Trying to get out of hyper drive

Before I begin this post I would like to let you know I’ve added my cards to the “Ribbon Challenge” post of a couple days ago.   So go take a peek at that past post, scroll down towards the bottom for the addition of my three cards.  Not very imaginative, but they are there none the less.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Zowie, these past couple of days have been a week long.  Or at least them seem to have been.  There has been so much packed into them that I’m thinking this would be better posted on my other blog – Foolishness and Mayhem.

Crafty business has been going on so it belongs here.  Of course you know of the photos from the Fake Poker game, which was total fun.  I’m so lost I don’t even know what day it is.  I have to look back at my blog posts to know what day it is.

Sunday was the Poker night.  Monday, yesterday, Joe an I spent most of the day traipsing around Oklahoma City and Norman running errands.  Trying to get him ready to leave once again is an all day long affair.  Auto parts stores, shops that sell tools, pharmacies for his prescriptions, photo labs to get things he needs for a gizzy  he is putting together.  The list goes on.

Today I had an appointment with Heather to come by so I could teach her how to make a couple scrapbook pages.  She made it over at 1 p.m.   Joe and I had to leave once more to run further errands at 4 this afternoon.

So, whining aside, there has been quite a bit accomplished.  Heather has never made a scrapbook page before.  I peppered her with questions and gleaned that she wants to make some pages for her two little boys.  They are 2 and not quite 1, so they are still itty bitty.  Colors she wants are mostly blue with a little red and yellow, maybe a bit of green.

Heather has NO scrapbook supplies at all, nor any inkling of what this entails.  I have a TON of scrapbook supplies but next to nothing as far as baby or child images goes.

For our three hour session today I taught her the following:

1.  Measuring card stock for photo mats.

2.  Cutting paper with a paper trimmer.

3.  Using the measuring devices on the trimmer.

4.  How to use a Snail Adhesive.

5.  She was introduced to Dimensionals.

6.  Sticking an already sticky tag to card stock and cutting a mat around said tag.

7.  She was introduced to brads.

8.  I showed her my technique using a grid ruler to mount letter stickers to a title border.

So here are the two 8-1/2 x 11 pages Heather made today.  Giving her the basic concepts and guidelines of scrapbooking I let her see how to arrange items in a balanced manner that would be pleasing to the eye.

Heather's two page layout on 8-1/2 x 11

Heather's two page layout on 8-1/2 x 11

No photos.  She has not been to the store to get them printed just yet, but that is alright.  It is good sometimes to start this way then add the photos later.  She is quite excited about getting the photos placed so her Scrapbook will OFFICIALLY be started.  I’m very glad I could help with that.

Joe and I had more errands to run…have I already told you that?  I’m losing my mind I tell you.  I needed some wood cut for a project I’m starting while I’m working on Tim’s holders.

We made a trip to Lowe’s Home Improvement Center to purchase the wood and have it cut.  Here is Joe and the store guy cutting my wood.

Getting my wood pieces cut

Getting my wood pieces cut

Measure twice cut once

Measure twice cut once

Okay, I’m off to bed.  I have a really busy day ahead tomorrow.  Starting by getting Joe out the door and heading to Dallas.

Have a good night everyone, and a great day tomorrow.  There are errors and typos (most likely) but I’m going to be bad and just go to bed.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 12:35:41

    Can I send Heather some supplies? Should I just send them to you? I’d love to purge my stash a bit, and have quite a few kid-type things that she could use.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 11, 2012 @ 15:13:09

      Maureen, that would be awesome!! I’m positive Heather would appreciate your kindness. Poor girl, she doesn’t know what she’s in for 😀 Bwahahahaha (rubbing hands together) it is always so enjoyable to bring someone new into the fold (or the dark side :D). I’m getting to dig through my stash and use some papers that have been lingering for years 😀 They are going to a good cause 😀

      Love you my Friend

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 14:21:56

    Oh great fun introducing someone else to this mad world of crafting. Those pages are great too; did she enjoy herself? Or did she go away totally confuzzled and with a headache trying to remember everything?
    What fun for you both though 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 11, 2012 @ 15:16:22

      I asked if she had fun. I got a “mostly” enthusiastic nod of her head. She didn’t say much. I really tried hard to keep it all basic but sometimes I get a little carried away with introducing new things to people.

      She has agreed to come back next week 😀 Now we will see if she DOES come back 😀 Poor girl. I told her to make sure she comes back with photos. I’ve also told her that next week I will introduce her to cropping her photos with the trimmer. She will be matting photos again, just to remind her of what she’s done and sneak in something new also.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

