Heather got “Punchy” :D

I received the big box of goodies from Maureen on Friday afternoon while Heather was at work.  Heather also had to work on Saturday so she came by last night to see what had been sent to her.

I have video of the box which will be downloaded to my iMovie thing later then edited.  My camera’s battery died shortly after Heather opened the box and began digging through it but you can see the generosity of Maureen.

Appropriately for the scrapbook lesson for Heather was the use of punches.  She now has some of her own, thanks to Maureen.  Also the next product I was intending on introducing Heather to was Rub-Ons and Maureen met that as well.

Do you remember the first time you used a border punch?  I do.  Trying to make sure you get the piece of paper jammed in the punch base straight before you mashed on the handle and worked extra hard at not wiggling the paper and getting wonky cuts.  Then moving that strip of paper along the punch to get a good border.  Man did I mess up several times.  Over cut on some places and missed entirely in others leaving a gap between the punched areas.

I had Heather practice on scraps of paper first before we tackled her pages.  Fun?!  You bet!  She was so excited to see the results.  Tools are so much fun to use 😀

Using her new punches

Using her new punches

The Rub-Ons were a bit tricky to explain.  How do you tell someone that the Popsicle stick is necessary without them laughing their heads off at you?

Do you remember the first time you used Rub-Ons?  I didn’t cut the pieces I wanted to use from the strip and had bits of adjoining images on my paper.  I didn’t rub the vellum hard enough in places, for fear of tearing through, so when I lifted the vellum I found open spots on my paper with parts of the image left on the vellum.  Have you tried to line that piece back up?

Heather had mixed feelings about the stick and wanted to use her fingernails. I remember thinking the same thing.  I just watched and encouraged as she worked away.

Rub-Ons as embellishments

Rub-Ons as embellishments

I opted to not use photo mats on this layout because the photos were already taking up a lot of “real estate”.  These boys are just so very cute.

This project with Heather is my way of giving back.  Reaching out to a soul going through a difficult time.  Heather’s little boys are in foster care.  No fault of Heather’s, just a really bad family situation that Heather wanted to get out of and the family had other ideas.

She sees these precious little guys on Friday mornings.  DHS is working hard at getting her reunited with her boys.  While she goes through this bit of trouble I am making it a priority for her to remember this time as only a moment in her life.  This is not forever.  While she has the time with her boys she can make it special and have something to cling to while she is getting through this.

Her assignment last week was to get down at her boy’s eye level to take photos of them.  I think she did an excellent job.  She is beginning to open up and be a bit more playful in this process.  Learning about scrapbooking and the importance of having an outlet that is not totally dictated by someone else.  I guide her, make suggestions, but she is free to make this book her own.

This week's lesson, punches and Rub-Ons

This week's lesson, punches and Rub-Ons

Heather called me today to see if I wanted to look at what she had done.  Of course!  Get over here 😀

She spent time going through the box from Maureen after she went home yesterday.  She added bits of items to her recent pages.

"Love" Thickers Rub-On

"Love" Thickers Rub-On

"Son" card stock sticker

"Son" card stock sticker

"Brother" card stock sticker

"Brother" card stock sticker

Heather's additions

Heather's additions

Heather was also pretty excited to show me how she used a frame thing she received from Maureen.  There were three of them in the box and this is the first one she made.  Am I proud of her or what?!

A picture frame Heather made

A picture frame Heather made

She wanted to make sure I got a picture of the back as well 😀

Back of the frame

Back of the frame

Maureen.  Your gift to this  young lady has made a huge difference in her life.  You being a stranger but my Friend, your generosity of giving from your stash has opened a world to her that we both get to be a part of.  Thank you Maureen.

You will be receiving a card I made last year with a letter from Heather enclosed.  You will also receive this card she made that comes from her heart.  I know this will put a smile on your face.  It sure as heck did mine!

From Heather

From Heather

Yep.  This says it all 😀  I could not say it any better.

From Heather's  heart

From Heather's heart

Okay, I’m bawling all over again.  I’ll get the video up in the next couple days.  I have some tutorials on things I’ve found out about Spellbinders and the Big Shot, plus I want to make sure you get a glimpse of the gift from Maureen.

Yes, Girlfriend.  You want to kill me about now because I’ve mentioned your name numerous times in this post but I am blown away by your generosity and your loving spirit and heart – everyday not just today.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tina kuhlmann
    Jan 31, 2012 @ 02:00:26

    leslie and maureen you are both very special ladies!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 31, 2012 @ 20:17:26

      Thank you Tina 🙂 I have to tell you, the crafting community is full of awesome people. I get to rub elbows with the finest people around 😀 Thank you for leaving a comment on my blog. I look forward to seeing you again.
      Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Jan 31, 2012 @ 18:15:51

    Amen to that sentiment!
    I think just seeing what Heather is doing with all the luscious goodies Maureen sent is thanks enough. It’s good that Heather is finding out there are some good and kind souls in her world just now.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 31, 2012 @ 20:18:52

      Yes, indeed, it is good for Heather to know there are other people out in the big bad world that still have a heart and a soul. Hard lesson for me to learn throughout my life but I’m thankful I finally did learn it 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

