A Dragonfly card

Well, it is Friday.  This week has gone fast and it has had a plethora of problems that have required my full attention.

Joe had another incident with the front bumper of his back truck,

Another torn bumper

Another torn bumper

high winds blew our new shingles to flapping in the breeze.  Lifting up like they were in a stadium doing the “Wave”.  That was the week before but this week it got even worse.

Flapping shingles

Flapping shingles

The contractor was back to have a good look at the job he had hired others to do and has diagnosed the shingles were old and their sticky patches were no longer sticky.

Our old pickup truck that was taken to Colorado for our daughter is acting up and leaving her stranded frequently enough that Tiffany has found the most direct route to where she needs to go but off the major traffic ways.

And if all this wasn’t nerve wracking enough we have our bank doing some investigating.  Someone hacked into our accounts and totally emptied one of them.  They suspect it was either from an online purchase one of us made or from one of those darn machines you have to sign at the check out when using a card.

Okay, enough of the troubles that will all be righted in the coming weeks.  On to my card.

Dragonfly card

Dragonfly card

The card base is a 5-1/2 x 4-1/4 Brocade Blue (or something like that from Stampin’ Up!

I rummaged through my scraps to find the rest of the pieces used on this card.

Scrap papers

Scrap papers

I chose the blue double sided printed paper from Stampin’ Up!.  It was one of their pads I bought last year – 12 x 12 in the various color lines they had.

Blue DSP (Designer Series Paper)

Blue DSP (Designer Series Paper)

These were used as the front pieces.  The stripe is 1″ x 5-1/4″ and the other is about 3-1/2″ x 5-1/4″.

I used a Splitcoast Stamper sketch as my inspiration.

Splitcoast Stamper sketch

Splitcoast Stamper sketch

I also drew from the book I have from Becky Higgins on making your own embellishments for scrapbook layouts.  I saw the Dragonfly paper pieced one and remember from my inventory work I had three of them I could use.

Becky Higgins inspiration

Becky Higgins inspiration

I used a small punch, a Sizzix green die, and a Spellbinders impression die.

Punch, Sizzix, and Spellbinders

Punch, Sizzix, and Spellbinders

More scraps pieces were used for these punch and dies.

More scraps

More scraps

The little guy from the punch I used the brown area of one of the scraps….the thin long strip of paper.  The Spellbinders Dragonfly I used the green paper in the forefront.  I used the polka dot vellum and the green mini polka dot paper for the medium size Dragonfly from the Sizzix green die.

Small Dragonfly

Small Dragonfly

Medium Dragonfly

Medium Dragonfly

Large Dragonfly

Large Dragonfly

I’m not over the moon with this creation but I’m pretty happy with how it came out.  The stamp set is an old “Sale-A-Bration” set from Stampin’ Up! “Whimsical Words”.   The Splitcoast sketch indicated a ribbon bow was to be put to the bottom left of the stamped image area.  I wanted to use the Dragonflies instead.

I did get one thing totally accomplished this week.  The card.

Life has a way of getting in and taking the stage from time to time in everyone’s life.  I chose to deal with the problems we’ve been plagued with head on as much as possible.  When the sun goes down I have found myself watching Makeup Tutorial videos or playing online games until past midnight.

Between telephone calls, running around town to talk to various people who are helping, and getting my mind otherwise occupied with Heather and her creativity blossoming which is so exciting, working on Tim’s things, and keeping Joe in the loop has kept my sanity in check.

Oh, ya.  I forgot.  Joe blew out both front tires on our pickup as he was traveling to his next load.  He sat beside the road for over six hours waiting for the road service truck to come, then leave with the tire rims, then come back with the new tires mounted on our rims.  Joe stopped the guy from tearing up our rims and damaging them while he was trying to take the rubber off, hence having to wait.

I have a website class today, Heather will be over for more fun.  Do you remember my little friend Katy?

Katy

Katy

She and her family moved away during the summer while I was out on my “Day Job”.  She stopped by, with her Mom and her sister, to sell Girl Scout cookies last week.  Katy wanted to take part in the contest to tell her story of how she got into crafting but was unable to.  She and her sister, Elora, will be spending time with me on Saturday.

In honor of Katy I will put up another challenge for next week.  A “Coloring” challenge that will run through the month of February.  Katy is very excited to show me her Fairy she will color for this challenge.

Life’s problems are just that.  Bumps in the road.  My life is totally blessed with the people who enter, stay a while, leave, then come back.  Daily I am filled with gratitude for each and every one of you all, my friends who keep me focused on what is really important in this life.  Being grateful for everything, even the problems that arise.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Feb 04, 2012 @ 14:29:02

    Sorry to hear that you and Joe have had problems Leslie. What a bummer with the mechanical problems and the shingle problems but the bank problem is awful. We had a similar thing happen to us with our bank account – I had bought something from an online craft store and an employee used the card details to access our bank account plus many others. Luckily our bank didn’t release any money as it suspected it was a scam but they did telephone and ask. I spoke to the fraud department and they went through recent purchases to double check when we had last used the card and for what purpose/amount. Then they issued us with a new card and we were back in business with no money stolen.

    Do your supermarkets not have machines where you put in your card and you punch in a pin number? No signatures required any more except on the very rare occasions when the machines don’t work properly.

    Love the card – missed the embossed panel bit 🙂 Dragonflies are a favourite crittur of ours – there is a pond close by and we have watched the larva crawl out of the water and up a reed stem, split the ‘coat and out climbs a dragonfly who sits there quietly pumping up its wings and trying out its flight muscles and then off whirring around the pond. They are frequent visitors to our garden.
    So I loved your differently coloured and sized dragonflies and that paper is a beautiful shade of blue and edged with brown ink. I’m glad you didn’t put a bow on it as I don’t think it would have suited this card. How do you manage to get your layers so equal on the sentiment panel? Mine are never straight!! So I start trimming and it all gets smaller and smaller and smaller until I have to start again 🙂

    What a lovely visitor you had, so Katy is still doing her craft work? Glad she is going to join in the next challenge.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 05, 2012 @ 09:41:43

      The only embossing I did on the Dragonfly card was on the biggest Dragonfly. The Spellbinders die thing had all the anatomical parts sectioned off. I think it is cool you have a pond to watch the life cycle of the Dragonfly. They are so pretty and delicate to watch.

      Thank you for your comment on the matting of the sentiment panel. I use my clear ruler and add 1/4 inch to the width and height of the image for the first mat then 1/4 inch to the first mat to get the size for the second mat. I have no idea what 1/4 inch would translate to in metric…. 0.635 centimeters?

      As to our recent excitement. It is said that all things come in 3’s so I guess we are already up on the next round?! Our bank is working with us on what had happened. What we actually purchased and what came out of the wood work. All bumps in the road to happiness 😀 Good grief! I’m sorry to hear that you went through this before. After the shock then it is get into the mode of damage control. Crapazoid!

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. aspot2stamp
    Feb 05, 2012 @ 17:08:55

    Wow You always hear of crazy stuff like this happening. Sorry that some terrible person decided to target you guys 😦 I can so relate to the roof woes. Thats one thing thats on our list to do Brian thinks it needs it being 16 years we’ve been here and the only thing that hasent blown off at one time ot another has been the shingles. We’ve had the siding blown off and the skirting on a few occasions. The wind hits us just the right way I guess ?? Any way nothing like that the past several years and that is a good thing. Love you dragonflies. I feel inspired to make one myself and I have some free time today so I may get one done today. Love the heart cards from your little crafter. I feel so behind on reading the blog posts I’ve been with my head in the clouds lately.

    Big hugs,
    Shelly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 07, 2012 @ 09:22:02

      Wowzers! 16 years in your home! I’m so glad the mobile homes of today are not like they were long ago. You’ve got a great roof if you have not had problems! That is totally awesome.

      The Dragonflies were fun to mess about with. I really have to do more of it. I have a project I’m thinking of working on. It is in the planning stages right now. If I can get the time and mojo that is 😀 Be sure to post a photo of your Dragonfly on your blog when you get it done 😀

      Thank you Shelly for your sweet comments. The girls had fun while they were here and I had a good time with them. Hope you are feeling well.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

