There is no such thing as FAILURE. It is only a RESULT.

Crafting of any kind has its share of RESULTS that don’t quite go as desired.  That does not mean you have FAILED, it just means you have learned something.

Every new project or technique has a “Learning Curve”.  You can’t avoid it.  In fact, it is the very thing that propels you on to greatness.

Thomas Edison has said…”Just because something doesn’t do what you planned it to do in the first place doesn’t mean it’s useless….

You may not think you are “Inventing” anything as necessary and useful as Thomas Edison had, but that is not true.  You are “Inventing” exactly the same as he was.  Something that is necessary and useful to you, a family member, or a friend.  You are also “Inventing” YOURSELF.  Albeit the tools and products are different the process is exactly the same.   You have any idea….you gather your tools and products….you begin the creative process….and then you have a RESULT.

I have been making these Post-It-Note Holders for several weeks now.  Sometimes the ideas are a rushing river and I can’t keep up with them.  Other times, like I’m experiencing now, the journey down the river is slowed and I have to work harder at getting somewhere.  And there are times, like yesterday, I struggled and struggled and finally ran aground.  I’ve hit a sand bar in the river and I’m stuck with a wreck 😀

A result, not a failure

A result, not a failure

Because I have “Perfectionist” tendencies this Holder is not up to my “Standard”.  It took all day long to create this train wreck.  Everything I tried to keep this thing from coming off the tracks only hastened its eventual catastrophe.

I have a choice now.  Totally quit making any more of the Holders and never do them again and disappoint my friend, or I can start over today knowing that I have a good foundation but I need to back the pieces I’ve outlined with Stampin’ Up!’s Basic Black Stampin’ Write Marker with black card stock instead.

The way you THINK creates the way something will go.  If you think you are starting out with a train wreck you will end up with one.  I will tell you how this one began falling apart over a week ago.

I know, from past experience, that adding Glossy Accents to a sticker is best done while the sticker is still attached to the sheet.  It has full adhesion and will not warp or curl in the drying process if it is still stuck on the sheet.

Glossy Accents applied to a sticker

Glossy Accents applied to a sticker

Attempting to get the same results from an image printed on card stock I taped the image down on the top of my freezer then applied the Glossy Accents to the images.

Glossy Accents over a printed image

Glossy Accents over a printed image

Every time I checked on these drying I saw them curl, the Glossy Accents pooled in places leaving a really weird wavy surface.

I attempted to iron the back side of the bear image to heat up the Glossy Accents and smooth the waves out.  The result?  I had texture impressions from the cloth I had the Glossy Accent side facing while I ironed the paper back.  Then I tried the heat tool to smooth out the texture impressions and ended up with bubbles.

Attempting to iron out the waves

Attempting to iron out the waves

Each time I looked at these images taped to the freezer surface and seeing the results I was getting…I did not think analytically and say to myself “Well, that doesn’t work.  I’ll just print more and try something different”.  No.  I castigated myself for doing something so stupid and “It is a failure before I even start”.  That was how I talked myself into the eventual catastrophe I made yesterday.

I did not focus on the success I had with the Bruins Holder by printing the image over again and doing something different with it.  I focused on the problem and how I had wasted quite a bit of product and ended up with bad results.

My focus was on the problem

My focus was on the problem

It is imperative that you give yourself some slack.  You (I) have to let go of the problem and see what else you can do.  Stick to it.  Keep trying.  Don’t give up.

Another good quote from Thomas Edison is “The three things that are most essential to achievement are common sense, hard work and stick-to-it-iv-ness…..

I printed another image on Whisper White card stock.  This time I tried a different technique.  Using a “Versa-Marker” to color in an area of the image…

VersaMarker

VersaMarker

Color in an area with the marker

Color in an area with the marker

Add the embossing powder of your choice.  My choice was Clear.  Pour it on as usual and then tap off the excess.

Pour on the embossing powder

Pour on the embossing powder

Tap off the excess

Tap off the excess

Then heat the products as usual.  I did get the final results I wanted with the heat embossing that I attempted with the Glossy Accents.

Final results is a shiny image

Final results is a shiny image

Yesterday’s work has some results I will take on to another project.  Hopefully most of the things I’ve attached to this holder can be removed without damage and reused.  Some things I will not be able to remove.

I have an abundance of chipboard embellishments I can’t seem to get as excited about as I did when I saw them on the store shelf 😀  Trace around them on card stock, cut it out, and attach to the chipboard piece.

Chipboard embellishments

Chipboard embellishments

Select the shape desired

Select the shape desired

Cover the shapes with card stock and create your own design or embellishment.

Cover the shape

Cover the shape

Dig through your stash for letter stickers.  I’ve had these for years…seriously since 2006.

Use the long forgotten letter stickers

Use the long forgotten letter stickers

Keep in mind that sometimes “Less is More”.  If you don’t like what you see then walk away from it.  Give yourself a break.

I was on the right track

I was on the right track

If you push on when you know that you really ought to stop….you end up with this.

Should'a, could'a, would'a

Should'a, could'a, would'a

Am I totally bummed about the results?  No…mildly irritated.  The good thing here is that I have created about 20 of the Holders and have only two (2) that have not come out well.  To have a 1% awful rate is really good, in my opinion.

Besides, I learned some things that I can use on other projects.  I have a lot of cr….stuff in my craft room that I need to get acquainted with.

If you take anything away from my babbling today….take this away.  THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS FAILURE.  IT IS ONLY A RESULT 😀

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 12:19:53

    F. Forget
    A. About
    I. It,
    L. Leslie.
    U. You
    R. Are
    E. Evolving.
    or
    Expressing Yourself
    or
    Experienced now and will never do it again

    Take your pick.
    That is all.

    Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 17:24:45

    NOT failure as you discovered and, as you said, 1% not quite right is not half bad:)
    I love most chipboard shapes/letters but rarely use paper on them; I use inks, paints or UTEE – Ultra Thick Embossing Enamel/powder or a mixture, ink or paint as a base coat then ep on top. Ordinary embossing powder can be used just use more layers. Put UTEE or embossing powder into a small plastic container, large enough to take the shape you are working on. Press shape into Versamark pad and cover with clear embossing powder/UTEE and heat with heat gun, while still hot but melted and using tweezers put shape embossed side down into container and press into EP, fish out and heat with gun. Do this several times until you are pleased wih effect but for the final coat I then sprinkle a coloured ep over the still hot shape and use heat gun. I use this technique on wooden letters/shapes as well. Did this on the letters for my junque journal and they look metallic.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 16, 2011 @ 07:13:27

      Lynn!!! Thank you. I’ll have to give this a try. I looked at a bottle of UTEE at Michaels before Thanksgiving and left it on the shelf. I was not prepared to spend $32 right then.

      Do you have to sand the chipboard letters before beginning the embossing technique? The letters I wanted to use on the KU piece were pretty slick on the surface and I sanded them for the Mod Podge to adhere.

      My friend, you are chock full of ideas that are AWESOME. I’m so grateful for you 🙂 Not just because of your ideas but because you are my Friend.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. gardenpinks
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 18:51:52

    I have never sanded chipboard or wood letters before using the embossing ink, that is quite sticky anyway. $32????? Heck that is expensive for UTEE. Like any other embossing powder UTEE is relatively cheap and the only difference is that UTEE has coarser granules than every day embossing powder and it lasts a long time. Rather than buy UTEE use any clear embossing powder initially and do three or four layers; remember if the last layer has cooled down before applying the next then either reheat with the heat gun or press onto the embossing ink pad again. I have found that layering the embossing powder onto each other because the previous layer was still hot enough for the powder to adhere is better than using the ink again. It should come up as clear a glass by the last layer.
    Have fun!

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

