Ink and glitter inventory.

Time to do a little more towards getting my products inventoried.  Thankfully I don’t have a huge amount of ink pads and glitter so this task was done in two days with just a few hours each day.

For both the glitter and the ink pads I used a pad of index cards purchased from my local office supply store.

Index cards

Index cards

I used Stampin’ Up!’s “Heat & Bond” along with VersaMark.  I found a plain rubber block, the inset from one of the sewing stamp sets, attached it to a clear block then inked it with VersaMark then stamped on the back side of one of the index cards.

Next I poured the Heat & Bond over the stamped image on the index card, tapped off the excess then heated the product with  my heat gun until it became shiny.  This only takes a few seconds.  Don’t linger with the heat or you will dry the adhesive and nothing will stick to it.

Once I had the product heated and the sticky stuff created through the process I sprinkled glitter liberally over the stamped part.  Then I added more heat from the heat gun to make the glitter stick to the stuff.  There will not be any fallout from the glitter as it is encased in a sheet protector later.

Using a 1″ circle punch to cut out the glitter sample to be attached to the inventory sheet.

1 inch circle punch

1 inch circle punch

For the chunky glitter from Stampin’ Up! I didn’t trust the Heat & Bond so I spread some glue on an index card then liberally sprinkled the chunky glitter.  Waited for the glue to dry fully to make sure the glitter would hold.

Chunky glitter

Chunky glitter

I had to use the circle punch twice to cut this sample from the index card.  Punch once from the top side.

Punch once from the top side

Punch once from the top side

Then I took the index card out and turned it to the other side and fed it back in the punch.  Lined up the marks from the previous punch then pressed it a second time to get the sample cut out.

Sample punched out

Sample punched out

This is all the glitter I have.  Glitter inventory sheet completed.

Glitter inventory sheet

Glitter inventory sheet

My ink collection is fairly small.  Mostly involve the small Spot Stamps from Stampin’ Up! in their older collections.

Ink spots

Ink spots

Inking up a small stamp with the “Spot” pad….

Ink the stamp

Ink the stamp

Stamp the image on the back side of an index card…..

Stamp image on back of index card

Stamp image on back of index card

I used a 15/16″ square punch to get my ink color sample…..

15/16" square punch

15/16" square punch

I used double sided sticky tape on the back side of the sample……

Double sided sticky tape

Double sided sticky tape

Then I attached the sample to one of the PDF’s I downloaded a couple weeks ago.

Attach to inventory sheet

Attach to inventory sheet

Then write the name of the ink in the box for that particular sample.

If I found a reinker for any of the pads I placed it in the sample box until I finished with the set.  Then I put a “*R” within the sample box with a notation at the bottom of the sheet indicating that “*R” indicated a REFILL for that color.

The few Tim Holtz Distress Ink pads I own were a snap to do.  I think I have a total of six (6).  Plus I made a sheet for my odd assortment of single pads that I don’t know how long I’ve had around or who the manufacturer is.

Embossing powders will be my next foray into the inventory stuff.  That will be for another day.  Heather will be coming over this afternoon for  her next lesson.  I’m thinking of having her create a page for the boy’s birthday photos.  Surely she will be having some photos to put on those pages some day soon.

A bit of rubber stamping and I think some playing around with some of my sparkly water color paints.  I think that would be a fun lesson.  Rubber stamping and water coloring.  I’ll show you the results tomorrow after we play for a while 😀

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 16:56:02

    One thing I will not be doing is making an inventory of the glitter I have! Loads and loads of it in all colours of the rainbow and I hardly use it now.
    Well done on getting your inks and glitter done 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 16, 2012 @ 08:47:49

      I don’t know what to do with the little bit I have! I keep forgetting I have it. From the looks of it you would have quite a task to inventory all of yours. You’d have sparkly bits all over your house if you did that. Joe sparkles in a couple places on his forehead, my living room carpet has sparkly bits, and I find it in my kitchen sometimes. That is only with about six colors!

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

