Craft paper flowers

I’m working daily on trying to become friends with flowers.  I love, love, love to look at real flowers and wonder at their beauty.  I just have a problem making them myself or using them on projects.  The problem is simply – FEAR.

Fear of not putting them in the right place.  Not using the right color.  Not combining sizes right.  Mostly it is just a fear of being judged and found wanting.  This year I am attempting to get over myself and “Just Do It”.

Fear holds me back from so many things.  Over the years I have conquered some of my fears and lived another day 😀  So now I’m working on this one.  So far…..I’m still alive.  I’m surviving the ordeal, and I’m pretty pleased with the results.

Kathy, from Paper Phenomenon, has a video on making little roses.  You can watch this video and hopefully become inspired as well.

I have a huge roll of craft paper.  Don’t know when we got it, where we got it, or even why we got it.  I just have it.

Roll of craft paper

Roll of craft paper

It resides in a corner of my foyer.  If you want a giant roll of paper you can find this at your local home improvement store.  I think it is used to protect floors from paint and other construction/remodel stuff.

This paper is NOT ACID FREE and I don’t recommend using it in scrapbook layouts.   You can use the products you make from this paper on cards or anything else that will not be placed in scrapbooks.

This roll of paper makes a great umbrella stand 😀

Umbrella stand

Umbrella stand

I had to make a box for the clock going to our friend at Dependable.  I don’t have card stock in a large enough size to cover a box that measures 12″ x 11″ with 2″ sides.  So I figured I’d use this craft paper.

I cut up a piece of the cardboard sheet I have for my Post-It-Note Holders.  Let me tell you, making the box for the clock was a trial in Math and construction.

Cardboard sheets

Cardboard sheets

The roll next to the cardboard is cork.  That will be used on bulletin boards I am going to be making later.  Nice thick stuff.  The stick pin won’t be going through the back of the frame I will be using.

These are the pieces of craft paper I have left over from covering the box and lid I made.  I just could not bring myself to throw this stuff away.  Crazy old broad 😀

Craft paper scraps

Craft paper scraps

Here is the box and lid I made for the clock.

Box and lid closed

Box and lid closed

The paper strips inside the box on either side of the clock are to make it easier to get the clock out.  Man did I make it a tight fit 😦  That thing isn’t going to be moving around inside the box.

Paper strips to help get the clock out

Paper strips to help get the clock out

This craft paper is extremely hard to get smoothed flat after it comes in contact with moisture.  I’m not over the moon about this box and the way that it looks but it will do.  I’ll have to find some other kind of paper to use the next time I build another one of these boxes.

Wrinkles in the paper

Wrinkles in the paper

This is the first cardboard box I’ve ever constructed.  Covering it with the craft paper left open edges that I needed to hide.  So I used a wide piece of satin like ribbon I’ve had for a long time.

Ribbon hiding the edges

Ribbon hiding the edges

I tied the stand on the outside of the box with some jute twine.  Not very pretty but it will do.  At least Joe won’t have to keep putting his hand on the box while he drives to Akron, Ohio to deliver his trucks with a stop over in Joplin, Missouri to deliver this clock.

Stand tied to outside of box

Stand tied to outside of box

Okay, now for the flowers.  I have a “Baby Cricut”.  I bought this one in Wichita, Kansas just after this machine hit the market.  It has been a long time….since around 2006.  If you have a Cricut Expression or one of the newer models I think what I’m about to show you is pretty much the same.  The Expression has buttons on the side for other things and I can’t help you with any questions about that machine since I don’t have one.

The cartridge I have been using is the “George and Basic Shapes”.

Original Cricut with George cartridge

Original Cricut with George cartridge

I have the “Paper Saver” button on.  This will not leave a lot of space between cuts.

Paper Saver feature

Paper Saver feature

I have the “Shadow Black Out” button on.  This feature cuts the outside shape of the item with no other details.

Shadow Black Out button

Shadow Black Out button

I have used the flower feature that is in black.  Using the Shadow Black Out feature the hole in the center of the flower will not be cut.  I pressed the black flower button six (6) times to get that many shapes cut.

Flower image to be cut

Flower image to be cut

I stuck a piece of the craft paper to the sticky sheet thing and cut several of the flowers out.

Craft paper used to cut out flowers

Craft paper used to cut out flowers

I forgot to tell you.  I cut the flowers out at the size of one inch (1″).

1" flower

1" flower

This craft paper is pretty coarse.  The first thing I tried for was SPARKLE using one of my concocted spritz.  This one is Bashful Blue from Stampin’ Up!.

Bashful Blue spritz

Bashful Blue spritz

Bashful Blue spritz rose

Bashful Blue spritz rose

The color and sparkle didn’t show on that one so I decided to use some acrylic daubers from Ranger.  The first one is Red Pepper and I only daubed it on one side of the paper.

Red Pepper acrylic dauber

Red Pepper acrylic dauber

Red Pepper acrylic daubed rose

Red Pepper acrylic daubed rose

Next I tried Sunset Orange acrylic dauber and put the paint on both sides of the paper.

Sunset Orange acrylic dauber

Sunset Orange acrylic dauber

Sunset Orange acrylic daubed rose

Sunset Orange acrylic daubed rose

The brown craft paper needs a heavier hand with the acrylic paint to overpower that brown.  So the next one I tried was with Broken China Distress Stain.

Broken China Distress Stain

Broken China Distress Stain

Broken China Distress Stain rose

Broken China Distress Stain rose

And here are the four roses I’ve made this morning.  Kathy, from Paper Phenomenon, says these are quick to make and she is right.  It doesn’t take long to make these.  For a “beginner” it took me about an hour to make these four flowers.  It would have been less time involved had I used just one color thing – spritz, acrylic dauber, or stain – instead of trying to figure out what would work best.

As you can see from the results.  This is a good way to make the roses.  The craft paper still is very evident and the color does not take well to this paper.  I kind of like the way they have turned out.

Four paper roses

Four paper roses

Okay, now I have to get back in my craft room and get cracking on the seven Post-It-Note Holders I have been requested to make.

“Later Gators” 😀

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Jan 02, 2012 @ 13:46:48

    My biggest problem is reading two posts and then commenting on ONE post (and usually the wrong one) about something from a later post – confused?? Join the club 🙂

    I actually love the flowers from this craft paper with the colour of the paper showing through – a vintage/shabby chic/distressed look. Love the way they turned out. I don’t have many store bought flowers – a few white ones that I can colour – because I never particularly liked them either that or I was being perverse because “everyone” was using them!! But I have made my own and prefer to do that as then I can get the right colours instead of trying to get someone elses colours to fit my card. Saying that I do like the orange shades you used on the clock as they ‘lift’ the whole ensemble however your handmade roses are gorgeous 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 03, 2012 @ 11:43:49

      I know what you mean….I have too many blogs to keep track of myself and I’m inundating everyone with my blathering 😀

      Thank you Lynn. I, too, find it difficult to purchase flowers online or in a store. The colors, although bright and beautiful, never seem to be the right color for what I need. Then I’m stuck with an abundance of flowers that may never get used. The craft paper flowers I’m sort of yes and no about. I, too, like the roughness of them and the color of the unbleached paper. I’ll have to dabble more with them.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Linda
    Jan 02, 2012 @ 16:01:56

    Happy New Year to you! LOVE that you used craft paper to make the flowers – I think they are super gorgeous! BTW, I also LOVE LOVE LOVE the MIAF scalloped embellishment you put on the belly bands for the sticky note holder boxes. Would like to know how those were created.

    Reply

  3. Indira
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 21:15:45

    Wow, you have a cricut. I would love to see what else you can do with it. The flowers are beautiful.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 07, 2012 @ 05:37:57

      I have two amazing tricks with the Cricut 😀 I can cut out 1″ flowers and 1″ letters. That is the extent of my Cricut experience. I love the things you make, all the card with the black silhouette and bright colors. How are you doing? I’m off to go look at all the blogs to see what I’ve missed.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

