Contest with PRIZES

Okay, don’t get too excited about the prizes.  It is stuff that I found while cleaning out and rearranging my craft room in December.

FIRST PRIZE:  Vintage Labels Stamp Set.

Vintage Label Stamp Set

Vintage Label Stamp Set

SECOND PRIZE:  A “Ballet” embellishment set, pack of buttons, and a spool of ribbon.

Ballet embellishment, pack of buttons, a spool of ribbon

Ballet embellishment, pack of buttons, a spool of ribbon

THIRD PRIZE:  An Embossing Buddy

Embossing Buddy

Embossing Buddy

RULES OF THE CONTEST:

  1. You must leave your submission in the COMMENT section of THIS POST.
  2. Only one entry per person so get all your ideas in one comment.
  3. Your entry will be related to poker bets.  See the rest of the post for the start of ideas.
  4. Contest ENDS on January 11th, 2012 at 8:00 p.m. Central Standard Time (CST)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I am in the process of creating seven Post-It-Note holders in a Poker Theme.  I am in the “auditioning” process right now and have sent photos of it to our friend, Tim.

Poker themed holders

Poker themed holders

Tim has requested that I fan the playing cards out as though they are in a person’s hand, leaving more room on the base for the bets.  His suggestions were a wrist watch, some paper money or an IOU.

Busted Royal Flush

Busted Royal Flush

Since I have seven (7) of these to make I need ideas for what to put on these bases.  Let your imagination go.  I’ve thought of putting a “Jimmy Choo” shoe on the base.  I spent most of my night thinking how to attach an image of the shoe to a bathroom paper roll core (Sorry Jimmy Choo if you find yourself here).  I have it pretty well figured out – EXCEPT – for the stiletto heel part.

Jimmy Choo shoe

Jimmy Choo shoe

Thrill me with your creative ideas 😀  And good luck to you all.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 16:27:41

    Imagination? Moi? Methinks that is an oxymoron 🙂
    We play a game similar to poker called Brag either 5 or 7 card brag and I generally know the rules but can never remember the sequences so never know when I have won 🙂 I kid you not!
    You asked for ideas and Rod came up with Mississippi paddle boats as in the film Maverick and my suggestions are cigars and booze.
    I am at a loss to know where Jimmy Choo shoes come into Poker – please enlighten me 🙂 I can’t envisage how the shoe is to be mounted on a toilet roll core so can’t help you with ideas concerning the heel.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

  2. Linda
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 20:46:02

    Well this sounds like fun! I had to make about 20 party favor boxes last year with a card theme. I fanned the cards, punched a hole at the bottom, and then used a BRAD to hold them together before attaching to the boxes. They looked great.

    Besides cards and chips, cocktails are the most prominent item on a poker table, so one suggestion for your holders would be to add SWIZZLE STICKS as embellishments and maybe NAPKINS or COASTERS. I’ve seen cards with “beverages” made using inked vellum to simulate a drinking glass. Not sure if that would work on your design or not.

    I often use 1″ clear epoxy stickers as embellishments on my projects. I get mine from Hobby Lobby (“Spare Parts” from Paper Studio brand). I can envision printing out CARD SUITS (spades, hearts, diamonds, clubs), punching them out with a 1″ circle punch, and adhering them to the epoxy coins. Then maybe scatter them on the holders.

    LUCKY CHARMS, too, might be fun additions. A four-leaf clover, rabbit foot, Chinese lucky cat, etc.

    A final thought – and perhaps wildly impractical (hee!) – would be to use removable adhesive to attach an actual DECK OF CARDS (in the box, of course) to each holder. That way, not only would the recipient receive a pad of sticky notes, they’d also get a deck of cards!

    However your final design turns out, I’m sure it’ll be great! Take care!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

