The Poker Post-Its Chronicles

I have come to the conclusion that Pop Ups are not the way to go in this project.  High  hopes were dashed by reality and ignorance of the process.

I’ll take you back to the first of January and my bright idea.

Figuring out how a Pop Up works

Figuring out how a Pop Up works

The concept of Pop Ups is quite a challenge for someone unfamiliar with the mechanism –  namely ME.

I was able to get the thing to nearly work properly using card stock and photos.

Card stock and photos used in this piece

Card stock and photos used in this piece

This looked promising and I was getting excited 😀

Unfolds quite well

Unfolds quite well

However, as I had feared….photos cracking and splitting 😦

Photos cracking at the crease lines

Photos cracking at the crease lines

Some photos splitting at the creases

Some photos splitting at the creases

In ongoing conversations with my friend, Tim, he told me to just take my time and work the bugs out.  I wasn’t  happy with the outcome of these things but I was trying to fulfill his wish of having hands holding cards along with other players around the table.

Showing this to Joe, whom I can rely upon for an honest answer, his response was “That looks like sh*t”.  I had to agree with him, indeed it did.  I was not happy with it either.

I called Tim and had a lengthy conversation with him on his ideas and expectations.  It turns out that he did not like the concept either but was trying to spare my feelings.  Which then brought out the “Mother” in me.  I told him it is always best to be honest and upfront.  Not being honest causes confusion and that is when feelings get hurt.  I assured him my feelings were fine and I was not hurt but I needed to have some input from him which way to go now.  At this point I was stuck and my mojo was in limbo.

Events that ensued over the next couple of weeks did not help with my mojo either and that came to a screeching halt.

Once I got past all the personal mayhem and recovered from friends and delightful children being in my home crafting I am happy to say that my mojo has returned 😀  This is the result of the two  hour conversation with Tim.  He requested that I send him a video of what I’ve done so he can see the pieces from all angles.  Tim had said just seeing a flat photo of the project did not give him the total idea of what I was trying to get across to him.

My fault there for any misunderstandings.  I had just “Ass”umed he would be in tune with the whole thing because other crafters are.  Well – Leslie – Tim is not a crafter and he needs to see things as they are.

I sent Tim this video through email…..

I am happy to say that I now have his full permission to proceed with these Poker Post-Its and the ideas are once again free flowing in my brain.  Mojo is BACK!

I’m off to my craft room to get working on the rest of them 😀

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 16:18:56

    So glad your mojo came home again – it is a pest when it goes walkabout 🙂
    Now that Tim has given the go ahead and you are both happy with the principle then you can crack on with these and then get onto something else Leslie. I hate outstanding orders especially when you have hit the buffers because they just prey on your mind and I can’t move past them until I have dealt with them 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 10, 2012 @ 08:29:45

      Man! When mojo leaves for a “walkabout” (that is a fantastic word :D) my whole world collapses….or it seems to anyway. It is good to have it back home. I’ll have all of the holders knocked out today!

      Thank you Lynn for your supportive and loving words 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. aspot2stamp
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 19:44:07

    For what its worth I think the one in the video is incredable. Wow 🙂 Love to see your crative thought process’ . I so enjoy seeing how others see their projects. I tend to get stuck in a rut and abandon the project for awhile and have to come back to it when my head is not so muddled. Happy to see things are back on track for you.

    Hugs,
    Shelly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 10, 2012 @ 08:31:41

      Thank you Shelly 😀 Girlfriend, you and I both are happy that things are back on track.

      Hope your visit to the clinic goes well today and your migraine will be leaving soon. Take care my friend.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. Pati Mishler
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 08:57:32

    Keep trying sis, i know you probably already have it all figured out what you are going to do and how, BUT, i found these few places to go online so you can see how others have done the popups. Hope these help, popups are so creative. How are you and Joe doing? All is fine here, just cold and windy.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 11, 2012 @ 07:25:27

      Thank you Sis. Sorry, I’ve been a bad sister 😦 Thanks for the links to Pop Up sites 🙂 I appreciate you scouring the web for me! Thank you for that 😀

      Joe and I are doing better, thanks. He’s finally over the “Cooties”, the mayhem in our lives has subsided, Joe has delivered two sets of trucks with no further incident :D, and it has been warm here until yesterday. Brrrr. It is cold, cold, cold today. In the low 20’s with wind chill factors in the minus numbers.

      Glad to know that you and Les are well. Stay warm. I will be sending you an email later today. Joe’s home for the day and we have a lot of running around to do so he can leave tomorrow to make his delivery to Grand Island, Nebraska.

      Late Sis – I love you

      Reply

  4. Pati Mishler
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 08:59:23

    Dadgum, i forgot to leave you the sites i found for you, OMGOSH!! here they are, robertsabuda.com Pop ups you can make.

    trickspro.com Dont know if they will help or not, but, oh well. Sorry, lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

