The air has turned purple!

Yes folks.  The air in my home has gone from blue to purple!

Where did that phrase “The air is blue in there” come from?  I remember as a child hearing the adults use that phrase when they were a bit upset by the strong words used by another adult.  So I have determined that “blue air” means swear words are floating in the air.

Anyone that has a problem with a person swearing would be beating feet into another state by now had they been in my home the past few days.

Last year, about this time, I had a swearing fest similar to this year.  Last year I took an online class to learn about HTML and create my very own website.  That was a trial.  This year I have decided that since I conquered HTML then I would move on to learning CSS and XHTML.

Trying to figure out what goes where in this newest thing is a real challenge.  Programming!

I found my old Photoshop Elements file and thought I’d mess in it to create a header.  I have not cracked that software open since I got it in 2007 and couldn’t figure it out then.  After about an hour of clicking on buttons to no avail, then surf the internet for some kind of helpful instruction – another two hours – I did find one site that helped me to get a start at it.

After about six hours of work, countless “F” bombs floating around the room, several “sh*ts”, and quite a number of “damn-its” I finally  had success at creating my header.  Only to find that it was too long and too wide.  More swearing involved.  It did show up on the mock up of my website Home Page though.

In my case, a little knowledge is DANGEROUS!  Trying to figure out the best way to change the size proportions to fit in the space allotted for the header in my Home Page I corrupted the header file some how….that I wouldn’t find out until today.

All I can tell you is that it was there one time and gone the next.  It went on a “Walk About” – love that phrase and thank you Lynn 😀

While the header was in the right place and was showing up, albeit too big, I worked on the rest of my page.  There are two columns to my Home Page.  The left column will be for links to other pages in my site as well as “badges” I will create in Photoshop (don’t hold your breath for too long) if I can figure that one out.

No where in my class instruction, thus far, has stated the particular order each element HAS to be coded to make it all work.  I started with the main body of the page.  That worked 😀

When I added in the sidebar information for the left column that information went to the very bottom left of the page into the footer and wormed its way up the left side.  Not high enough to meet with the top of the main area.  That was when my frustration level was beginning to go over the top.

I decided to work on a different area and leave that one alone for now.  I went to work on the footer area.  The “F” bombs were whistling through the air and impacting with force all around me.   The footer moved its cute little self up on the page to just under the header.

Try as I might, cutting and pasting in different areas that footer was staying up near the top and was not budging.

Leave the footer alone and work on the left column.  I have found that the left column HAS to be coded before the main body is put in.  I read in one of the resource articles supplied by the instructor of the course that computer codes is read clockwise.  So……header first, main body second, footer third, left column fourth, then back to the header.

NOPE!  Header first, left column second, main body third, then the footer.  So much for clockwise!  After I got that figured out my Home Page was coming together.  Minus a header image.  Drat and double drat!  And the footer was now residing at the top of the main body information.  It had dropped down from just under the header though so progress was being made.  CRAPAZOID!

I gave up and went to bed.  Put a little distance between me and programming for a while.

This morning I tackled the wayward header image.  That is when I found the file to be corrupted and I had to create a new one.  I can show you my  header 😀

My Header

My Header

I created the first one from reading and following along a site I found in a Google search of “creating a header in photoshop elements”.  This one is way too big and I need to resize it…..if I can figure that out.  I really like this one but it is just too big.

My first header

My first header

Other than way too much black from the darker photos I like this one.  So you won’t be seeing this one on my website just yet.  I  need to hurl a few more “F” bombs and turn the air blue to get this thing lightened up and the “Message In A Fold” in a white color and much larger.

Time to get back to creating with CSS to get another page started.  WHAT THE HECK WAS I THINKIN’!!!!

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 16:41:01

    Oh dear! The frustration it causes is beyond belief, I remember it well!
    You should be able to resize your image in Photoshop Elements fairly simply…in Paint Shop Pro at the top is a label marked Image > resize so I am guessing that there should be something similar in PE. When you created your Header and applied the text did you merge the image? If you didn’t then you should be able to change the font size/colour, however if you did merge the image then you will have to recreate it – only when you do save a version without any text so that you always have a ‘spare’ in case you want to change things around or lighten/darken things. Before you add elements to create the header do the neessary lighten/darken/crop etc and save each element before adding them to your Header image! It took me a lot of swearing and frustrating moment to learn that lesson! 😀
    I think Leslie that you need to get to your library and borrow a book or books on CSS; isn’t XHTML just a souped up version of HTML??
    Which online tutorial site are you using? here are a couple of links that might be helpful: http://htmlhelp.com/reference/css/
    http://www.w3schools.com/css/ I used these people to learn HTML and found it so much easier. It is free, or it was when I used it and there doesn’t seem to be mention of any price on the site.
    You will feel so bucked when you finall crack it!! BUT do take some time off, don’t just keep going over and over the same thing because you won’t see where the mistake is with a tired and frustrated brain 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 28, 2012 @ 10:06:30

      Lynn, you have totally surpassed me in PE and PSP. I do know what you mean about the resize of a photo. I had to figure that one out to make my Navigation Buttons small enough to fit.

      “Merge the image”?! Don’t have a clue what that is all about. I saw on the right side of my screen a place called “Layers”. Each time I made a change to the image there were more little boxes added to the “Layer” box. When I was finished with the item I saved it….twice. The first save was name.psp the second was name.jpg. That bit came about because I tried to save each photo as a .jpg and the program hacked up a fur ball and messed the file all up. Hence the corrupted “Header” item. For the sake of my sanity I made a separate folder titled “PSP” to save all the changes before I saved it as a .jpg.

      This Photo Shop Elements, for me, is akin to poking a stick at seemingly dead snake. Tentative pokes at first to make sure I don’t get bit then a bit of confident nudging.

      Maybe I’ll get a bit more comfortable with the program and create my “Water Mark” for my photos.

      Thank you for your helpful advice and the loving arm across my shoulder 😀 That CSS and XHTML stuff rattled my confidence and my brain until it all finally clicked. Once that happened then I felt better about doing the coding then taking a look at the results. Making adjustments in the code to get the final outcome I was looking for.

      I appreciate you my Friend!

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. aspot2stamp
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 00:51:36

    Oh Leslie You had me chuckling to myself 🙂
    I think you’re brilliant with all the technical stuff you do with your blog. I have troubles just getting pictures uploaded and posted. Although I can relate to the frustrations of thinking you have it all in place only to find out it’s not what you thought it was. The colorful metafores ( like Mr. Spock said on star trek) made me think of Brian… Only he starts singing in this silly high voice ” I’m gonna start cussing any minute now….la la la la…. Aaaa…. farfenugan……son of a peter murphy….la la la la…… bicuspids… and other crazy words. followed up by a I’m gonna take a hammer to this computer or his cell phone one of these days ,they give him fits. It’s hard not to laugh at him and I try not to but sometimes I can’t help myself 🙂 Your blog header is very pretty I will have to check all that out again.
    Hope things are going better today and you get everything all sorted out. I need to hurry to bed I will be a grouch in the morning if I don’t get any sleep.
    Take card.
    Love and hugs
    Shelly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 28, 2012 @ 10:12:51

      Shelly, thank you. I’m glad I gave you a chuckle. You gave me a good, and much needed, belly laugh when you gave your rendition of Brian’s mastery of foul language. I’ll have to steal his style. Or mimic it anyway 😀

      I read this comment from you through my phone’s mail feature. Thank you for sending it to me. This comment helped to turn the tide on my abusive language and get my head in the right space to keep going.

      I appreciate you my Friend.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. aspot2stamp
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 11:41:06

    I am happy you had a good laugh 🙂 He makes me laugh too. Now I’m not painting him a saint because the stronger language has been uttered he just really tries to keep a lid on it because of the kids. It took me a long time to change my colorful metaphores. To be honest I used some very strong language the first time I met Brian, being the practical joker acted like I shut his fingers in the car door……. first I was very upset then quite ticked at his choice of humor, he got a long string of colorful words 🙂 I don’t know why he followed me home???? wasent my charming personality lol 🙂 what ever the reason I am happy he did. I am happy for you getting your computer tech stuff accomplished. Your site worked well for me to navigate. Love it .

    Love and hugs,
    Shelly

    Reply

Leave a Reply

