The Man In Black and a rework of KU

Yesterday and all of this morning I have been creating the final two Post-It-Note Holders for my friend.  It was so nice to be able to work on a table that did not avalanche on me.  I had wide open space to work and move around in.  The problem…..trying to remember where I put stuff.

Okay, you remember the fiasco I created for one of the Holders?  The KU one.  I’ll refresh your memory if you need it 🙂

One "Hot Mess"

One "Hot Mess"

The reworked KU Holder is so much better.  I even found a sticker in one of the Tim Holtz “Salvage Stickers” books.  A license plate image for Kansas which I’ve placed at the top right.  I covered a chipboard book plate with blue paper and added red colored Fire Circle brads from Stampin’ Up! to make this piece look like a license plate holder.

Reworked KU Holder

Reworked KU Holder

For my final offering…a tribute of sorts to Johnny Cash.  This Holder was specifically requested by Tim to be made for a friend of his.  The tag is from Club Scrap and I’ve written some details about Mr. Cash’s live recording session at Folsom Prison in 1968.  I went to the Johnny Cash website and looked at the titles of the songs he did throughout his career.  I used a desktop publishing program I have to create the song titles.  Gold musical note stickers were haphazardly applied to the whole piece.

The part I had the most fun with was making the suit out of heavy weight card stock, super light weight black paper, and some text weight black paper with a silver crackle like design.  All of the paper on this Holder is from Club Scrap….except for the Whisper White card stock from Stampin’ Up! I used on the song title pieces.

The Man In Black

The Man In Black

About three years ago I found a website that had templates for suits, shirts, and ties to  make cards for Father’s Day.  The whole series is titled “Suits You”.  I can’t find them anywhere online now to refer you to.  If anyone has the information for this website please pass it on to me so I can link to them.

I printed the templates out on my printer at 45% size.  I could barely see the template image but it still worked for me.

Suit coat template

Suit coat template

Using repositional adhesive I  attached the template pieces to the heavy weight black card stock then cut the pieces out .

Repositionable tape to attach template

Repositionable tape to attach template

After I cut the pieces out, leaving the template attached, I used my ruler and bone folder to mark all of the places that will be folded.

Score all fold lines

Score all fold lines

I removed the template piece then folded all of the scored areas on the suit piece.

Fold on all score lines

Fold on all score lines

Next was the template piece for the shirt.  I attached these pieces to the light weight patterned paper with repositionable adhesive as well.

Attach template to design paper then cut out and score

Attach template to design paper then cuto out and score

Last was to do the neck tie.

Neck tie template

Neck tie template

My next job is to create boxes for all of these Holders.  That shouldn’t take very long to do and I hope to have these all done by tomorrow.

The plan is for Joe to deliver these to our friend on his way through Joplin, Missouri as he heads up near Chicago to deliver trucks.  I have him home today.  While he gets his outside work done I’m doing my work.  Later today we will just relax and enjoy each others company 😀

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda
    Dec 18, 2011 @ 16:12:18

    CONGRATS on finishing up your big project! I’ve really enjoyed and learned from all the successes (and travails!) you’ve had creating them. A VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS to you and Joe!

    Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 15:18:25

    Love the reworked one and the man in black. And now “only” the boxes to be done!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This has been an amazing project and well done for getting through it 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 20, 2011 @ 19:02:32

      Thank you Lynn. I’m really pleased with the rework of the KU thing. The Johnny Cash (Man In Black) piece was fun to work on. Yes, only the boxes remain and I was a bit intimidated by them since I’ve never made boxes NOT from a template before. I knew there would be fractions involved and that was going to be my undoing. Happily, it worked out well.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

