Butterflies and football

The butterfly has been saved from the trash bin 🙂

Salvaged the butterfly

Salvaged the butterfly

After cutting it free from the mess I made, it was attached using Mod Podge to a sanded motel key.

Mounted to a motel key

Mounted to a motel key

The back was glued to a scrap of paper from the DCWV Mariposa paper and cut out.

Back side covered in paper

Back side covered in paper

Heating one wing with the heat tool I pressed the wing against a ceramic tile I use.  I kept watch for any buckling during this process to make sure it was not over heated.

Heat and press against the tile

Heat and press against the tile

The base is covered with paper from Club Scrap, the focal piece is from DCWV Mariposa stack that I “fussy cut”.  The Post-It-Note cover is a piece of Real Red from Stampin’ Up! and a scrap from Mariposa is added to decorate the cover.  I have twisted wire for antennae and added fake pearls to the top.  The edges of the butterfly I’ve covered using a Krylon gold pen.

Butterfly  holder

Butterfly holder

This has been my attempt to make the butterfly look as though it has just landed.  It is attached to the cover using E6000.

Butterfly attached to cover

Butterfly attached to cover

The next one I made is fairly “plain” compared to the rest I’ve made.  The base paper is from an S-E-I Moonrise stack.  The Post-It-Note cover is also from the same stack.  I’ve stamped a Club Scrap image on a piece of Whisper White from Stampin’ Up! using Tea Dye Distress Ink from Ranger.  The sentiment is also from Club Scrap and it is stamped using Black Staz-On ink.

Another butterfly theme

Another butterfly theme

Post-It-Note cover

Post-It-Note cover

Tim has requested that I make three holders representing the colleges for specific people in his life.  I went on the Internet and did some Google searching to find the images for each particular college mascot.

This first one is for Tim’s Dad.  He is a UCLA Bruins fan.  The base is covered in Brilliant Blue from Stampin’ Up! and the Post-It-Note cover is Close To Cocoa from Stampin’ Up!.  I printed the football terms I created on a piece of Stampin’ Up!’s Whisper White card stock then pounced it with Scattered Straw and Broken China Distress Stains from Ranger.  I highlighted the “50 Yard” with a book plate from Stampin’ Up!’s Hodge Podge collection.

UCLA Bruins

UCLA Bruins

The football play diagram is from a Google search and printed on Whisper White card stock and the edges were inked with Walnut Stain Distress Ink from Ranger.  The stickers (football with a flame following, the 50 yard line image, and the epoxy sticker 1st & 10) are from various sheets I have purchased from Scrap Your Trip and adhered to chipboard for most of them.  The epoxy sticker is placed atop a piece of scrap paper I have from Scrap Your Trip.

I’ve used my Cricut to cut out the letters for the name using Yo Yo Yellow and Brilliant Blue from Stampin’ Up!.  The background is a scrap piece of Close To Cocoa, also from Stampin’ Up!.

I have two more to make today.  One for the Oklahoma State University Cowboys and the Kansas University Jayhawks.  Tim has made a special request to have a Johnny Cash one made for a friend and colleague.  That one is tickling my brain with some Club Scrap papers I have in my stash.  It is just a tickle right now.

I hope to have this project completed by this weekend so I can begin creating the boxes for these holders.  Shar has a YouTube video on making gift boxes that I’m going to be using.  Thank you Shar for doing this video.

Okay, off to get glue covered and ink stained fingers 😀

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    Dec 14, 2011 @ 12:12:55

    How fun that you’re almost done with your commissioned assignment, and it’s been fun in the process. Isn’t it great knowing that he put so much thought into them?

    Hopefully, I’ll get some craft time in today. I’m going over to a friend’s house to “babysit” her. She was in a horrible car accident the weekend before Thanksgiving, and broke her neck, collar bone, scapula, and several ribs. Her neck fracture was really high, and we are so lucky that she is even alive. They were less than a mile from her home, and had just finished one of those Warrior Dash type runs when they were rear ended by an 18 wheeler or a tractor trailer (I don’t really know the difference between the two) who apparently had let his insurance lapse. Can you imagine the irresponsibility of people?

    Her husband and sophomore son were badly injured too. Her son has a broken ribs and a broken pelvis and just found out last week that he also tore his meniscus in his knee and will need knee surgery over the holidays. He’s a big football player, and is understandibly depressed about being so physically hampered. Her husband broke several ribs and has a pulmonary hemotoma, and will probably need surgery to remove the clot around the lungs, too. Horrible, horrible, horrible.

    Anyway, I’ve been cooking some for them and babysitting her periodically because they don’t want her home alone, as she’s in one of those halo things and would be in a real bind if she were to fall while home alone. I took over some gingerbread cookie dough last week, and made her roll them out and bake them to get her in the holiday spirit a bit. Today I think I’ll take some cardmaking supplies over and have her make some cards to send to those who are helping the family out. Hopefully, it will make her feel like she’s giving a little something back while others are helping her family out. It’s not often that us moms are on the receiving end of so much help, and I think it’s been hard on her. ANYWAY, hopefully she’ll be willing to work on a few cards. Sometimes, I just get her outside and take her for long walks; she really misses being outside as she is a dedicated runner, and I think benefits mentally as well as physically from being outdoors and exerting herself. She’s determined to walk in a 5K with her sister in Dallas on New Years Day, so I want to help her train for it. I told her that she’s going to be getting ME into shape at the same time, and that she’s ministering to me by exercising me. I think I need a LOT more training time, though! Baby steps, though, right?

    Wish me luck!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 14, 2011 @ 15:04:57

      YOU are my HERO!!

      I’m so sorry to hear about your friend and her family. What happened to that family is criminal, in my opinion anyway.

      Wow! I’m stunned that she is able to move around so well. Good for her. And good for you to be able to accompany her. You can hope that she doesn’t leave you behind in her goal of getting ready for a marathon. At least not at first while you are getting fit to keep up with her. GO YOU 😀

      I think you have so much to offer her in keeping her spirits up. Card making is a fantastic idea. Help her fine motor skills, too.

      Keep us posted on the family’s recovery and your marathon training.

      Girlfriend…you are AWESOME!!

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Dec 14, 2011 @ 17:30:03

    Oh Maureen poor family, that is a dreadful thing to happen to them. Will the driver be prosecuted? Your friend sounds as though she will not be beaten; hope her son and husband also make good recoveries. What a friend you are – at times like these people really do find out who their true friends are.

    Leslie I am so happy that you were able to use that gorgeous butterfly and you have made a beautiful job of it too. He looks wonderful and really adds something to that holder. The other ones are great and love that backing paper – Moonrise Stack. You are very creative with the specific ones, well done you.

    What have you decided, if anything, to do with the one that has the flourishes background paper??

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

