Update: Punch, die, embossing folder Challenge

I don’t know what you guys have in your tool stash.  I have cheated.  This card challenge is from Splitcoast Stampers from a long, long time ago.

Joe got home at 3:00 a.m. yesterday morning and I stayed up waiting for him.  Having risen at 5:00 a.m. Tuesday morning then staying up just 2 hours short of 24 this old broad was not in any kind of shape to do much of anything.  Yesterday was a lost day.

Your challenge is this:

  1. Use at least three paper colors.  The largest will be for the #1 spot on the SC11 example.  It is shown below these instructions.
  2. The main image area (noted as #1) will be an EMBOSSED background.  Use one of your embossing folders
  3. The sentiment area (“DAD” in example) you can use coordinating papers for mats if you choose.
  4. Use PUNCHES or DIES in the sentiment.  For example, a Stampin’ Up! Top Note die filled with lovely stuff 😀 along with your sentiment.  Or a Scallop Oval punch with your sentiment inside.  You know what you have.
  5. To the right of the card (noted as #2) use a coordinating piece of paper, either design or plain.
  6. At the intersection of the two pieces of paper (#1 and #2) cover with a ribbon.  Bow is not essential.  If you choose to put a bow that is fine 😀
  7. Use your PUNCHES to make the three embellished items (noted as #3-A, 3-B, and 3-C) on the right hand side.  These don’t need to be circles.  They can be whatever you want.
  8. Stamp images to go in the three punched areas on the right.  Flowers or other embellishments would be great in your punched pieces, too.
  9. You are free to use whatever product you wish.  Heat emboss, distress inks, crackle glazes, whatever you want to use.
  10. Most important item in this list.  HAVE FUN 😀
Punch, die, and embossing folder challenge

Punch, die, and embossing folder challenge

Once you have created your masterpiece 😀 upload it to your blog with details of what you used and did.  Linda – since you are a total whiz with your computer go ahead and upload your card to your IP address thing as you did before.  Awesome bit of techy know how 😀

After you’ve uploaded to your blog leave a link in the comments section of this post so we can all enjoy your beautiful creations :D.  I will be posting my card creation here also.  I’ll try to get it done on Saturday after I get Joe sorted with his trucks tomorrow.

One other thing.  I have some prizes which I still have to photograph and post, which I will be doing later today.  Tonight I’ll post those to be put up automatically tomorrow while I’m otherwise occupied 😀

Ready?  Set?  Create!  or as my friend across the pond would say.   Ready?  Steady?  Create! 😀

 

UPDATE:

Dang, I can’t even follow my own directions 🙂  Okay, anyway here is the card I made this afternoon.

My card for the challenge

My card for the challenge

Ingredients:

  • Whisper White card stock – 5-1/2 x 8-1/2 scored at 4-1/4
  • Chocolate Chip card stock – 4 x 4
  • Close To Cocoa – 1-1/4 x 4
  • Whisper White card stock – 3-3/4 x 3-3/4
  • QuicKutz Embossing Folder – Stripes Label
  • Chocolate Chip card stock – 3-3/8 x 2-3/8
  • SU Paper Pack – Subtles cut to fit around embossed Thank You
  • Ellison’s Easy Emboss – Thank You
  • SU – Old Olive Classic Ink smeared to  highlight the Thank You
  • Unknown Source 1/4″ Cream Satin Ribbon cut to 4″
  • 4″ Crystal beaded strand – Hobby Lobby
  • 1/4″ Terrifically Tacky Tape to adhere satin ribbon
  • Beacon’s 3-in-1 Craft Glue to adhere crystal beaded strand
  • Recollections Foam Squares to mount Thank You to QuiKutz embossed piece
  • Chocolate Chip card stock – 15/16″
  • McGill Craftivity punch – 15/16″
  • SU Paper Pack 3/4″ x 3/4″
  • Emagination 3/4″ punch

I think I’ve included everything.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 16:38:01

    Okay we’ll give that one a go and see what we can come up with! By the way do you have gilding flakes? Just an idea I have for a card challenge. If not, not to worry I can adjust lol

    Like the card and love the way you have highlighted the embossed words with ink. Love those pearls too.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 26, 2012 @ 18:41:57

      I’m not sure what “Gilding Flakes” are. My local Hobby Lobby has small bags of gold foil pieces. Well, the bags come with bits of gold, brass, copper, and I don’t know what other color is in it. You have to purchase a separate bottle of fixative for this stuff. I’m game for a challenge to use something totally new….to me anyway.

      Thank you, Lynn for your sweet comment on my card. Turned out better than I thought it would. One of those times when I repeated several times “What the heck were you thinkin’!!?” 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 16:23:52

    Those foil pieces sound similar to gilding flakes and for my challenge you don’t need fixative but you do need sheets of double sided adhesive similar to this http://www.thecraftbarn.co.uk/section.php/235/1/double-sided-adhesive-sheets
    or something along these lines. My gilding flakes came from using sheets of gold and varigated leafing sheets and I collected up the bits to save for another project. Leafing sheets (try googling gold leaf for crafting) usually do need a special adhesive called sizing. Although I have used pva adhesive…allow to become tacky before applying gold leaf. These leafing sheets are very flimsy and tear very easily but that doesn’t matter too much.

    A the moment I have several projects on the go so my desk is covered in part painted butterflies..used Twinkling H2Os on them; a part painted metal teapot that I almost threw away and a wood ‘book’ that I am also in the process of ‘altering’!

    How is the CSS studying going? Hope you master it cos I never did LOL Understood the concept but just couldn’t figure it out hence why I only created a very basic website 🙂 There wasn’t much in the brain department being handed out when I was being created 🙂 And it has gone downhill ever since LOL

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

  3. aspot2stamp
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 22:55:45

    Well here goes 🙂 This is my entry for the card challenge. Your card is really pretty. Hope you are doing well. we are passing around a cold here but all is still good. Thanks for the prompt to use the challengs and layouts sure did help with my mojo. Take care.
    Hugs and Love ,
    Shelly

    http://aspot2stamp.wordpress.com/2012/01/30/leslies-card-challenge-upload/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

