Die cuts, markers, and stencils in this week’s lesson.

Joe wheeled in Thursday night, actually Friday morning at 1:00 a.m.  We were late getting up and around yesterday.  Heather went to see her boys then she had a doctor appointment and it would be after 1 p.m. before she could come over.  Our bank called and we had to go talk with them so I had to put Heather off until later in the afternoon for her lesson.

Her assignment for had been to think of the things her boys did that made her laugh and/or she thought was just totally adorable.  She was to list the things the boys did and/or said.  Tommy being the oldest at nearly 2 was starting to talk and put sentences together.

Inspiration for Heather’s lesson came from a book I have had for a number of years.  Creating Keepsakes Scrapbook Solutions.

Creating Keepsakes - Scrapbook Solutions

Creating Keepsakes - Scrapbook Solutions

Heather was to think of a title for her pages and jot down her favorites on a note pad in a listed order.  These words or phrases would then be placed on tags similar to what is in the book I showed her for reference and to know what I was getting at.

Tags with words or phrases

Tags with words or phrases

While I cooked dinner and guided Heather through the steps of yesterday’s lesson this is what she did as we chatted, I cooked, and Heather learned how to use the Big Shot.

Using the Big Shot

Using the Big Shot

I showed Heather the “sandwich” of bottom plate, die, paper, and top plate.  I showed her how to seat the die under the roller then to crank it through.  I didn’t make the first cut.  I just showed her what to do and then took it all apart and had her do it herself while I watched.

My plates are very well used, old, and had developed a bow from use during my “Inventory” work out of the poor little machine 😀  Poor Heather, she thought she had “done gone and busted the thing” when the sandwich would not go under the roller to begin the cranking.

Cranking the die through

Cranking the die through

I showed Heather how my plates had bowed and got them adjusted to work properly and she was off and going.  When I told her last week we would be making “Paper Dolls” she was quiet for a bit then agreed.  I wonder what went through her head? 😀

Paper dolls

Paper dolls

I had Heather look through the papers she brought over to find small designs.  The die cut clothing would need to have the smaller designs because of their itsy bitsy sizes.  Heather did a fantastic job picking out her paper and doing the die cutting.

I placed the hair on the dolls head and marked it off then Heather colored the doll’s body.  I gave her a lot of “busy work” while I first showed her what to do then left her to it while I tended to my stove.

Coloring the doll's body

Coloring the doll's body

I had her put faux stitching around the clothing.

Faux stitching

Faux stitching

Garments detailed

Garments detailed

The fun part was getting these little guys “dressed” 😀 with faces and clothing.

All dressed up

All dressed up

Heather’s title to her page is “Things I love about my boyz”.  I gave her the option to use stickers for the title or a stencil.  I had her look through some of my stash of stickers (I totally forgot about my drawer of them) and a notebook I have with my letter stencils.  Heather chose a stencil to use.  I drew guidelines on the strips of paper for her to use the stencil on and let her go creating her title.

Heather using a stencil

Heather using a stencil

Stenciled title strip

Stenciled title strip

I had to give Heather the “Bums Rush” and send her home.  She is to finish coloring in the title strips.  She chose the colors black and red.  Black for the letters and red for the flourishes around the letters.  She is to attach the title strips to her pages, adhere the dolls, make her word strips, add a photo of each boy and then bring it back to me when she has completed it to show it off 😀

Start of the layout

Start of the layout

Heather is having a total blast with her crafting.  She has told me several times that she finds this relaxing.  Last night Heather told me she can’t wait to get home from work and go to her “Craft Table” to unwind from the day.  It makes me feel good that she is enjoying this process and expanding her world.

She completed another frame from the bounty of Maureen.  Heather’s oldest boy now has a special frame to display his photo.

Tommy in a hand made frame

Tommy in a hand made frame

I was honored by Heather with an early Birthday gift 😀  She made a card for me from her new stash.  I love it!!!

Card front

Card front

 

Inside of card

Inside of card

Back of card

Back of card

I appreciate the time I get to spend with Heather teaching her something that I love to do.  Being gifted with this card was a pleasant surprise.  I’m looking forward to Heather’s creation for this week’s layout lesson.  She will be making it, pretty much, all by herself.  I know she will do a great job, and I also know if she has any doubts or questions she will call or come by to get help.

I’m getting reacquainted with my tools, Heather is learning the easy way and not having to figure this out on her own, and I am blessed with her company and friendship.  What better way to spend time with a friend?

Have a great weekend everyone.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Feb 04, 2012 @ 14:33:08

    Heather is coming on marvellously with her scrapbooking and obviously enjoying herself hugely. You must be really pleased that your protegee is making such progress 🙂 Not only making a scrapbook but also card making as well, that is a lovely gift for you.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 05, 2012 @ 09:44:33

      Heather is doing fantastic and is taking to this with no fuss. She is going each step of the way in learning new things very well with no balking. I’m really excited for her and she is doing so good. She is having so much fun that she is sharing her new found joy and I’m happy to be a recipient of it 😀 This is totally fun.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. aspot2stamp
    Feb 04, 2012 @ 15:49:52

    Wow Heather is a natural. Love the pages you’ve been sharing along with the fact you’re helping her preserve those precious moments with her boys. That’s something thats priceless plus you get the added bonus of sharing your love of crafting and building the bonds of true friendship. Makes me happy for the both of you. Maureens generous gift has shown her that there are peple that care for her.
    I know I loved introducing Melissa yo cardmaking.

    Can’t wait to see whats next.

    love,
    Shelly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 05, 2012 @ 09:47:29

      Thank you Shelly 😀 This is so much fun for the both of us. Heather is taking to this so well and is exploring her new world and sharing it with others. Makes me proud to have “lured” her in 😀 So you know what this is all about, having guided Melissa into card making and sharing the time together in a common goal. Bonding with your Daughter-In-Law is a fantastic thing.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

