" spaced at 1-1/2"

I want my shelves to be at a little bit of an angle.  This will keep the “sucky tube”, whatever that thing is called, from drying out plus the advantage of the bottles staying on the shelves and not do a bail out.

The “Jig” thing helped me a lot with planning the angle.  Don’t ask me how much of an angle because I’ll tell you it is “That much”.

Using the "Jig" to make the angle

Using the "Jig" to make the angle

I moved the top of my “Jig” down 3-1/16″, lined up the cut outs with the pencil line I drew and then went into the cut outs with my pencil to make marks of where to reference my lines.  This also would be the place where I would cut the holes out with the Big Bite Cropadile.

Move the "Jig" down 3-1/16" from the top and mark the notch outs

Move the "Jig" down 3-1/16" from the top and mark the notch outs

Once I got all the notches marked along the pencil line, I moved the “Jig” to the top edge and lined it up along the outer edge of the shelf piece then made tick marks in the notches once again.

Move the "Jig" to align with the top and sides of the outer edge of the shelf

Move the "Jig" to align with the top and sides of the outer edge of the shelf

I then drew my pencil lines connecting the notches from the center line to the outer edge and cut away the areas.

Connected the pencil marks to make the support notches

Connected the pencil marks to make the support notches

Cutting out the support things

Cutting out the support things

Once I had the supports all cut up and attached to the back then I went to work on the shelves themselves.  The supports were attached to the back piece the same as I did with the ink pad storage.  I used the metal tape to secure them.

The shelves are 12-1/2″ wide by 3-1/2″ deep.  I make the notch marks at 4-1/4″ and 8-1/2″, same as for the ink pad thing.  Why go and complicate things when I don’t have to 😀

Shelf notch spaces measured at 4-1/4" and 8-1/2"

Shelf notch spaces measured at 4-1/4" and 8-1/2"

I did figure out a quick trick.  Mark 1/8″ on either side of the 4-1/4″ and 8-1/2″ places to get a good 1/4″ mark for the shelf cut outs.  This made things go quicker in the measuring and cutting process.

Mark 1/8" on either side of the 4-1/4" measurement

Mark 1/8" on either side of the 4-1/4" measurement

Mark 1/8" on either side of the 8-1/2" measurement

Mark 1/8" on either side of the 8-1/2" measurement

Then it was just cutting the hole out with the Big Bite Cropadile and cutting away the notch out area.

Cut out the notch area for the shelf piece

Cut out the notch area for the shelf piece

Assembly of the spritz storage thing went really well and quickly.  Once all the tedious work of marking and cutting the supports then the shelves the rest was easy.

Now I have two completed storage pieces.  I’ve emptied three of the four things I had the spritz bottles and ink refills in.  The ink refills fit nicely in the top two rows.  Next thing to do is spray the spritzes on some paper then use a small punch to cut a sample out for the bottle top and also punch out a square piece to be placed in the inventory book I have started making.

Two storage units completed

Two storage units completed

I’m going to use the rest of today creating a tutorial video and uploading it to YouTube later this afternoon.

Man is it good to have my “Mojo” back!

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Apr 04, 2012 @ 15:49:28

    What a difference having all the ink pads, spritzes and refills all together in one tidy area and to hand. Brilliant idea Leslie. Love this and it is something to file away for later use.
    Please keep your fingers crossed for us because we may just have a cash buyer for our house 😀 We shall know later this month and we can’t wait. That is our good news! Our bad news is that our dog, Katie, had to be put to sleep last Monday – that was sad. But her time had come and she was getting very weak and was very ill.:(
    Love and hugs
    Lynn x

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 05, 2012 @ 07:32:22

      I’m so sorry to hear about your Katie. Your house has a hole it in now. You and Rod will miss her presence, as will your grandchildren. She had a great life living with you. Resting under the shade of trees and flowering shrubs, coming around to inspect what you were doing as you and Rod dug in the flower beds. You won’t here her padding feet roaming the house, or her great moans and thumping as she lay down for a nap. Joe still swears our Princess came to him one night after we had to put her down and nuzzled his face as he slept. I know what you are going through.

      I’ll be thinking of you as the days pass waiting for news of your house finally being sold and you can move to the home of your dreams 😀 How exciting for you and Rod!

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. aspot2stamp
    Apr 05, 2012 @ 11:37:05

    Fantastic project Leslie. I may have to enlist Brians help with something for reinkers and my homemade spritzs. Having things out where you can see them is a great help for me. My big project will be to unmount my wood stamps sometime this summer. I found a great deal on cling mount foam on ebay and plan on getting it when I have my funds saved up.

    Hugs

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 05, 2012 @ 14:25:56

      Yikes. Sounds like you have a huge job to do. Just so you don’t go and make the mistake I made, getting a huge bunch of them unmounted and no time or inclination to finish, take it slow and be easy on yourself. I just about went off the deep end. I have Stampin’ Up! plastic boxes full of half un-mounted stamps. Don’t know when I’ll ever get to finishing that project.

      You will be receiving a box in the mail at your PO Box. I finally got off my butt and got your goodies on the way to you. I was in such a hurry to do it I forgot to take the price tags off stuff. There is no order of who gets what. Except I did find some wooden letters for Will. If you don’t kill me first he can decorate them his own way to make them special. Also, your Nestabilities are in the box.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

      • aspot2stamp
        Apr 05, 2012 @ 22:15:18

        You’re right in the job being overwhelming. Being limited on space this seems to be the route to go. I will take your advise and pace my project. Oh please dont worry about the wooden letters I’m sure he will love them. Why would I want to kill you? I know the kiddies will be thrilled to recieve their prizes as will I. Now I need to think of a card to use them with 🙂 I was happpy to see in Lynn’s post about her house and sad to hear about her Katie we will have to keep them in our prayers.
        How is your weather there? Did the rain miss or get you? We had the temperature of 87 on Tuesday and tonight we have a frost warning and have to have the heat turned back on?!?? Guess I will just have to roll with the flow. I will let you know when the box arrives, Thanks again for your generousity.

        Love and hugs
        Shelly

      • Message In A Fold
        Apr 06, 2012 @ 20:11:21

        Our weather has been totally crazy! We’ve had temperatures up into the 80’s for a day or two. Several days of drizzling rain that accumulated to over 2″. The last couple of weeks I have had to switch between having the a/c on then turn the heater on to take the chill off. Totally nutz!!

        Poor Lynn. I feel so bad for her having to put her dog down. You guys know all to well how hard that is to do. Yes, I do hope they get their house sold. We probably won’t hear from her for days on end when she does move because she will have public transportation and be a “Gad About” reveling in her freedom 😀 and being able to go where ever she pleases 😀 Those two sure do deserve to have an easier life and I hope they thrive in it.

        Shelly, I hope you and your family are well and will remain so. I hope this summer is better for all of you than last summer was with all the myriad ailments the kids seemed to get hold of. Take care my Friend.

        Love you – Leslie

  3. aspot2stamp
    Apr 07, 2012 @ 10:04:28

    So far so good on the health around here and I have high hopes it will stay that way 🙂 We recieved your package yesterday and the kids are thrilled with the goodies you sent for them. They want to make a special thank you so this evening when the smallish ones go home we have a project planned 🙂 Oh my I love those spellbinders YIPEE !! I had to just punch some out last night right before bed 🙂 Wow they are really easy to use and I just love how elegant they look. I have many ideas running through my head, I need to get my idea book out and write them all down. As for Lynn she will be free to roam here and there just think of the ideas that will be spinning in her head. Isen’t it silly the things we see that spark creative thought in our brains. I had a bathroom tile and a sidewalk while on our on our trip that I took photos of. I will have to share them when I get the time to post. Since it’s been nice the past few days we have been outside playing most of the day which means everyone is kinda sunburned but ready to climb into bed after dinner and a shower……. Yay me…… not really I am in my bed right after them too 🙂 I am just so happy to see you posting and creating again. You really have a gift explaining the steps of what ever projects you’re working on. I have watched many videos on the intrenet and some leave me scratching my head but thats not the case with yours. I appreciate you sharing your talents with us. Ok ok my posse are in need of me so I had better get into the mix.

    Love too you and Tell Joe Hello from us 🙂
    Many big hugs being sent too
    Shelly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Apr 07, 2012 @ 15:19:59

      I’m so glad your children like what I’ve sent to them 😀

      I know that a healthy child’s self esteem has to come from knowing that winning and losing is part of life. Making all of the children winners take away from the self esteem of the one that did win.

      HOWEVER, that color contest was something I will not do again. Subject small children to being judged by me. That was the worst thing I’ve had to do in a long time. They were all so good and I took all of my own enjoyment of what they did away. Not fun!

      I’m so glad to have been the one to introduce you to Spellbinders 😀 Hobby Lobby has 40% off coupons you can get from Hobby Lobby Mobile You can go online and print it off if you don’t have a smart phone. If you do the cashier will look at it and give you the 40% discount on one item. Michaels has an App for smart phones that sends you email alerts to their coupons. They are scanned from your cell phone at the check out.

      I’m looking forward to seeing what you create with them 😀

      Thank you for your very sweet comments on my tutorial videos. Thank you Shelly 😀

      So glad to hear you are getting to bed early. One never knows just how much sleep they need to function daily until you find yourself sick from lack of sleep.

      Joe says “Hi” back at you.

      I’m looking forward to seeing the things your children come up with the stuff I sent. I hope they have fun with it all.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  4. thefrugalcrafter
    May 01, 2012 @ 18:23:01

    that looks awesome! I love foam core craft storage! I’ll look for your video;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

