Recycling candy wrappers.

No, I have not lost my mind 😀  Wait, maybe I have!

As crafters we have a tendency to see things and wonder how they can be used in a crafting project.  My friend Lynn has used a decal from a disposable lighter.  Click on her name “Lynn” to go to the blog post she did some time back to see the decal used in a project.

I’ve had the Tootsie Rolls for a couple years.  I bought them to give out with my business builders for my Stampin’ Up! business.  I’ve finally just about gotten rid of all of the little candies.  The inside of the bag is silver and reflective.  Hmmmm….can’t throw that away.  I’ve got dies that can be used with this 😀

Candy bag

Candy bag

Inside candy bag

Inside candy bag

While Joe was home a couple weeks ago we went grocery shopping.  Out of no where a candy bar jumped into our cart and would not go back on the shelf 😀  Persistent little devil 😀  That Willy Wonka!

Okay, I bought it for the wrapper 😀  That sounds really good.  It’s a lie but I’m sticking with the wrapper thing 😀

Candy bar wrapper

Candy bar wrapper

Just look at the inside of this wrapper.  Butterflies, dragonflies, flowers, all sorts of ideas have sprung forth just from looking at this wrapper.  It reminds me of the “Fantasy Film” that Lynn shared with me a couple Christmases ago.  I’ll have to find that stuff again and use it also.

Inside candy wrapper

Inside candy wrapper

I’ll share with you what I’ve done with these things later.  Alcohol inks, dies, maybe a spin on the “Spin and Splash” machine.  Okay, I’m off to go play with these wrappers 😀

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 12:21:49

    Oh lovely wrappers Leslie, those will make beautiful additions to any craft project. Do you use tubes of tomato puree? The ones we have over here are golden inside and look fab embossed with an embossing folder and/or die cut. Has Joe got any aluminium tape anywhere? I bet he has. The tape I have has an adhesive on one side so I attach it to printer paper and then cut to size and put those in embossing folders and then ink up with alcohol inks – no one guesses it is aluminium tape bought from the hardware department 🙂

    Can’t wait to see what you come up with:)
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 09, 2012 @ 07:30:24

      Come to think of it, I think the only kind of tomato puree in tubes around here are small ketchup packets from burger joints. I remember you mentioned tomato tubes before, a couple years back. I have seen some cooking shows that use tomato puree from a squeeze tube – like toothpaste – but I don’t recall seeing them available in the grocery stores I frequent. I think I will have to stop down the canned food aisle and take a closer look…..seems to me I said the same thing to you back then and still have not done it 🙂

      I have aluminum tape. I saw a video by Tracy’s Treasures and had to run right out and buy some 🙂 Hey, that gives me an idea! Thanks Lynn.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

