Post 1 of 2 today. Fun with the girls.

Miss Katie and Miss Elora spent the day with me yesterday.  Katie loves to do crafting of all kinds.  Her Grandmother started her off with sewing by making a small purse.  Katie and her Grandmother would make a lot of things together.  Now that her Grandmother has passed on Katie has actual things, as well as memories, that keep her Grandmother alive in her heart and her mind.

Miss Elora is a ball of energy.  Getting her to sit still for any length of time is quite a feat.  So I was totally amazed at all she did yesterday in the way of crafting and art.  The three of us had a lot of fun together.

Elora, left.  Katie, right.

Elora, left. Katie, right.

Elora creating her masterpiece

Elora creating her masterpiece

Katie creating Valentine cards

Katie creating Valentine cards

Elora took this photo

Elora took this photo

Elora with one of her creations

Elora with one of her creations

Katie showing her approval of  her creation

Katie showing her approval of her creation

Elora drew inspiration from her final creation from the bag of Goldfish crackers they brought along as a snack.  An underwater adventure with the Goldfish 😀

Elora's underwater adventure

Elora's underwater adventure

Katie had to leave before her masterpiece was completed but she had a fantastic start to it.

Katie's landscape

Katie's landscape

It is so much fun for me to see the way their minds work and how it is expressed through their art.  Listening to the chatter as they create blesses my heart and puts a huge smile on my face.  These two girls were so focused on their creations that my Cuckoo Clock going off on the hour had both of them running fast to the clock to watch the little bird come out.  Most times they got there just at the last cuckoo and they were bummed.  The clock was the only thing that distracted them from their concentration and creating 😀

We did get out and go to the playground for about an hour.  The girls played on the equipment, we kicked a soccer ball that had been left by some other kids, and the girls climbed a tree.  It was a bit breezy and chilly but the fresh air did us all some good.  Back to my house for some hot chocolate and more creating.

Elora had enough of the crafting and was ready to be entertained by something else so I put in a DVD movie – “Robots”.  We watched the animated movie and had a great laugh.

The girl’s Mom left them with me around 8:30 a.m. and came to collect them a little after 2:00 p.m.  We had a great day together.  I have a big mess to clean up but it was total fun and well worth the mess.

Okay, on to the next post about a “Coloring Contest”.  Katie wanted to get in on the first contest I had about the essay to tell how you got into crafting.  Time and their busy lives got in the way of Katie entering that contest so I have created a new one.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Feb 05, 2012 @ 13:56:13

    Oh bless them both, it sounds as though you all had great fun – did it bring back memories for you Leslie of being with your girls? Or are you practising for being a grandma for when your grandchildren are older? 🙂
    They both have very creative minds – the underwater adventure is very inventive and Katie’s lovely picture is very artistic. It fascinates me to see children’s ideas and creativity come into play and watch how they develope.
    Not only a mess to lean up but I bet you were exhausted too 🙂 Wish we could bottle some of that energy that children have and take a sip now and again lol.

    Your home is becoming a real crafters den with all your visitors coming along to learn!

    Elora’s photo of you and Katie is great 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 07, 2012 @ 09:12:19

      Indeed, having the girls over brought back memories of my children when they were little 😀 By the end of the day I was ready for a nap 😀 I could sure use a shot of some of their energy 😀

      I really need to take a lesson from these two. Use what you’ve got! It was fun watching them play around with the markers, scissors, a heart punch, paper, and some glue. Very inventive those two girls are 😀

      I am enjoying having people, young and younger :D, to play with. Who would have ever thought that bits of paper would bring so much enjoyment?!

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. aspot2stamp
    Feb 05, 2012 @ 19:23:03

    A grand day for the three of you. I love their art work. I have piles and piles of art the kids have created for me nd I dont like to part with any of it 🙂 I need a bigger closet …… I read somewhere to photograph the art then keep it together and make yearly copies so you can always look at it. Should have known this sooner I would be months with my camera in hand 🙂 I second Lynn, the photo of Katie and you is beautiful ( you look very pretty and happy) You may be teaching a future paper crafting guru. Hope you are having a great day.

    Hugs and love,
    shelly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 07, 2012 @ 09:26:42

      The artwork of our kids are treasured. The biggest problem is what to do with it all 😀 Great idea of taking pictures of them to have forever. Photos take up so much less room than the originals. One person I knew, long ago, mailed off quite a bit of her children’s artwork to Grandparents. I thought that was an awesome idea.

      Thank you Shelly. Elora did a great job with the camera 😀 She may be a budding photographer since art work is not really something she totally enjoys. Their Mom calls it “Artsy Fartsy” and I have to laugh each time I hear her say it.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

