I’m getting the silent treatment in my craft room.

I have one holder that is very reluctant to be part of the creative process.  So much so that I have a creative block right now.  Only thing to do is just quit for the day.

I’ve been in my craft room all day.  Taking advantage of a cold and dreary Sunday to hole up inside my home and knock a few more Post-It-Note Holders out.  This final one has really got me stymied.  Maybe I have been trying to force it to be something that it does not want to be.

The paper is embossed with a flourish design.  It is part of a stack from DCWV “Family Connections”.  The flourish runs down the right hand side of the 12 x 12 paper.  I wanted to have the embossed flourish at the top left because I did not want the flourish to be covered by the Post-It-Note cover.

DCWV Family Connections

DCWV Family Connections

My first mistake was to use Distress Stains of such vivid colors atop a Tim Holtz embossing folder image of clocks.  The clock faces were too large for the delicate flourish and the bright colors unbalanced the whole thing.

Then I got the brilliant idea to use a Sizzix “Filigree Clock” die I’ve had forever.  That just made everything worse instead of better.  The flowers I have been trying to use are the wrong color, too large, and further causing me creative distress.

Sizzix Filigree Clock

Sizzix Filigree Clock

Maybe if I made the Filigree Clock piece the cover of the Post-It-Note.  That didn’t work either.

Filigree Clock in a different position

Filigree Clock in a different position

Still trying to force this piece to carry two large items in such a small area without success.

Still not working

Still not working

Before I finally gave up I decided to try some things that are on a smaller scale and fit better on the Holder.  That is when I decided to just quit for the day.  Maybe tomorrow I will get an idea or I’ll just chuck this whole set of things into a scrap pile to be used some other time.

Smaller scale items

Smaller scale items

The day has not been a total loss.  I have had a good time in my craft room.  Stepping out of my comfort zone and trying new things.

I used Graphic 45’s Wizard of Oz papers, some green bling, and some Twinkling H2O’s around the edges of the chipboard pieces I made from the papers.

Graphic 45 Wizard of Oz

Graphic 45 Wizard of Oz

Next was paper from 7 Gypsies of an odd map.  The “transportation” image is from a stamp I purchased from Club Scrap several years ago.  The sticker images are from a Tim Holtz set.  The thing I did that was not normal for me was use ribbon to “mark” a path of travel.  The weigh points are noted by clear rhinestones.  The different modes of transportation are near or on the ribbon lines.

Travel theme

Travel theme

The next one is so far out of my comfort zone that I think it just caused me to fry a circuit 😀

I’ve used a Sizzix die called “Dresden Plate and Petal”, which I’ve had for several years.  The lace trims are a recent purchase…within the last month.  The clear beads are from a spool I’ve had for a while.  I used a Stampin’ Up! border punch which made the cover piece too small so I had to improvise and add another punched piece.  Feathers and flowers to hide the bottom of the “fan” and another piece of lace with a green satin ribbon on the cover.  Ribbon is Certainly Celery from Stampin’ Up! and the lace is from a fabric store.  The papers for the fan are from Graphic 45 – Le’ Romantique.

Sizzix die Dresden Plate and Petal

Sizzix die Dresden Plate and Petal

Three out of four today is not bad.  I’ve tried several new things and have succeeded in my attempts.  One reluctant Holder out of the bunch, I figure, is pretty good.

There is always tomorrow.  Maybe my brain will come out of shock 😀  One can only  hope anyway 😀

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Dec 12, 2011 @ 17:08:32

    The three completed one look lovely; the one with all the lace edging is very pretty and feminine 🙂
    For the fourth one forget the flowers! That is a beautiful flourish paper and I like the rhinestones and pearls but those flowers are too strident. How about feathers? Or a hat with feathers? A green hat perhaps with flourishes stamped on and small feathers?? Can you see a mindset here? You did the right thing with walking away and leaving it. Me? I’d have chucked it out of the window, I don’t have much patience although Rod says I’m a persistent litle devil 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 13, 2011 @ 08:50:03

      I will take your suggestions and play around with this one a little more. Flowers….as you say….my “bet noir”.

      Sometimes, persistence is the way to move through a block and succeed. This time, however, I think the best thing is to just leave it for now and get my brain unwound (from all the lace and flowers :D) for that particular one to finally “talk” to me and tell me what IT wants to be 🙂

      Yes, I’m barking mad, looney, have bats in my belfry, one sandwich short of a picnic. It’s my “tail” and I’m going to sit on it 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

