A Ribbon Challenge – Update at bottom of this post

Lynn Claridge, way over yonder in the UK, has mentioned she is having a hard time using ribbon on her cards.  She doesn’t like the way it looks.

So…..digging through my stash of books and inspirational things I’ve located something that I think would be good on a card front.

Picture this……a greeting card for any occasion you choose.  On the front of the card are three images – your choice – all dangling from a length of ribbon.  The three ribbons are tied together at the top.  Or you could make the images float at the top like balloons.

I have a book by Becky Higgins and Creating Keepsakes titled “My Creative Companion” with tons of inspirational ideas for scrapbooks.  Of course…this book is out of print HOWEVER there is a Second edition that is available.  The book I have covers titles, photo mats, tags, borders, journal spots, and lots of other things.

My “Ribbon Challenge” idea is from this image in Becky Higgin’s book.

Ribbon Challenge

Ribbon Challenge

Valentine’s Day is our next holiday or celebration.  Hearts dangling from ribbon would be really cute.  A birthday cake, a candle, and a present would also look cute for this challenge.  How about three dangling “Hello” words or if you  have the stamps make one say “Hello”, another say “Hi”, and the final one say “Hey” or whatever you want.  Another idea is to have three small bouquets of flowers dangling.  This could be a “Get Well” card.

I’m tossing the idea out there to you all.  Whatever tools and stamps you have, and your own inspiration, will be what dictates the card front using the ribbon in this challenge.

While I’m on the topic of cards…I have a “tool” that I want to use.  This is from Club Scrap and it is the “Assembly Line Card Deck“.  I’ve had this for about three years and have not used it much.  Heads up….this is a bit pricey but in the long run, if you are a card maker, this will pay for itself as far as left over scrap paper goes.

Club Scrap Assembly Line Card Deck

Club Scrap Assembly Line Card Deck

I used one of their instructional cards last year.  I used the “Nine (9) of Diamonds” to create the cards.  I think I got four cards out of this cutting instruction.  Been longer than 5 minutes and I don’t remember.

Nine of Diamonds Club Scrap

Nine of Diamonds Club Scrap

Using some Stampin’ Up! card stock and the “Life Is Beautiful” stamp set….don’t know if it is still available.  I made this card from the Club Scrap instructions.

Card made using the Club Scrap Idea Deck

Card made using the Club Scrap Idea Deck

This is the inside of the card.

Inside of card

Inside of card

I’m off to go back into my craft room and make a card for this Ribbon Challenge.  When you make one for the RIBBON CHALLENGE, leave a link to your blog post in the COMMENT SECTION of this post.  I’d love to see what you come up with.

Here are my entries for the Ribbon Challenge.  I’ve only finished three of the four cards I cut using a Club Scrap Idea Deck thing-a-ma-bob.  2 sheets of 12 x 12 card stock made four cards with two bits of scrap left over.

Club Scrap Idea Deck cuts

Club Scrap Idea Deck cuts

Filled With Love stamp set – Stampin’ Up! (don’t know if it is still available)

Whisper White card stock

Scraps from my scrap stash

Staz-On ink – Jet Black

Real Red 1/4″ Grosgrain Ribbon – Stampin’ Up (don’t know if it is still available)

Pretty In Pink 1/4″ Grosgrain Ribbon – Stampin’ Up! (don’t know if it is still available)

Faceted mirrored hearts from my stash

Ornament punch – Stampin’ Up!

Card #1 is loosely based on the sketch. It is a top fold card.

Card #1

Card #1

Card #2 is a side fold card.  I don’t have a large heart punch so I improvised and used the Ornament Punch.  I forgot that I’ve also added some Stampin’ Up! red glitter to one of the hearts on the top stamped image.

Card #2

Card #2

Card #3 is not a whole lot different.  It is a side fold card as well.

Card #3

Card #3

I loving all that you guys are doing.  Totally awesome cards you guys are submitting 😀

 

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 12:37:47

    Wow – the card you made is BEAUTIFUL!

    Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 17:42:18

    That is a beautiful card and I like the fold idea; how would a recipient display it though? Fine for Christmas cards as quite a few people use card holders or ‘washing lines’ made from ribbon or string to fold their cards over.
    Okay let me get these two ATCs finished and then I will do another ribbon card 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 08, 2012 @ 22:50:19

      Thank you Lynn. After I got the card finished I went “Doh”. It was supposed to be upright with the short flap facing to the right so the thing could stand upright. I guess I never said I was brilliant 😀 or if I did, I’d need to eat my words 😀

      I guess I need to learn about ATC’s sometime. I’m not totally sure what the purpose of them is. Business cards? More like Artist Business Cards? Something to show what types of things a person does?

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

      • gardenpinks
        Jan 09, 2012 @ 17:13:33

        ATCs or Artist Trading Cards are fun things to make – the same size as a playing card and no bigger or smaller (21/2 ” x 31/2″ ) and you trade or swap them.
        On one of the UK forums I subscribe to we have to make 3 ATCs and send them to a hostess and then wait to get 3 back. They are usually done to a theme and I struggled with this month’s theme Alice in Wonderland as I dislike Alice in Wonderland as much as Wizard of Oz – the imagery (illustrations) I feel are grotesque. Give me birds, trees and butterflies any day 🙂 I hate those stamps with grotesque creatures on them that are supposed to represent people such as those made by Stampotique, also dislike the Magnolia, Tllda stamps portraying children with only eyes. Gross!
        Love and hugs
        Lynn xx

      • Message In A Fold
        Jan 10, 2012 @ 08:42:32

        Sorry, I had a chuckle at your heated distaste of some stamp images. I will have to look those stamps up you mentioned. I have not heard of any of them.

        Whatever did you do for your ATC challenge? Did you use tags with the words “Drink Me” and “Eat Me”? Maybe have a mushroom or a glass vial? Hmmmm, what could you do with a challenge like that with none of the imagery? Plus do it three times!? Whatever you did I’m positive it was amazing!! 😀

        Love you – Leslie

  3. Indira
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 21:07:49

    Beautiful card. I love the challenge. I’ll try it tomorrow (I’m at my Mom home), but I’ll do it.

    Reply

  4. Linda
    Jan 09, 2012 @ 23:08:08

    Here’s my card for the Ribbon Challenge! (I don’t have a blog, so I uploaded the picture to my ISP’s server – hope that’s OK.) I cut a strip of cardstock, rounded the bottom corners, and attached 3 ribbons to the back. Then I put a punched flower on the end of each ribbon (using Glue Dots) and added rhinestones to the centers.

    I adhered the strip to the top of the card using dimensional foam so it wouldn’t lay flat. The result – although difficult to see in the picture – is that the ribbons hang freely and dangle!

    Thanks, Leslie, for offering this challenge! It got me thinking of different ways to add ribbons and inspired me to try something I wouldn’t have thought to do!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 10, 2012 @ 09:23:41

      Linda!!! Your card is fantastic! Send it to my email for my webite – leslieb@messageinafold.com. I can see your card in the Admin part of my blog but it doesn’t show up in the comments section. Send that beauty to my email I will add it in this section of the blog 😀

      Not pushing…..you can get a blog for free anywhere. Blogspot, Blogger, WordPress, and several other places. You have to take the time to figure out which template you want to use, and the choices go on forever. Don’t know if you know this or not. Having a blog does not mean you have to “perform” with tons of words and lots of pictures. You don’t have to do a blog entry every day either. I’m a “Drama Queen” and I perform to my public 😀 I’m a show off 😀

      Your card is one I have not seen before….and I miss so much because I’m gone most of the year. I’m also envious! 😀 You have figured out how to combine two photos in one and have descriptions at each view of the card. Jealous I tell you 😀

      I’m so excited, thrilled, and honored you chose my blog to display your craft. Thank you Linda.

      Hugs to you my Friend – Leslie

      Reply

    • Leslie
      Jan 10, 2012 @ 09:27:35

      I just found that by clicking on you NAME the photo you submitted does show up. Beautiful card you’ve made!! Once again, JEALOUS! You figured a way around the problem of not having a blog and made it work for you 😀

      AWESOME!

      Reply

  5. shelly
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 16:08:39

    Here is my entry post for the challenge a bit late but here it is:
    http://aspot2stamp.wordpress.com/2012/01/10/the-card-i-made-for-leslies-ribbon-use-challenge/

    Now off to check on the other entries. have a great day everyone.
    Hugs,
    shelly

    Reply

    • shelly
      Jan 10, 2012 @ 16:19:41

      Edit to my own post hee hee 🙂 Leslie the card is beautiful Maybe it should be a side opening card? Very elegant card. Linda Wow great card 🙂 I love this I cant always look outside the box I just get too much tunnel vision 🙂 but when we all share there is so many ways to see things Love it !!
      Shelly

      Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 11, 2012 @ 15:09:26

      Shelly, I love your cards 😀 I’m trying to get to your blog….I’ve been there to see your cards but got interrupted. I’m now trying to get back there to leave a comment. Crazy things going on around my house.

      Thank you for submitting your cards 😀 I love that giraffe one. Too cute. Plus I really like the striped background you did on the matchbook card. I have forgotten what else you did. I’ve really got to get back there to your blog 😦

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

      • shelly
        Jan 11, 2012 @ 15:32:24

        Thank you I had some fun in the crafty corner 🙂 will have a few free days the small ones are going to visit other Grandparents for a few days weather permitting that is. should be available for what ever you come up with next 🙂 Your cards are beautiful Love the way they turned out. Thanks for sharing.
        Hugs and love,
        Shelly

      • Message In A Fold
        Jan 11, 2012 @ 19:34:57

        How cool….you get to spend time with your Honey and your kids 😀 I hope you do get to. Family time is hard to come by when you have a house full. Your daughter-in-law, Melissa, is really a great person. It will be good for her and your son to have some time to themselves. Reconnect 😀

        I finally made it to your blog. I enjoy seeing the cards you make. Looks like Lynn has accepted the task of starting the next challenge. Heads Up. You will get your turn 😀 too so be thinking about something you want to do with your crafting and we can join you 😀

        Love you – Leslie

  6. gardenpinks
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 14:16:19

    Here you go Leslie, my interpretation of your ribbon challenge http://gardenpinks.wordpress.com/2012/01/11/another-ribbon-challenge/ I have also put a photo of the ATCs, as I said on my blog I made it much more challenging because I came up with 3 different ATCs then realised that everyone else was doing 3 the same!! Also put the post card I made for a swap. Now that one is more humorous 🙂
    Love your cards and Linda that is a super card too. I must go over and have a look at Shelly’s now. Love that we can all get involved in these challenges and hope Indira joins in too. So what is the next challenge? Make a card without ribbon???? 😀 Make a rosette and use on a card? Make a lattice card? Make a different fold card? Come on Leslie keep me on my toes!
    I must go and alter a domino now for another swap 🙂 Hey what about dominoes? Have you ever done those? Great fun.
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 11, 2012 @ 15:29:42

      I love your dangling birds!!!!!! They are just the coolest. Shrink plastic?! I have not ventured there just yet. Really great job on the birds and the heart thing.

      I love your ATC cards. You are bound to get some of the imagery you dislike back from the other participants. I do have to say that your stamping and imagination for these ATC’s are great.

      I think I’m going to pass off the next challenge to someone else since I’ve tossed out the first two 😀 How’s that for diplomacy?

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

    • shelly
      Jan 11, 2012 @ 15:36:18

      Lovely card Lynn.
      I have some shrink plastic in the stash…….Hmmmm….. maybe that could be a challenge of some kind too. I like the domino idea too, I have a few of those hanging around but have never used them in my crafting. Loved the atc cards you can collage things nicely I struggle terribly with that. Love your card by the way I got a bit side tracked 🙂

      Love and hugs,
      Shelly

      Reply

      • Message In A Fold
        Jan 11, 2012 @ 19:38:21

        Both the shrink plastic and the dominoes sound like fun. I have the dominoes but no shrink plastic so I’m going to give the dominoes a stab. Lynn makes this look easy. I bet it is anything but! Especially when I get to fumbling around 😀

        Thank you my friend. Cards are not things I do much of. I guess I’ll get as good at as you are if I just do more of them.

        Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

