Heather punched a bunny!!

Hahahahaha.   I just kill myself 😀   Oh, you didn’t get it.  Alright.

Since I have a lot of hand punches I thought it would be a good time to introduce Heather to them and create an Easter Bunny for her boy’s layouts.  I am not going to be critical of the outcome because this was her very first time of doing this.  Her bunnies turned out pretty cute.  One looks like it hit the sauce a bit :D.

Here’s a link to the pattern if anyone is interested.  Stamp With Amy has the pattern I chose to use with Heather.  It is moderately complicated but not overly so.  There is also a video link in the Stamp With Amy blog to show how to put this little guy together.

All the supplies ready for this project

All the supplies ready for this project

I took some time to show Heather the photo and the “recipe” to make this cute little bunny.  I gave her some instruction on using the punches properly.  I gave her the paper to use in this project and told her how many of which size punch to cut.  I let her do the work.

Using the punches

Using the punches

This photo is great!  Not just for the working shot of Heather using the punch.  But in my photography expertise – ahem  NOT – I was able to get quite a story from one photo.

First is Heather using the punch on the dark pink paper.

Second is the face Heather makes when the punched piece flies through the air.

Third is the aforementioned punched piece actually flying through the air!

A flying punched piece :D

A flying punched piece 😀

I don’t have a 3/16″ hole punch but I do have a Cropadile.  I introduced Heather to this tool.  I think I’ve had her use it before to make holes and set eyelets way back in the beginning.  Today she is using the Cropadile to make the black parts of the bunny’s eyes.

Cropadile used to make the eye centers

Cropadile used to make the eye centers

I don’t have the smaller oval punches but I do have a Coluzzle to use.  I did a demonstration on how to use it with Heather then spent the next few minutes hovering over near her as she used this tool.  Doing a lot of “Hold it straight up” and “Turn the blade around”.

Using the Coluzzle with the spinning cutting blade can be tricky at first.  Knowing and making yourself hold the knife straight up and down continuously is a pain in the butt.  A person’s natural inclination is to tip the handle forward or backward while making the cuts.

Oval shaped Coluzzle

Oval shaped Coluzzle

Heather following direction :D

Heather following direction 😀

Once all the pieces were either punched out or cut out the next part of this project was to ink the edges of each item.  I had her use Walnut Stain Distress Ink and she chose to use the makeup sponge to apply the ink.

Inking the edges of her cut pieces

Inking the edges of her cut pieces

Edges inked and time for assembyl

Edges inked and time for assembly

Beginning assembly of the bunny

Beginning assembly of the bunny

This is Heather’s very first time of assembling punched out pieces.  Using the photo from Stamp With Amy and my guidance she got the pieces going and it is beginning to take shape.

Bunny coming together

Bunny coming together

I have “Flock” in a light pink color.  Bunny ears are so soft and cute I thought a little bit to the inner ear would be good.  When the glue fully dries you won’t see anything except the soft little patch of fuzz.  Until then you see the wet glue beneath.

A bit of "Flock" in the ears

A bit of "Flock" in the ears

These two bunnies are just so cute.  I had her punch the wrong size out for the nose.  The noses are just a tad too big but these little guys are ADORABLE!

Two little bunnies

Two little bunnies

Next was to get the “Easter Eggs” edges inked  I had her cut out using the Coluzzle.  I asked Heather if she had ever colored Easter Eggs when she was little.  She told me a story of her attempt to make them multi colored and the resultant mess.  Yep, been there and done that 😀

Inking the edges of the Easter Eggs

Inking the edges of the Easter Eggs

I was going to make things a bit more complicated for her.  I had suggested she cut zig zag lines across a couple of the eggs to make them look like they were cracking and opening.  Have a different colored egg piece in the background to show through.  Heather opted for markers since she had already done a whole lot of new stuff already.  I didn’t push the issue and brought out my markers for her to have fun with.

Decorated Easter Eggs

Decorated Easter Eggs

Heather has learned quite a bit during her time with me.  I suggested cutting photo mats for the layouts and she piped up with the cutting dimensions.  Woo Hoo – You Go Girl!!

Heather cutting her photo mats

Heather cutting her photo mats

More edges to be inked up.  I had her ink the edges of all of the papers she cut for mats and I had her ink the edges of her layout bases.

Inking the photo mats

Inking the photo mats

Inking the layout bases

Inking the layout bases

By the time we had gotten to this part of the project Heather had been over for about 2 hours.  We were going to be another hour to get several other things done.

Figuring out placement of her items

Figuring out placement of her items

Time to decide where Heather would like  each of these elements to live.  Placing the mats, bunnies, and eggs to best show them off yet leave enough room on the bases for extra photos or some stickers she found in the stash she received from Maureen.

These two layouts are just too cute!!

Partially finished layouts

Partially finished layouts

Reluctantly I had to shoo Heather back home.  We had been at this for three hours and could have stayed longer.  I gave her some ideas to play with at her home.  Use some of her punches to create interesting borders.  I gave her some green card stock.  I cut some thin strips of the green to make grass for her to play with on her own.

So Heather now has her first Easter layout for her boys.

Each of these elements – the punched bunnies and the Easter Eggs – can be used on greeting card fronts.  Glitz the eggs up with glitter, send them through your die cutting machine using an embossing folder to give the eggs a design and dimension.  Use strips of ribbon around the center of the eggs to give them a decorative look.  Nestle your eggs in some tufts of grass.

Gussy these elements up for your scrapbook layouts as well.  Attach the bottoms and one side of the Easter eggs to use as a pocket for your photos or for a journal spot.  Get creative in your holiday crafting this year and have fun 😀

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 12:11:03

    These are AWESOME! She did a great job, and her boys will be so excited when they see their pictures on those layouts. Kids just love to look at pictures of themselves!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Mar 16, 2012 @ 14:19:35

      Heather will be glad to see your comment. I don’t know if she comes directly here or only sees it through Facebook. She worked pretty hard on these.

      I’m so glad you mentioned that her boys will love to see themselves in her scrapbook. Poor girl, she has been worried that her boys will be critical of her work when they get old enough. If she reads this she will know there is more than just me telling her 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 17:27:19

    Haha Leslie 🙂 Heather punched a rabbit!
    Three hours of fun and learning new techniques is great. What does she think of you constantly photgraphing her every move?? Love the photo of the punched piece flying through the air, very artistic.

    Heather did a great job with her layout and love those cute bunnies and eggs….we have loads of cute (not) bunnies hopping around up here trying to munch on my plants, Heather can come and punch those any time 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Mar 16, 2012 @ 14:25:42

      Heather has become “Immune” to me and my camera. She’ll even stop what she is doing so I can get a photo of what she is doing 😀 Have I brain washed her or what 😀 I’m glad she doesn’t get all out of sorts about it.

      That punched piece flying through the air was just one of those “magical” moments when all the planets aligned just right! Too funny!

      Oh man, you have bunnies all over the place 😦 They are cute to look at when a person does not have a garden for them to destroy. I bet you have a lot of trouble with them. Not to mention the holes they burrow in the ground for the unsuspecting person or animal walking in a field.

      I guess it is about that time of year when everything comes out of the ground to greet the day 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

