Copyright Infringements and sharing your creativity.

I’m not an activist.  I am not willing to tie myself to a tree for days and days.  Nor am I willing to find a spot of grass to stand, sit, sleep on for days on end.

I’ve grown quite comfortable with all of the things created for my comfort.  A toilet, a shower, a comfy chair, and clean clothes.  The ability to move about freely if I get bored and need a change of scenery.  Plus all the noise of other protestors surrounding me would set my nerves on fire and I’d be jailed for life because of mass murder just to shut them up.

When I opened my Internet connection today I found a black bar over the Google name on my home page.  “What the heck?!”  I had to find out why the black bar was there.

Censorship of the Internet is what this is all about.  Our Government, in all their infinite wisdom (laughable), has decided that it is high time to crack down on us for Piracy.  The ease with which we can download music, videos, movies, and art without paying a single penny is what this is all about.

At first I thought this would be a good thing.  Our society has become a society of “Entitlement”.  Everyone seems to think they are entitled to everything available at no cost to the individual.  Because they, the individual, exists and breathes air means they are ENTITLED to have their every whim or wish realized with no effort on their part.  This drives me crazy.

Okay, so all the hubbub is just some scare tactic meant to make us follow a group like cattle or sheep being herded into the slaughter house.  I consider myself an individual and I don’t follow the main stream and I keep myself out of the fray.  I don’t download music except from iTunes and I pay for each download.  I watch TV shows and videos from the television network websites that have them open to everyone for free.  So this Censorship of the Internet is not something I should worry about.

Not true.

This mess is about COPYRIGHT.  All copyrighted material will be CENSORED.  A jail sentence of a minimum of 5 years in prison is the penalty for infringing on the Copyrights.

How does this effect me, and you?  The paper crafter?  The large group of people that love everyone (almost) and bring a bit of joy to the hearts of many with the handmade creations we spend hours making.

If the Senate and House bills pass and become LAW this is what can happen to us.

No more YouTube videos will be uploaded to show off how we create cards using the stamps, tools, and products from the following companies.

  • Stampin’ Up! – all of their stamp images are Copyrighted
  • Copic Markers – all of their markers are Copyrighted and Patented
  • Tim Holtz and Ranger Industries – all of their products are Copyrighted and Patented
  • Hero Arts – all of their stamp images are Copyrighted
  • Graphic 45 – all of their images on paper are Copyrighted
  • Cricut – all of their machines are Copyrighted and Patented

This is just a few of the long, long list of companies we purchase product from to create our cards, gifts, mini albums, scrapbook albums, and altered pieces.

After these bills in the House and Senate get passed there will no longer be YouTube videos or blog entries allowed to make tutorials using these products to showcase our work and teach others how to make their own wonderful creations.

How much money do we spend yearly on these products?  For me, and I am frugal, it is about $1,000 a year.  Some years I go a bit crazy and purchase more than that.  We, as crafters, keep these businesses and corporations going because of the enormous purchasing power we have as crafts people.

Although the current Legislation is to stop the Piracy of music, movies, and videos that is rampant.  This Legislation can, and will, be centered around one word – COPYRIGHT.  Anything that is Copyrighted will be lumped into these laws.

It won’t take long before this Legislation morphs into something worse and we can’t stop it.  Just imagine the little old lady who lives at the end of your street.  You love her because she makes and gives out cards to everyone for any occasion.  You peek out your window, or are headed to work and you see the SWAT team busting down her door (a little bit of exaggeration here) and handcuffing her frail arms behind her back.  Simply because she uploaded a video to YouTube sharing her most recent card creation using a Copyrighted stamp set or mentioned Copic, or Tim Holtz, or Hero Arts in her video without explicit written permission from said companies.

Watch this video.  If you feel as I do sign the petition.  You are free to not sign it either.

PIPA and SOPA Legislation.

You can also read more in depth information from this site – CheezBurger

Okay, my Rant is done.  I’ll stop here and control myself from expounding on the US working its way into a Communist Society.

Leslie

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 10:29:35

    Passion can be a good thing! Mom says she just wants to make sure that she lives long enough to vote AGAINST Obama! I tell her it’s good to have a goal; I’ll just have to find another democrat up for re-election after Obama so she can set a new goal once she reaches THAT one!

    Reply

  2. Maureen Mathis
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 10:32:26

    Maybe the UPSIDE to this legislation would be that we could get COMPENSATED for all the free advertising we crafters do with all these crafty videos showing copyrighted product…..I say AMEN to THAT, sister!

    Reply

  3. gardenpinks
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 13:26:36

    Hopefully they will be people in power with more commonsense over there but I’m not willing to put money on it! I am always amazed at the constant cry (and Obama has certainly made it his pass word) of Democracy in the USA but from the various things we hear and see via the radio news programmes the people of USA have less democracy than some lesser countries because your governments are far too manipulative and there seems to us to be too many non thinking US citizens who believe all the rubbish that spouts forth from those in power.
    Sadly there are evolving ‘non thinking, let’s follow the masses’ people in this country – those who think the government and those in authority should solve all the ills. Not enough cynicism these days and too much brain washing going on 🙂

    I understand the problem of infringing copyright; someone has come up with a good invention, written a book, written music or lyrics..that someone has sweated and worked hard to come up with whatever so how dare someone else get that for nothing. Crafting wise it will be up to the various companies to declare their Angel Policies …one person buys the goods to make cards, etc for another person or even to sell however that first person cannot stamp off sheets of images to sell on ebay or any where else. That already exists with many companies and it is right. By making videos using those goods is free advertising and free promotion for that company so I can’t see how that would infringe copyright. These craft companies need to spell this out concisely and clearly and defeat the idiots who are proposing those bills. Someone (in power) hasn’t properly thought this through!
    I know several crafters who have made craft CDs; these CDs are full of images for use in card making and they are quite happy for people who have bought those CDs to make items and sell those items; they are happy for Youtube videos to be made on the uses of those same images by a person who has purchased the CD however what they wil not tolerate is a person printing off sheets and sheets of those images to sell nor selling copies of the CDs–that is copyright infringement.

    Oh heck I have written a ruddy essay – sorry about that 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 23, 2012 @ 13:35:43

      The upshot of all this internet mess was one man who heads the Motion Picture Industry thought they had a slam dunk in getting the legislation passed. He was totally blown away by the results from the campaign to stop the legislation.

      I totally agree with you about someone using their own skills, knowledge, blood, sweat, and tears to create something then have it copied and pasted all over the place without giving credit where it is due or payment. I don’t know much about the “Angel Policies” that companies have. I know Stampin’ Up! used to have one but they have clamped down on who and what is considered to be in their Angel Policy. I think now it is no longer within the rules to use brands of paper other than Stampin’ Up!, nor embellishment products.

      There used to be a lot of Stampin’ Up! videos of people using the stamp sets while focusing on other papers and embellishments in their creations. I think that is a total “No No” now. I don’t have any idea about Tim Holtz or Hero Arts, now any other business that sells rubber or clear stamps.

      The mess our country is in over here is becoming crazy. Seems every where I turn there are people saying “The Government needs to step in on ______” and you can fill in the blank. No more people being personally responsible. We need a massive shake up before we go the way of the Roman Empire, or Sodom and Gomorrah. There are times I feel we are not very far from Sodom and Gomorrah right here in the US. All the looneys are loose.

      Okay, off my soap box. Just it was really great to see that these pieces of legislation have been tabled, if not quashed, for now.

      Thanks for your “Essay” 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  4. gardenpinks
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 14:30:15

    Have found this video tutorial to make waermarks in PhotoShop Elements 9 – not sure which flavour of PSE you have but wouldn’t have thought there was that much difference http://ilinacrouse.blogspot.com/2011/02/creating-watermarks.html

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 23, 2012 @ 13:19:09

      Thank you Lynn. That looked pretty easy to do. I guess I’ll have to fiddle with it for a while to see if I can do it.

      I do appreciate you sending me the link.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

