What NOT to do with Twinkling H2O’s

Spritzing after Twinkling H2O's application

Spritzing after Twinkling H2O's application

Do not spritz any kind of shimmery mist over the Twinkling H2O’s after you have painstakingly painted with them.  My advice….spritz FIRST and let it dry before you add the Twinkling H2O’s.  Just saying.

I think I can salvage the butterflies.

Salvage what you can

Salvage what you can

If you have seen my video on using hotel key cards, and my warning to not use a heat tool on them.  Well, I’m planning on using the heat tool on this one.  I want to see if the butterfly will appear to be in flight.

An experiment in the process

An experiment in the process

Do you remember the paper Stampin’ Up! had available at the beginning of this year?  The paper that is “magic”?

Stampin' Up! paper

Stampin' Up! paper

Now do you remember it?

Voilla!

Voilla!

Tim has requested five (5) holders for his pre-teen and teen nieces.  Gulp!  We no longer have these young people in our homes.  I had to go think about this for a while.

My thinking  is the following:  Justin Bieber is hot right now but no girl would want to have him hanging around when she is 20.  Twilight and Harry Potter likewise.  My granddaughters have all told me that they love the things I make for them because they are “Grown Up” things and not the current fad.

So I am taking a tip from Jann at WhatYouMakeIt.  I am going to play around with Distress Stains and hopefully the base cover piece will turn out beautiful.  Hope, hope, hope.

The colors I’m using are Wild Honey….see the photo above for that color.

Peeled Paint.

Peeled Paint Distress Stain

Peeled Paint Distress Stain

Broken China

Broken China Distress Stain

Broken China Distress Stain

And finally, Spun Sugar.

Spun Sugar Distress Stain

Spun Sugar Distress Stain

I’m not entirely thrilled with the placement of the Spun Sugar but you never know…it might turn out to be a stroke of genius when I have the Holder completed…..or not.

All stained up

All stained up

I’ve been doing the things I’m familiar and comfortable with.  Time to step out of my comfort zone.  Besides, it is not like I don’t have enough of the 7″ x 7″ cardboard pieces.  I do have three sheets of the cardboard in my Living Room right now so no big deal if I mess one of them up.

I forgot to mention in the video.  At the store where I bought the cardboard sheets, they sell for $1.65 for a piece that measures 36″ x 48″.

Why don’t I have those sheets in my craft room?  You don’t want to know.  Seriously…you don’t want to know.

 

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 19:27:38

    Ah but we do want to know!!
    What a shame about the piece you spritzed, it looked gorgeous and Twinkling H2Os on butterflies are exquisite. I love my Twinkling H2Os but don’t use them enough.
    YOU HAVE GOT STAINS!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am green with envy, these are on my wish list and that piece of ‘magic’ paper looks terrific. I well remember the magic paper as I told you that I love that and stains work so well on it. I even like the spun sugar part 🙂 Oh those teens and pre-teens wil love it.
    How many more have you got to do now?

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 10, 2011 @ 10:01:39

      After watching Jann do her tutorial on staining things I thought I’d give it a whack. She makes it look so easy 😦 Well, nothing ventured – nothing gained.

      I’ve lost count on how many I’ve created thus far. I think I am at 15. Tim wants 5 for teens and pre-teens and 3 he has specific college motifs he wants made. So I’m getting close now 😀 Joe has left for Dallas and is off for the next two weeks or so. I will have uninterrupted time now to finish these, makes boxes for them, and then get them mailed out to Tim. That is the plan anyway 😀

      Love you by Friend – Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Dec 10, 2011 @ 14:51:42

    So will Joe be back in time for Christmas? Do hope so.
    So why isn’t that cardboard in your craft room?? Peeps want to know!

    Jann always makes things look so easy 🙂 You have done a great job though with the stains and they really make that paper look super 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 11, 2011 @ 06:09:46

      Yes, Joe will be home for Christmas. He’s planning on being home by the 20th and remaining through most of January. That last part is unlikely to happen. If he doesn’t have something to do he gets antsy and grumpy.

      I think I’ll spend a couple hours this morning watching Jann’s videos, again, to get some inspiration on this stained piece. I also have something in mind using one of the frame pieces you sent me last year. I’m not going to tell you just yet. I’m going to make it a surprise 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. gardenpinks
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 13:16:49

    Oooh I can’t wait, I love surprises!!

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

