Cropping Photos Lesson

Heather came over with her boys photographs so we could finish her pages from last week.

Heather came over with photos

Heather came over with photos

She had hit a few garage sales and found a great bundle of ribbon, and the box with a photo frame to use as her “Crop Stash”.  She learned how to cut and burn the ribbon ends to keep them from fraying and how to install brads for layout embellishments.

I find it very hard to control myself in these lessons and keep them easy bite chunks instead of an overwhelming buffet 😀

Her pages are beginning to take shape and I’m proud of Heather 😀

Photos added to layout

Photos added to layout

Adding brads to ribbon

Adding brads to ribbon

Sorry about the blurry picture.  It was a last minute thing and I wanted to get a photo of the cropping process before we had the photos all chopped up.

Cropping photos

Cropping photos

I have to admit, I had a bit of trouble cutting her photos.  They are HER photos and not mine so I had to ease into this.  First I showed her what they would look like after the cropping.  To demonstrate what I was teaching her I covered the areas to be cut away with scraps of card stock.  Leaving a “frame” around the part of the photo I thought she would keep.

Once she got the concept then I cut one photo to show her what it would look like cropped.

Cropping the photo

Cropping the photo

After seeing what I had done Heather gave it a try.  It is hard to cut up photos, in the beginning, for anyone.

Heather cropping her photos

Heather cropping her photos

Once the cropping was finished those adorable boys were more the focus of the photos.  Just the way they are meant to be 😀

Cropping finished

Cropping finished

Next was to get the photos mounted on mats to really make them pop out.  I had Heather measure the width and height of each photo.  After writing the measurements down she then would calculate for the size of the mats to cut.  I was scratching my head a time or two trying to figure this Math stuff out 😀

Measuring for mats

Measuring for mats

Next was to attach the photo in the right place.  I taught her how to do this using my clear grid ruler.  Makes the fussing so much easier.  No wonky and crooked mounts as I have done so many times over.  Teach her the right way and she won’t go the wrong way 😀

Attaching the photo to the mat

Attaching the photo to the mat

Mounting to second mat layer

Mounting to second mat layer

Does that little boy have blue eyes or what?!  He’s so cute 😀

Double matted photo

Double matted photo

I “fussy” cut around some of the toys that were cropped out of the photos.  These were added to the layouts.  Heather used some of my mass of letter stickers to give the pages a title.  Placing the stickers in a wavy sort of way adds to the playfulness of this scene.

Heather has done an excellent job in creating her scrapbook 😀  The ideas are now popping around in her head.

Finished two page layout

Finished two page layout

Next week we are going on a “field trip” to Big Lots.  I’m trying to ease Heather into this.  I had the internet and television programs to egg me on to buying tons of stuff.  No one to rein me in.  I’m not going to let Heather go through that.  Frustrating and overwhelming that is!!

After our field trip we are going to spend some more time getting a few more pages done.  I have given her an assignment for this week.  Get down on the floor with her little guys and take photos of them from down at their level.

My CSS web site programming class has begun and I’m doing okay…..so far.  Time will only tell what the end result will be come the middle of February.  Joe is back out on the road and feeling better and I’ve got myself a bit overwhelmed.  This week my  mission is to get myself lined out and make a priority list and work from that.  Tim’s Poker Post-Its are the major priority right now.

See you all tomorrow 😀

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 17:24:08

    Those are two beautiful boys and the eldest lad certainly does have blue eyes…he reminds me of our grandson Joe, a blond haired, blue eyed boy:)
    Heather has done a great job on the layouts but then she does have a great teacher 🙂

    Thank you very much for my ribbon, stickers and buttons..they arrived this morning (23rd) which I thought was pretty good going.

    I haven’t forgotten the writing contest – I have done a good 50% of it and will try and get it finished tomorrow but have grandchildren here and not sure what time the youngest is going home! Darren’s grandmother is very ill in hospital, she is undergoing treatment for throat cancer and the tumour is shrinking but she hasn’t been looking after herself very well and on top of this one of her sons is retarded and a diabetic who has to inject himself with insulin twice daily but he can’t tell the time and he can’t prepare his injections so Darren’s mum, Tina, has been going every day to visit her mum in hospital and sort out her brother. The stress and worry of the situation has caused her face to swell and has affected her eyes so Jill is offering to chaffeur Tina hence we are having Dylan!! Hopefully Tina’s mum will be able to leave hospital soon and may be going to live with the other son.

    So glad to hear that Joe is much improved healthwise.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 24, 2012 @ 12:17:11

      I’m so glad you got your goodies 😀 I haven’t heard from Linda yet. I hope her stamp set arrived in good shape.

      I have a little incentive for you :D. It seems you are the only one that will be partaking of the “Essay”. I have a Stampin’ Up! stamp set I have not used. I have the images attached to the backs of the stamps but no ink on the front 😀

      You can see the stamp set at this video. Notice the teeny tiny OWL? I’m not going to use this set and it needs a good home 😀 Since you have been doing “Birdies” lately I thought this would be a better “Prize” for you 😀

      I’m so sorry to hear of your Darren’s grandmother and her fight with cancer. Bless her heart 😦 Poor woman, needing to care for her health while she worries about her son at home and unable to cope with his own illness. You have a very good family, with lots of love and caring for one another. Seems that everyone has pitched in at this time to lighten the poor woman’s load. I will keep you all in my thoughts and prayers.

      You take care of yourself, my Friend.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

      • gardenpinks
        Jan 24, 2012 @ 13:28:11

        Oh Leslie that is kind of you.. a little owl 🙂 Thank you. I am sorry that no one else is taking part in this contest, that is sad as it would have been very interesting to read others stories.

        Love and hugs
        Lynn xx

      • Message In A Fold
        Jan 26, 2012 @ 08:03:50

        I know, maybe another time I can be a Nosy Parker once again 😀 Love, love, love your essay. I’m heading over to your blog to read it once again and leave a comment.

        Love you – Leslie

  2. charmingliltrinkets
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 03:40:12

    This is amazingly helpful. I’m not a big scrapbooker, but I do make cards and I am forever getting wonky lines because I can’t line stuff up right. I gotta get me one of those awesome rulers!

    Reply

  3. charmingliltrinkets
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 05:52:02

    Awesome, now I know what to look out for next time I’m at the craft store! =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

