A Clockwork….with some orange

A promotional clock

A promotional clock

Get it?  “A Clockwork Orange“.  What?  You don’t know what that means?  Further proof of my slide into “fogies-dom”.  Had to have been a teen during the late 60’s early 70’s to know what that is I guess.

Our friend, Tim, had asked me what other things I could make once he received all the Post-It-Note Holders I had made for him.  His mind went to business promotion items.  I didn’t help him out much by answering his question with “I can make lots of things”.  That answer is just about as good as saying nothing at all.

So I figured the best thing to do would be a mini “Show & Tell”.  Something functional for his office that may spark an idea that could be used as a reminder and Thank You to their customers.  I’m still trying to think of something that could be made for their team of drivers – like Joe and I.

The photos of the trucks are from my personal photos for my “Foolishness and Mayhem” blog.  The bottom right photo is from Dependable’s website as is their logo.  I just had a thought…..I could make clocks featuring the splendid scenery of these United States since I can’t seem to settle on photos for a calendar.  I’ve got seven of them in the works and don’t like any of them.

I needed some assistance in getting this project started.  Who better to ask than my ever knowledgeable “Scrubby” 😀  I attached the 8″x10″ photo on one side of a piece of 1/4″ board and a piece of design paper on the back.  Joe had drilled a hole in the center of the board for me before I mounted the photo and the backing paper.  Now it was to get the thing secured in the frame.

Enter my “Mr. Fix-It” and his tools 😀

First, he drilled pilot holes around the inside of the frame for the small nails that would secure everything inside.

Setting up to make pilot holes

Setting up to make pilot holes

He worked that skinny drill bit with deft precision….until it broke.

A little bit of a curve

A little bit of a curve

Oops

Oops

Pilot hole

Pilot hole

With a pair of hemostats he got hold of the bitty nail he was going to use.  These little suckers like to fly off in all directions when trying to pick one out of the box.  Then trying to put that bitty nail in the pilot hole was another trick.  So….the hemostats came to his rescue.

Setting the nail in the hole

Setting the nail in the hole

A little tapping and whacking was next.  The hemostat kept his fingers well clear of the brass head of the hammer.   Precautions against the finger whack most hammers love to do.

Tapping into place

Tapping into place

Another tool Joe has is a “Nail Set”.  This little thing has a cup on the end to hold the nail head and there is a metal end on the opposite side for whacking.

Nail set

Nail set

Setting the nail

Setting the nail

Nail set on nail head

Nail set on nail head

The nails are all set and I’m ready to take this back into my craft room and go through the “I think this will work….no it doesn’t” phase.

Nails all attached

Nails all attached

First thing was to try out some flowers.  Any of you that follow me know that I have a real problem with flowers.  I am attempting to overcome this phobia and get past this crazy fear.

Flower auditions

Flower auditions

Then was trying to figure out how to make this a promotional piece.  I must say that this was not an easy thing to do.  I scrapped that idea after fiddling for over an hour and having no success.

Trying for the promotional bit

Trying for the promotional bit

I felt the piece needed some color.  I had started off with the brilliant idea of smearing black acrylic paint all over the wood frame then artfully applying some Rub and Buff.  I got the black paint on well, but the Rub and Buff was the smearing part.  Oh well.  Not too late to change the paint color.  But I didn’t.

Orange flowers to add pop

Orange flowers to add pop

After looking at this frame from a distance and up close I determined that the whole visual thing was off balance.  I have no idea why it seems off balance, it just did.  What to do now?  Well…put more stuff on of course.

Add more stuff

Add more stuff

Once I was happy with the results of it all then it was back to my Mr. Fix-It to help me get the numbers on the face set up.  He brought out more tools for precision.  If my Joe is anything, he is an Engineer at heart and precision is everything 😀

First is to attach a piece of sticky note paper to the area where the number will be placed.

Piece of sticky note as a guide

Piece of sticky note as a guide

Next comes a “Compass” for precise placement of the number.  He’s so good and I’m really glad that he takes such care in his work.

Compass for exact placement

Compass for exact placement

Placement is key.  The number has to line up with the one directly across from it and just the right amount of space above the last number set.  He makes me smile and I can’t help but love him.

Placing the number

Placing the number

 

Placement of the double digits

Placement of the double digits

Now I have a project complete, with the aid of my husband, that I would be proud to give to someone.  Just look at that perfect circle my Joe made.  Yes, I could probably say that I made this clock all by myself and take all the adulation but it would not be the right thing to do.

A perfect circle

A perfect circle

Man we make a great team 😀  Always have 😀

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aspot2stampShelly
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 13:15:11

    Stunning Leslie and Joe 🙂 Love the whole project. The idea of photos from across the U.S. is brilliant Would definately make clients see that He runs a company that goes everywhere. The calendars are also a great idea since most people like the promotional ones business’ give out ( I have one from my pharmacy they give me one every year ) they are the mass produced ones with Norman Rockwell photos so how much nicer would ones be with actual places the company has delivered to. Just my 2 cents here. Again that Joe is amazing I would just have eyeballed it for the clock face even thout I think I have to have everything just so, but I have no engineer training either. Hey maybe you guys could sell premade clockface placements kinda low tack that can be removes after the numbers are attached??? Do they have things like that already?? Ok enough jabbering I am off to downsize my pictures before the small ones arrive and maybe get them posted??? That would be the plan anyway. Hope both Joe and yourself have a fantastic day. Happy New Year tell Joe to be safe as he heads back out on the road.
    Love and Hugs,
    Shelly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 01, 2012 @ 15:28:49

      The calendars are proving to be a problem. More exactly….I am the problem. I can’t decide if I want to do one for each state we go through (I don’t have many photos of several of the states) or if I want to only add the photos to each month where we had been last year. Then I have another one started of all the trucks we had moved last year. I weeded out the trucks that had problems and it turned out to be more of a feature calendar for Wal-Mart 😀 since we did so many of them last year.

      Thank you, Shelly 😀 I had so much fun making the first clock for our mechanic. The last time we were there to drop our pickup off for an oil change the clock was hung in the waiting area. On a wall all to itself in plain view 😀 That made me feel good.

      I’ll have to run your idea of a clock face template by Joe. He’d be the one to figure out how to make one template for several sizes 😀 He is a whiz when it comes to Math.

      I can’t remember, I think I posted a comment to your blog. I love your ornaments. They are just so cute. Happy New Year my Friend. I’m hoping this year will find you and your family in tip top health all year long 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 08:33:44

    Love the clock and yes giving our ages away by remembering Clockwork Orange although I don’t think I ever actually saw the film 🙂
    The clock is a great promotional aid. In another life Rod worked for Robert Bosch on the automotive side and they would hand out promotional clocks in Bosch’s colours. We had one kicking around for years and taught all the children how to tell the time with that old clock!
    Anyway a Happy New Year to you both.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 01, 2012 @ 15:38:39

      When the movie came out there was quite a bit of discussion about it being a “Drug Movie” and we foster girls were not allowed to go see it. I think I’ll have to check it out. Might get a kick out of the clothing that was worn then. Girls with eyeliner that made them look like they had cats eyes and the poufy hair dos. People talk about “Big Hair” now days. They don’t even know what “Big Hair” is until they go back to the early 70’s 😀

      Wow, the Bosch company is quite a big one. They must have kept Rod busy during the time he worked there. I bet your kids would have some memories of their tutoring in telling time.

      Happy New Year to you and Rod. Here’s hoping this will be the year of the house being sold 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

      • gardenpinks
        Jan 01, 2012 @ 16:48:49

        Oh boy I remember that eyeliner 🙂 The amount of times I poked myself in the eye trying to leave fine lines and ending up with mascara running down my cheeks LOL Then hair all backcombed up and hair lacquer sprayed over it all to within an inch of its life so we had shells of hair and anything bounced off 🙂 Hilarious now! What a nightmare that backcombing was to comb out – ouch all those knots and tangles. The best part of the 60s early 70s was when tights came in. I went to an all girls school and we had to wear stockings to school, every morning checking those stockings for ladders and then having to use a coin when a suspender broke!!! Ahhhhh such memories!
        Problem was that tights were horrendously expensive and school desks and seats were renowned for laddering stockings or tights so a rub over with soap or someone’s nail polish to stop the ladder. Then a fashion started in school with laddered tights – to knit them into a bag! We would pester all female relatives to save their laddered tights, we would cut off the panty part and the feet part then cut each leg into a spiral and knit them up on large wooden needles – those bags stretched forever when anything was put in them!! Oh what joys LOL

        Thanks for sparking off such memories Leslie
        Love and hugs
        Lynn xx

  3. Maureen Mathis
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 14:32:16

    What a great idea to create a promotional clock! Adding that functionality will ensure that it will be displayed. Brilliant! Are you going to make a few more items to show him as samples?

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 01, 2012 @ 15:42:23

      Thank you Maureen 😀 While I’m contemplating other promotional items I have been requested to make seven more Post-It-Note holders. These will be “Poker” related for his poker buddies. I finally have the miniature playing cards and I just recently acquired a massive box of poker chips to use on them as well.

      I’m fighting with a box I’m trying to make to fit around the clock. That thing is giving me fits I tell you.

      Happy New Year to you, Charlie, and your kids. Oh, and before I forget…your Mom also 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

