Cooties update and some pins.

Before I get into today’s blabbing I do need to let Linda and Lynn know that their items are going in the mail today.  With Joe being sick I didn’t want to leave him alone, and yesterday being a Holiday (Martin Luther King Day) the post office was not open.  I will be going today to mail out your items.

So on to the blabbing.

Thank you all for asking after Joe.  Today is the first day he has got out of bed without being dizzy, sick at his stomach, puffing greatly from the exertion, and his skin color has gotten better as the days pass.  He was ghostly white for a while, then an odd shade of gray.  He’s pinking up now, no longer complaining about being cold then getting totally winded after walking a few feet to the thermostat to cook me out by cranking up the heat.  He then gets the “Rising Damp” (sweating) and calls me to turn the heat down.

He got outside yesterday for a while.  Our neighbor needed a ride to the auto parts store and Joe said he would take him.  When he got back from the errand he had energy for about 15 minutes longer before he spent the next few hours napping in his recliner.

Joe is shooting for heading to Dallas, with me tagging along, to get his trucks hooked up.  He’ll come by home for the night then head out to Akron.  Today will be the test of how good he is feeling.  The thought of him hooking up all by himself while he is feeling puny is not something I’m advocating he do.  It is going to be bad enough on his stamina getting in and out of the trucks during the drive to Akron.

So if he continues to feel energetic and not so weak I will go with him to Dallas and mother hen him until he complains.  He’ll have the time to gather strength on the way there so…hopefully….when he arrives he can get unhooked without falling down from exhaustion.

While I’m waiting to hear from Tim on the Poker Post-Its I’m dabbling in things.  Not getting too involved in glue or other substances that need total attention just in case Joe calls me from another room in desperate need of my help.

Our daughter, Tiffany, has requested I make her a scrapbook for here Funeral Home and grave marker photos.  I’m making slow progress on it.  I now have four pages completed for her.  One of them I did in August and the other page I worked on yesterday.

Working on Tiffany's album

Working on Tiffany's album

I’m using DCWV’s Street Lace papers for Tiffany’s album.  I’ve left the right hand page with open space so she can add photos haphazardly in the background.  I’ve made a pocket from a strip of the Street Lace border paper.  Adding beads to the row of flowers at the bottom.  While I had my bead drawer out yesterday I made some pins and tucked one under some flowers I made on one of the two tags.

Tag page

Tag page

Last year, while out driving for my Day Job, we were at a truck stop.  I found a bunch of necklaces that I liked the colors of.

Bright orange necklace

Bright orange necklace

Making several pins from just one of the strands of the necklace was interesting.  The silver and black “Bead Spacers” are from one of my small collections.  I used one of the bead spacers to make the “Space Ship?” Domino.  I  nestled it in a brass colored ring.  I thought these were jump rings but they are miniature key rings.

Stick pins drying

Stick pins drying

Miniature key rings, NOT jump rings

Miniature key rings, NOT jump rings

Key rings

Key rings

Miniature key rings used on Domino

Miniature key rings used on Domino

Bead spacer and miniature key ring

Bead spacer and miniature key ring

I made several of these pins yesterday while I listened for Joe.

A few pins

A few pins

Now they are being stored in a box.

An accumulation of yesterday's work

An accumulation of yesterday's work

While I had the bead drawer out I thought I’d try making some charms.  I’ve found out that is not my forte.  To much fiddling involved just to get a dangly thing happening.

Trying to make a charm

Trying to make a charm

Too fiddly

Too fiddly

I think I’ve covered it all 😀  All this to just say…..Not much happening around here.

I found a YouTube video yesterday on making a mini insert with tons of pockets.  I’m going to mess around with that today for Tiffany’s album.  I’m sure I’ll regale you with it all tomorrow.  Aren’t you just so excited? 😀

Have a great day, everyone.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 12:08:16

    So do you think he’s been battling the flu? When was his last cardiologist appointment? Should his cardiologist know about his symptoms, or do you really think it’s just a “bug”? Isn’t it scary how we just can’t seem to fight off those minor “bugs” as well as we did when we were younger? It really makes you appreciate this short time that we’re on this earth, doesn’t it?

    It does sound like Joe feels a little better each day, and I’m glad for that. He really IS a wonderful man; you are lucky indeed!

    It’s nice to know that I’m not the only one who looks at cheap necklaces and thinks about breaking them up into bits; I’ve found a few at the dollar store, too!

    Oh, I did get your message about iMovie – it seems SOMEONE hasn’t been keeping up with her YouTube subscriptions……!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 18, 2012 @ 10:40:35

      *hanging my head in shame* I did miss your ultra FANTASTIC video on your first Stampin’ Up! haul for 2012. Lordy, the goodies you pulled out of the box were all amazing 😀 I’m so glad you found a Demo to go through 😀

      Joe is fighting some virus, and getting better daily. Whatever bug he had his body was fighting it so hard that all his energy was going to clear the Cooties out of his system which left very little for anything else. Once he gets out and begins work he will start feeling better, get his energy levels back up to peak performance 😀 His cardiologist did tell him to go to our family doctor because he thought it was a virus and not Joe’s heart.

      Thank you for your concern for my Cootie Man 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 12:57:12

    So glad to hear that Joe is on the mend; there have been some very nasty viruses and bugs doing the rounds this side of the ‘pond’, touch wood we have escaped most of them however one did set off the dormant virus I sufered from in 2009 but there was nowhere near as bad as when it first hit. Just likes to let me know it hasn’t gone away yet 🙂

    Love the pins you have made; I also break down jewellery. I bought a couple of cheap necklaces because I liked them and do wear them however they came with earrings which I no longer wear so the earrings have been used for crafting. Apparently some charity shops will sell off quite cheaply bags of broken jewellery.

    Love what you have done so far with Tiffany’s album and that you managed to sneak a pin in too 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 23, 2012 @ 13:40:27

      Thank you Lynn. Joe is feeling back to his old self now. He’s rearing to go and he’s gone 😀 I just hate to see him so puny and low energy.

      I’m happy to hear that your most recent bout with a bad virus was not as strong as had been in the past. That is a plus :D, if there is anything good about being sick.

      Thank you. The pins turned out pretty good and this time I enjoyed making them more than I did the last time. I can’t wear jewelry…except for the really expensive stuff. The beautiful things I see in the stores that I want to purchase I have to leave behind 😦 I’m allergic to the nickel in the metals. I break out in little tiny blisters that soon turn to bloody welts. So now I can purchase the pretty stuff and mess about with it 😀

      So….what are you doing in your craft room this month? Are you having fun with it?

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

