Out from the fog of HTML coding and into the light.

Man, I have to tell you.  Doing “Hard Code“, as I’ve just learned is the term, is really an all consuming thing.

I talked with a tech person at my Website Hosting Service.  The fault with the “Invalid Template!” and the subsequent failure of my “Home Page” was all in the file name I had given it.

When I created my website from scratch last year I had a file named “index.html”.  That is a standard for any website that is created.  They all have to have an “Index” file.  Since I was making a whole new website I thought I’d have to name it a bit different so I added the acronym of my website to the index file.  Making it “indexmiaf.htm”.  THAT was my whole problem.

The remedy was to rename the file to “index.htm” and then go in to every file that referenced the Home Page and change the file name as well.

After that little change everything is working as it should.  See, I told you.  A little knowledge for me is Dangerous!  Oh well, at least it was a simple fix.

Joe has a doctor appointment this afternoon and he is still home.  I’m taking the time off from doing my website by getting back in touch with my friends and fellow bloggers.  Answering their comments and leaving some of my own.  The madness has abated so I can now relax and enjoy the rest of the process of getting my website completed over the next few days.

Going back through my YouTube videos to select them for various spots in my website has been a revelation.  Man are they bad or what?!  I need to make some updated versions minus the “boob shots”.  Terrible job I’ve done in those videos.  Learning curves are pretty steep sometimes.  At least for me they are!

One other thing I learned was how much fun I had when I did a lot of creating and doing tutorials.  I’m going to get back into that kind of thing more.  I’ve lost my focus and the joy of creating by turning my life into a BUSINESS.  I do want to still make this a viable business but I want to be able to enjoy the process.  Over the past year I’ve lost the joy of it all and strayed from my path.  It is time to get back on the road and out of the weeds 😀

I will alert you all to new content on my website as it happens.  Tutorials will be included there in a new section.  That will require another several days of coding to make that happen.  I like the idea of having control over my website by adding items to it and changing things as I need to.  Control being the operative word here.  I’m a freak sometimes.

So I’m off to finish getting dressed and ready for today’s bout of errands and doctor visits.  I won’t be posting anything tomorrow.  I’m going to Dallas with Joe to get his trucks hooked up and ready for him to get back on the road.  I  have March and April to get myself back on the right track before it is time for me to head back out for another six months on the road.  I’m going to make the best of the time I have left at home and get the fun put back in my crafting.

Everyone enjoy your day.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 16:33:22

    I loved your youtube tutorials and didn’t notice the boob jobs at all, I was too busy watching what you were doing and listening to you. Yes my dear friend you have lost your enjoyment of craft; I noticed that from when I first ‘met’ you…your youtube tutorials were so upbeat and enthusiastic. Sadly I can’t watch you videos any more as my broadband connection has become appallingly slow 😦
    You did lose focus but you recognise that and know you have to do something about it…I think you lost focus winter 2010. You could not get past that darn paperwork; it hadn’t seemed to bother you the previous year but it became such a big deal of 2010 and I was so happy for you when you took Maureen’s advice on board for last year.
    You are beginning to sound so much happier and that is great news 🙂

    I haven’t forgotten the colouring competition, in fact I have a photo ready on my computer but I have been quite poorly this last week or so; I succumbed to the dreaded flu or whatever and it has knocked me sideways. The worst seems to be over now although still coughing well, temperature going up and down as often as London Bridge! Kim has finished her picture and is waiting for her mum to photograph it and email it to me so I can email it to you 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Mar 01, 2012 @ 08:30:43

      I saw in your comment you left at Shelly’s blog that you have been ill. I’m so sorry to hear that you have been felled by the current round of bugs 😦 I hope you get feeling back to normal quickly and this one doesn’t linger on you. Sucks to be chasing a fever and hacking. I bet your chest and shoulders are sore from all the coughing, not to mention your throat.

      Yes, indeed, I lost all focus with that dreaded paperwork in 2010. The negativity of that spread everywhere in my life like an evil had taken up residence in my home. Just mostly my mind. But the good part is it is all done and sent off to our accountant for 2011 and that nasty bit is done and finished. I can’t thank Maureen enough for her wisdom and suggestions for getting it done as I can.

      I have had a suggestion from my class instructor to put the many videos on separate pages to keep the downloading time in check. I’ll be taking care of that this week, among other things, in hopes to not cause computer crashes thither and yon.

      You guys just had your internet and phone lines replaced recently after the large scale theft of wire. I’m so sorry to hear that your broadband is acting up and is slow for you. Drat and double Drat!

      Take care my Friend, and get well.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 17:26:25

    Thank you so much Leslie for my lovely stamps set, block and chipboard letter – your parcel arrved today (Wednesday 29). Just love that cute owl 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Mar 01, 2012 @ 08:34:39

      I’m glad to hear the package arrived safely. After seeing your Altered Bird Cage, I figured you would be able to use the various bird cage stamps in that set. The owl was the main reason I sent it to you. Enjoy playing with the set after you feel better and are over this dreaded flu.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

