Pop Ups that pooped out

There is nothing wrong with failure.  Failure only means that you (I) don’t have all the necessary information.  It also is a good way of telling us to take a different route.

In all the years that I have been crafting the one thing I’ve learned is that when something isn’t working the way you want it to don’t give up.  There is a different way to get the results you were hoping for.  Those results may not be as spectacular as what you had planned but it still does what you need.

After my triumph with the photos on copy paper in making the Pop Up work I felt certain it would work with stiffer papers.  I had less time involved in making the Pop Up work with the actual photos on photo paper and using card stock as a base.

Pop Up workings

Pop Up workings

Things worked…..mostly.  They just did not look right once I had them all positioned so the mechanism actually worked the way I had intended it to.

Not the desired effect I was going for

Not the desired effect I was going for

Pop Up with photos

Pop Up with photos

This looked unprofessional and the gaps between the photos was not to my liking.  Worse was the immediate cracking, as I had feared, of the photos after being creased and worked.  I had the same results with the cracking on a photo I had printed on card stock.

Cracking in the folds

Cracking in the folds

Disappointed?  You could say that.  Frustrated is more like it.  After checking and rechecking the workings of the Pop Up with the photos I found one of them tearing clean off at the crease for the bottom tab.  Not going to be good.  Plus I had to use my fingers to get the piece to open fully and also to close it properly.

I’ll save Pop Ups for another time.

Still hoping I could make this work I handed the closed Pop Up to Joe to have him open and tell me how wonderful I am.  His immediate words were “This doesn’t look professional”.  Stung a bit, but it is the truth.  I could not, in all good conscience, pass this off and ask for money in return.

While pouting in my room I happened to see some extra photos piled haphazardly on my table top.  That made me think of a photo collage.  I had just done that with the clock I made for Tim’s office and our mechanic.

While out getting Joe’s prescriptions filled for his “Cooties” I had a 5″x7″ photo collage made.  Upon getting home I went into my room.

I have a Xyron that has a 5″ throat to put sticky on large items.  The 5″x7″ photo went through the Xyron with no trouble at all.  I put that down on the green base and had a look at the results.  Some of the photos would be covered by the Post-It-Note cover but the rest of the photos would all be showing well so there would be no doubt this was Poker.

Poker photo collage

Poker photo collage

It still needed something a bit more so I added a few miniature cards to the Post-It cover and placed a few chips in the top left corner.

Cards and chips added

Cards and chips added

I’m happy with this.  I have space to add the pair of earrings, ring, and what other type of “Charm” I can come up with plus there is space for the person’s name at the top.

Now I am awaiting approval from Tim to go ahead or change things just a bit.  I’m pleased with the results.  Joe was effusive in  his praise 😀 and I’m not upset over the compromise I’ve had to make.

Failure just means to keep looking for your answer in a different direction.  As a saying I’ve heard for a long time goes “Insanity is doing the same thing over and over expecting different results”.  Failure gives you the opportunity to explore.

What failures do you have that could do with a bit of different thinking?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 13:22:35

    Yes I’ve received some truthful replies and boy do they sting so I can empathise with you there. We know that what has been said is what we really think just that we expect a different answer from someone else 🙂
    I don’t think you have failed but you have come up with something you can work with and makes you happy. As you say you can use the pop up elsewhere such as a scrapbook layout or card.
    If something isn’t working out as planned I tend to put it to one side for a period, not think about it and work on something completely different and I find another idea will quite often pop into mind. I don’t think of it as failure though as that could end up as being demoralising. There are certain craft related areas that don’t seem to work for me…some I accept as not meant for me to master and others I try and find a work around that is acceptable. Perhaps I know I am not a perfectionist so don’t expect perfectionism from myself 😀
    Almost forgot to say that I do like your compromise and hope that Tim does too.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 16, 2012 @ 07:48:16

      Thank you Lynn 😀 Reading your comment made me realize that I had focused too much on the word “Failure” rather than maybe another Oopsy. A much milder term. I had an idea in my head what I wanted to say about a little habit I have, and I don’t think I’m alone in this. Start something, work several hours at it…or days even then get frustrated with it and it goes in a box never to be seen again. I have a couple of those boxes 😦

      If it were not that I was commissioned to do these all the bases I had made up and the pieces would have been dumped into the box, put away behind one of my big cupboard doors and be out of sight and out of mind.

      You are very fortunate to not be a perfectionist. I’m working my way out of it but it is a hard thing to kick. Not being a perfectionist (for me) means a great deal of self acceptance. I’m getting there 😀 Largely because of you and Joe. The two people that don’t hold back in their opinions 😀

      Love you my Friend – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

