Happy New Year

I am attempting to conquer my fear of flowers.  2012 I am determined to make these things my FRIEND instead of my FOE.  Are you up for a challenge?

Go to your craft space and find your Prima flowers, or other loose flowers.

Loose flowers

Loose flowers

I’ve found a photo tutorial on working with these flowers.

In my Google search for using paper flowers I stumbled upon this blog.  Following her directions on these larger loose paper flowers I was able to create these.   The yellow and orange flower with the pearl center.

Yellow and orange flower

Yellow and orange flower

Lynn – I finally received your Christmas card.  Thank you for the delightful card you made.

Christmas card from Lynn

Christmas card from Lynn

Lynn, I am loving the paper  you used on this card.  It is all so thick and stiff.  I especially like the gold foil snowman 😀

Gold foil snowman

Gold foil snowman

Cool easel card you have made.  Someday I think I may have to try making one of these.

Easel card

Easel card

If there is anyone out there that has a favorite tutorial on making flowers let me know where to find it.  This flower challenge is open to anyone that wants to give it a try.

What you will have to do…..Take pictures of your flower creations and how you used them.  Upload the pictures to your blog along with anything you want to say about how you made them and used them.  Go to your finished post.  Up in the link line of your browser highlight your blog post  – SPECIFICALLY the link to your flower creation – and copy that link.  Then come back to this blog post and go to the COMMENTS section of THIS post.  Paste your link in the Comments section.  That way I can go out and have a look at your stunning creation 😀

Lynn…you want to do a Challenge with ribbon.  Let’s get this year started off right and conquer our phobias 😀  Bring it on Girlfriend 😀

Leslie

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pati Mishler
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 20:03:51

    The cards are sooo pretty, but, i REALLY love ALL the flowers, YOU GO sis, make them flowers, beautiful flowers, your getting BETTER!!

    And i wish you and Joe a very happy new year, full of all the things that you WANT to accomplish, help to accomplish the things you are trying to do, courage to continue doing the extra things that are hard, and that EVERYTHING turns out great, keep on keeping on sis, and again, I LOVE THE FLOWERS!! 😀

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 02, 2012 @ 09:25:30

      Hey Sis….thanks for the enthusiastic New Year’s wish 😀

      Did you and Les have a good Christmas? Happy New Year to the both of you. My wish for you two is that you both find what makes you happy this year. Be yourself mostly and the rest will follow. I like what you have written…

      a very happy new year, full of all the things that you WANT to accomplish, help to accomplish the things you are trying to do, courage to continue doing the extra things that are hard, and that EVERYTHING turns out great

      Thank you Sis 😀 Love you

      Reply

  2. aspot2stampShelly
    Jan 02, 2012 @ 01:02:20

    Here you Go Leslie a link to my blog with the card I made tonight. This challenge thing really got me motivated. Can’t wait to see what the others post.
    Love to you,
    Shelly

    http://aspot2stamp.wordpress.com/2012/01/02/flower-card-for-leslies-challenge/

    Reply

  3. gardenpinks
    Jan 02, 2012 @ 13:38:23

    Okay just give me a chance to get my bum in gear 🙂 I’m just finishing up a couple of wallets for holding cards. I’ve completed the cards now and then I can clear the decks for this challenge 🙂
    Great to see Shelly quick off the blocks there with a beautiful card.

    So happy your card arrived safely – easel cards are so easy, honestly 🙂 Sadly that was my last sheet of the foiled cardstock and I had forgotten I had it, came across it when I was rummaging through the Christmas cardstock/papers.

    The box you made for the clock certainly looked sturdy enough. Now I wouldn’t have thought to hunt out a roll of paper to cover that box but would have used pieces of 12 x 12 and then inked or dabbed paint in the joins!!! Love how we all do things so differently and then can pool our collective ideas:)

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 03, 2012 @ 11:38:47

      Lynn, I just figured I’d kick the challenge off and deal with my “boogey monster” head on 😀 I’ve kind of started to “immerse” myself in flowers. It is said, if you want to become immune to the effects of something the best way is to get into it. So I’m getting into it.

      I’m looking forward to what you have in mind for ribbon. If you can’t think of something then let’s begin a dialogue of what it is and then work on it from there. As you say “Love how we all do things so differently and then can pool our collective ideas:)”

      Are you going to post the work you are doing now? What kind of “wallet” are you making for holding cards? I really need to get into the card making again since that is one of my other phobias 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  4. gardenpinks
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 17:19:15

    Have taken photos and tried to add to my blog but the internet connection is crap at the moment so will do it in the morning 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Happy New Year! | Gardenpinks' Blog

Leave a Reply

