I’ve been in a wrestling match with Pop Ups

Lord have mercy!  Those things are a worse brain teaser than Soduku (however it is spelled), crossword puzzles, and it even tops Scrabble!!  If I wonder off track or go missing don’t worry.  My brain has finally snapped its last circuit 😀

While talking with Tim about the newest group of Post-It-Note holders it seemed that what he wanted would have to be done in photos.  A light bulb went off in my brain and I had this totally awesome idea.  Why  not turn a portion of the holder into a Pop Up?!  Yes, that would be easy to do.  Maybe it wasn’t a light bulb that went off.

I have not been answering the most recent comments because I want to be able to sort through all the great ideas without having to jump around and skip my blathering.  I have been reading them and I have been considering them.  You will see 😀

First, you will notice that my dining table is free of clutter and you can see the entire surface 😀  Not so with my craft room table.  Yikes!

I went about setting the table as though there were four poker players seated.  Tim requested that I show all the players holding cards in their hands.  Since there is just me I had to make some allowances and get creative.

Don’t laugh too hard and choke yourself at this photo.  I had to take a picture of myself holding cards.  I am very ill….quite possibly will never recover from my illness.  I have “Furniture Disease”.  As you can see, my “chest” has fallen into my “drawers”.  Oh well.

Seat 1

Seat 1

Lynn, I did use your or Rod’s idea with one of Joe’s cigars.  I’ve combined Lynn’s and Linda’s idea for adult beverages 😀  There is a beer next to the photo of myself…you just can’t see it.  Maybe because I already drank it?!  The shot glass is filled with an herbal tea I had last night but had not emptied.  Makes for a good tot of whiskey 😀  This person has decided to go all in and has to include their “Diamond” ring and “Diamond” earrings.  I purchased these items at a local thrift store.

Seat 2

Seat 2

The “cheater” is the only one at the table with a (seemingly) non-alcoholic beverage.  And,  yes, it is I once again holding the cards.

Seat 3

Seat 3

The final one has a wine glass.  The variety is one that is quite rare in wines.  A rather recent brew of cranberry and grape juice 😀  Still, it looks like wine in the glass 😀  Don’t mind the bathroom paper rolls in the background.  Those were collected so I could figure out how to add the Jimmy Choo shoe and I’ve given up on that idea.  They just have not made it to the recycling bin.

Seat 4

Seat 4

Linda, you have had some fantastic ideas to impart and I sent them on to Tim.  He thinks they are great.  So I will be heading out to find “Charms”.  I have since learned that Tim and his friends don’t imbibe in adult beverages so I will have to do something different.

Joe will be home late Saturday  night or early Sunday morning.  Sunday afternoon I’m going to wrangle our neighbors and have them over for a bit of FAKE POKER.  bwahahahaha  Joe, Hugh, his brother, John Paul, and a young woman named Heather will be my guinea pigs.

After doing my amazing photo work (ya right) I went into my room to begin doing the Pop Up bit.  After struggling for four hours, with intermittent breaks to do research on the internet, this is what I came up with.  Not very pretty but it is a starting point.

This is all done using copy paper.  I don’t use card stock when I’m fiddling with something really new and in unknown territory.  The copy paper was extremely valiant and sacrificed its life to my butchery.

The concept is to have a “card” like device attached to the base.  Open the card and amazing and wonderful things happen.  Except the poor thing has a dreadful hang over 😦

Pop Up "card" on the Post-It-Note base

Pop Up "card" on the Post-It-Note base

After four hours this is the best I could come up with 😦

Poor Pop Up

Poor Pop Up

It drooped more than “Popped” but at least it was only the concept part that I was working on.

For the life of me I could not figure out how to make the sides stand up.  No matter what I tried.  So it was time to find a site that has tutorials on making Pop Ups.  If I could figure out the mechanization of the blasted thing then I could make this work.  I WOULD make this work.

I found a website with many options.  Robert Sabuda has an excellent set of tutorials that are printable with pictures and words to follow to make a Pop Up.  I chose the Wizard of Oz because it looked fairly complicated and I needed to have stuff from the sides of my mess to pop up.

Robert Sabuda's Pop Up tutorial

Robert Sabuda's Pop Up tutorial

This is the result of an almost 8 hour struggle today.  Copy paper everywhere.

Copy paper felled by scissors and other implements of torture

Copy paper felled by scissors and other implements of torture

I did succeed!  I kept on fighting.  I kept on…..making piles of paper 😀

Look, no hang over.  Yes!

It all fits inside

It all fits inside

This looks promising 😀  Looks like it will do as I intended it to do.

Going good for now

Going good for now

Ta Daaaaaaa!

It works!

It works!

It even closes correctly.  Doesn’t hang up.

Closing the Pop Up

Closing the Pop Up

Yes, I know…..it doesn’t take much to entertain an idiot but I’m so thrilled with myself 😀

Look, it folds in on itself 😀

Folding in on itself

Folding in on itself

And it closes up real nice and neat 😀

Next is to do the real thing.  I sure do hope I remember what I did 😦

If you have not tried a Pop Up before, make sure to visit the Robert Sabuda site first and practice a bit with his tutorials.  Have fun…and just remember this.  You will be learning something totally new and foreign.  Give yourself some slack and just keep on trying.  You WILL succeed 😀

 

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jann
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 21:47:22

    wow leslie that is amazing… your perseverence totally paid off… I am in total awe of you! can’t wait to see the finished product. love you girl!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 07, 2012 @ 05:39:06

      Thank you Jann 😀 I sure do hope you and your family had a fantastic Christmas. You’ve had some pretty unsettling events in 2011 and I’m hoping that 2012 will be the best year you and your family have EVER had.

      Love you my Friend – Leslie

      Reply

  2. shelly
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 00:21:08

    Oh my that is impressive Leslie. Very awed at your creations. Can’t wait to see what they look like all finished.
    Big hugs,

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 07, 2012 @ 05:58:54

      Thank you Shelly 😀 I am just so excited that it actually worked 😀 I’m a little fearful of the cracking that may happen with the actual photos. We’ll all see what happens, right? 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. gardenpinks
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 11:38:24

    You deserve a medal for perserverance Leslie. I have never made a pop up although seen plenty of tutorials. I look forward to seeing the final production and hope that the photos don’t crack as you feared. I think I might be tempted to print them out onto very good quality printer paper rather than photographic paper. Hope Tim reads your blog to see all the hard work and research you have put into this for him.
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 08, 2012 @ 11:42:37

      Thanks for the bit about printing the photos on good quality paper. I think I have just the stuff here to use for this 😀 Paper left over from when I made my rounds in the neighborhood trying to drum up business for my Stampin’ Up! stuff.

      Expect a lot of photos in an upcoming post on the Poker Table session here at my house 😀 Should be fun and I’m getting excited 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

