Coloring Contest and website update.

Wow Wow WOW!!!  The coloring contest has reaped some excellent results.  I find myself having a hard time in choosing the winners for the Children and the Adults.

If you have not had a chance to see the entries then here they are.

CHILDREN:

6 Years Old:  Kim from the UK

Kim's entry.  6 years old

Kim from the UK. 6 years old. Colored with markers.

Bright colors and good coverage.  I love the red, yellow, and purple flowers in this tree.  I like the colors she has used.  Makes me think of warm spring days and I can almost smell the sweet scent of the flowers wafting on the air 😀

10 Years Old:  From the US

Jasmine's entry

Jasmine, aged 10. Her content entry

Outlining the areas of the image first then coloring them in is a really great technique.  Gives the image more dimension.  I love the colors Jasmine has used.  The pinks and yellows are just right for any Princess 😀

11 Years Old:  From the US

Ariel's contest entry

11 year old Ariel's contest entry.

I must confess.  Tweety Bird is one of my all time favorite cartoon characters.  Ariel has colored him such a nice shade of yellow.

The colors Ariel has used are good and her skills are pretty good.  Some of the areas have other colors smudged in them.  All in all this is an excellent entry.

14 Years Old:  From the US

Will's contest entry

Will's contest entry. Watercolor.

The only boy that entered this contest and I’m thrilled to see his submission.  Those mice are just adorable laying out getting some sun on the beach.  Makes me chuckle just looking at it. Thank you Will 😀

This is a rubber stamped image that Will used colored pencils and a blending pen.  Taking the more difficult route than using crayons.

So we have a sampling of colored markers, crayons, and water coloring.  Tough, tough choice for me to make.  All of these are excellent in their own way.

I have to say that both Kim (6 years old) and Jasmine (10 years old) are the two I have to choose from.  Their entries are clean and clear.  Their colors are bright and not smudged.  I will have to choose Jasmine as the winner.  As much as it pains me to not be able to say each one is the ultimate winner of this contest, I have to choose one.

Congratulations to Jasmine!

THE ADULTS

I’m not going to be telling the ages.  I don’t know what they are anyway 😀

From the UK:

Lynn's entry from the UK

Lynn's entry from the UK. Markers (I think)

This little mouse diligently out there giving the flowers a touch of color.  This is just adorable!.  I’m not sure if this was done with markers or with water color.

From the US:

Shelly's entry

Shelly's entry. Colored markers

Shelly used colored markers to give this stamped image depth and  highlights.

I love the whimsical entry of Lynn’s.  That mouse is just too cute.  Shelly has been chosen the winner of the Adult part of this contest.

Thank you ALL for submitting your glorious creations.  To assuage my guilt in having to be a meany and choose I will be sending along something extra to each of the entrants that did not win the contest.

Update on my website.

I have completed the section for “Tools”.  I’m thinking of adding the Score Board in the Tools section and will get that added later but for now it is updated.

Any questions or things you think should be added to my website, leave me a comment and I’ll see if I have the stuff on hand to add in.  I’m sure I do have and just forgot something.

Hope your weekend has been a restful one.  Those of you ailing with the recent bouts of flu you are all in my thoughts and prayers for your healing.

Enjoy your day.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aspot2stamp
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 16:10:53

    A big Thank You Leslie. Jasmine and I are thrilled to have been chosen to win your giveaway. I loved all the entries submitted. Each one was a special work of art. Kim’s tree was vibrant and colorful. Lynn’s I loved the little mouse and have not seen that stamp before, Very cute little mouse with it’s paintbrush.I really liked the shading around the image. Will and Ariel both are fantastic artists and had a blast with their entries. Anytime is a great time to do some crafting.

    Thank you again for the awsome challenge It’s good to break out some of our first crafty loves.
    Take care I’m off to troll your web site.
    Love and hugs,
    Shelly

    Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 16:30:28

    Congratulations to Jasmine and Shelly on winning the colouring competition, both were excellent pieces.
    My piece is a House Mouse stamp and I used watercolour markers – Marvy LePlume pens scribbled onto acrylic blocks ad then the colour picked up with a paintbrush.
    I went to a craft show at the weekend with Ruth, I didn’t have many pennies to spend but did buy two cute little bird houses and have covered them in tissue paper and now I am slowly starting to cover an old wooden table with various papers to make it look a little better. I shall take photos to show you. I’m also busy with my crocheting too, so many gorgeous patterns ot there but I can’t believe the price of yarn these days!! Have had some good buys from charity shops though 🙂 Are you still busy with your web site or are you crafting as well Leslie?

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

