Steam Punk Domino?

Could this be considered Steam Punk?

Could this be considered Steam Punk?

Lynn Claridge, at Garden Pinks, has a Two Post Tutorial on altering Dominoes.  She has done a fantastic job in showing the various ink applications in her first post.  Her second post is about attaching charms, bales to make the Domino a pendant, adding stamped images, and also stamping on tissue paper then adhering it to the Domino face.  She tells about sealing all of your work for safe keeping.

Head on over to her blog for inspiration.  I did and am really glad for her tutoring 😀

Maybe?  Not so much Steam Punk.

Maybe? Not so much Steam Punk.

Maybe it is a flying saucer?

Maybe it is a flying saucer?

 

Nope. Not Steam Punk.

Nope. Not Steam Punk.

I’m saving MY most favorite for the last 😀

Using the rubbing alcohol I cleaned the four Dominoes off.  There was still a hint of the stamped image left behind and I am okay with that.

Starting over

Starting over

This time I want to go with lighter colors of alcohol ink.  I chose Butterscotch and Meadow.  Since I don’t have any of Tim Holtz‘ metallic alcohol inks I  used the bitty bottle of Stampin’ Up!’s Champagne Mist instead.

Butterscotch, Meadow, and Champagne Mist

Butterscotch, Meadow, and Champagne Mist

I have ONE felt pad for the alcohol ink pouncer thingy.  I have more….somewhere but I can’t seem to find them.  That is what happens when I do an entire room clean out and shuffle 😦  I have plenty of make up sponges so I used one of those.

Makeup sponge with the inks

Makeup sponge with the inks

The only ink that was transferred to the Dominoes was the Champagne Mist.  The alcohol inks were absorbed into the sponge so well they could not distribute properly.  So I had to use my one felt piece and hope for the best.

Felt piece and makeup sponge

Felt piece and makeup sponge

Some of the previous colors on the felt bled out.  Bright highlights from the Wild Plum and a small bit of Stream showed itself.  The Champagne Mist set my most favorite Domino alight.

My Favorite

My Favorite

This one is truly my most favorite of them all.  I really like the others I’ve made but I’m very partial to this one 😀

Thank you Lynn for your awesome tutoring 😀  I’m going to link this post to your blog at the Second Page in the Comments section.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Jan 16, 2012 @ 15:56:24

    I don’t know if it is steam punk but I love them all. You have done a brilliant job and I hope you enjoyed the pocess too.
    They are beautiful little works of art. You could join them all together and hang them from a ribbon 🙂 Perhaps I ought to set you the challenge of breaking open that canvas and doing something with it and adding one or more of those lovely dominoes to adorn your craft room wall.
    Thanks so much for joining in.

    How is Joe? Hope he is feeling much better now.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 17, 2012 @ 07:38:36

      Thank you Lynn 😀 I did enjoy the process this time. I even got Joe involved 😀 He read my other post on this and asked if I had really wanted to use the word “pounce” where I did. I brought the Domino and the Tim Holtz thing to Joe and let him have a go at pouncing 😀 It was cool watching his reaction to what the alcohol inks do 😀 He enjoyed it also 😀

      That canvas thing I’ve looked askance at for several years, when I open a door it is behind. It came in a Club Scrap kit a long time ago. The papers I’ve got excited about but not the canvas 🙂

      Lynn, thank you for that awesome tutorial you did for us. And for the challenge to get me to do it 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. aspot2stamp
    Jan 16, 2012 @ 21:58:06

    Very beautiful Leslie. I dont even know what steam punk is…. I thought it was just a Tim Holtz line of crafting materials 🙂 (blushing) I like them all 🙂 Well done I need to be more crafty.
    Love,
    shelly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 17, 2012 @ 07:43:48

      Shelly, I’m not even sure what Steam Punk is 😀 I know from the Graphic 45 papers there are gears involved. The only Tim Holtz bit on that one Domino is a gear. The rest of the pieces are super miniature key rings that I thought were jump rings. I have two sizes of those things I don’t know what I will ever do with them.

      Thank you Shelly 😀 I read your recent post and had to laugh about you finding an online game and getting lost in it 😀 I did that one time…..for over a month.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

