Four more today

There would have been five (5) completed today but one has a coat of Glossy Accents and it needs to dry thoroughly before I can finish it.  Tomorrow it will be done.

My goodness, I had no idea that I have accumulated so much cr… er …. stuff.  Today has been a little tough, only in corralling my creativity.  Today was almost an “Over The Top” kind of day.

The first one I finished this morning took well over two hours.  Not because it was hard, but because I kept trying to add more, and more, and more to the Holder.  I nearly ran amok 😀

SEWING:

The background paper is from Club Scrap.  I have the entire set of papers that is of a sewing theme.  I even have a rubber stamp of the dress form and a hemming guide.  Plus I have a recent Tim Holtz purchase of the Dress Form die.  I also have the “Sew Suite” from Stampin’ Up!.

Sewing theme

Sewing theme

This poor Holder nearly became a chaotic mess with all the sewing related items I have.  A collage would have been more tasteful than what I had just about done.  As it is I am very  happy with how this turned out.

Club Scrap has a paper set called “I Spy”.  A scrap of that is what I’ve used for the “wooden” part of the dress form.  A scrap of some other paper, I don’t remember who it is from, and a scrap from the Mariposa paper have made up the dress.  This was FUN!!

Scraps used with the Tim Holtz Dress Form die

Scraps used with the Tim Holtz Dress Form die

I have some microbeads, which I’ve had since about 2006.  I wanted to make the top part of the “dress” to sparkle but I didn’t want to use glitter.  The microbeads give it the shine I wanted but it also does not overpower the beauty of the “dress”…in my humble opinion 🙂

Microbeads

Microbeads

 

Shiny :-)

Shiny 🙂

PHOTOGRAPHY:

The next Holder I made, the goal was to make it neuter with no gender being dominant.  The “Film Strip” is a Sizzix die I’ve had forever, as is the corrugated paper.  Both are from around 2006.  The photo is a post card from the Bakersfield, California area where we spent quite a bit of the summer this year.  The papers, background and Post-It-Note flap are from Club Scrap and are from two different collections.

The rubber stamps are also from Club Scrap.  I used Stampin’ Up! Craft White ink to stamp the camera image on black paper then added white embossing powder and heat set the two images.  I stamped the quote with Stampin’ Up!’s Basic Black ink on Whisper White card stock.

Photography theme

Photography theme

A PROPER GENTLEMAN:

The next Holder is masculine.  The papers are mostly from Graphic 45’s “A Proper Gentleman”.  The Post-It-Note flap piece is from Graphic 45’s “Communique” papers.  The brown felt ribbon is from Stampin’ Up!, as is the pin stripe background paper.  This one was pretty fun to make.  Joe’s comment on this one was “This is tasteful and elegant”.  Not that I was going for that.

A Proper Gentleman

A Proper Gentleman

WHAT’S UP DOC?:

The final one I did finish today is a mixture of Tim Holtz stamps and Club Scrap stamps.  On the left are Tim Holtz stamps and a Facet Charm of Tim Holtz.  Since I had the idea to make this one vision related I thought the Facet would be fun to add to represent eyeglasses :D.

The stamps used on the Post-It-Note flap are from Club Scrap.  These two sets have worked well together.  The red ribbon is from Stampin’ Up! and is Real Red 1/8″ Gross Grain.  I have no idea if this ribbon is still available to purchase or not.

What's Up Doc?

What's Up Doc?

The epoxy sticker is one I’ve had since 2007.

The fifth Holder I’ve been working on today is a die cut from Tim Holtz and is of an old car.  I used some black “suede” paper and some gold metallic paper from Club Scrap to make the car.  I needed Joe’s help in getting this car to look more like a car and dress it up a bit.

I brought him a bunch of colored pens and markers, mainly because he requested Red.  He made photocopies of the Tim Holtz die cut to have something to do a mock up on and work out what it was Joe thought would be suitable.

Joe pressed in to be Scrubby

Joe pressed in to be Scrubby

This one will have to wait until tomorrow to finish.  At this point I have a total of 14 finished for Tim and I have about the same amount yet to do.  Tomorrow I need to pull more papers and embellishments.  Get them put in sleeves for a basic idea of what I’m going to do with them.  Then I need to get about 10 more 7″ x 7″ cardboard pieces glued and covered.

We’ll see how long this creative streak lasts.  I’m sure having fun with this project and pushing my boundaries.  Flowers…you notice there are none today.  Still a bit afraid of those buggers.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tina kuhlmann
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 19:35:07

    these are awesome!! u are so creative. u need to do a video from start to finish as these would make wonderful xmas gifts. i would really like to learn to make these. but don’t have a clue where to start. and i love ur videos

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 05, 2011 @ 06:58:08

      Tina, thank you for leaving a comment on my blog. I appreciate you 🙂 At your request, I will make a video on how to make these. Truly, these are easy to make…or I wouldn’t be making them :D. Besides, I have to get another set of bases made today and that is the first step and requires an approximately 24 hour drying time. The rest of the time is spent in fussing and second guessing yourself 😀

      Thank you, again, for your comment.
      Leslie

      Reply

  2. Maureen Mathis
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 22:25:37

    I think you do your best work WITHOUT flowers. I really like the clean designs of these today, and I think you’re just hitting your stride. You most definitely have used just the right amount and combinations of embellishments and patterned papers.

    You rock, girlfriend!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 05, 2011 @ 06:45:39

      Thank you, very much for your kind words 🙂 I appreciate your comment 🙂 Most times I feel inadequate because I have such a hard time with the flowers. Maybe it would be best to leave the flowers to those that know what they are doing with them and just stick to what makes me comfortable.

      Love you Girlfriend – Leslie

      Reply

  3. gardenpinks
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 16:03:29

    Beautiful creations Leslie and such an artistic eye for detail. I think you can use flowers well but if you aren’t comfortable using them then don’t! Don’t beat yourself up about this, do what is fun and enjoyable to you.
    I have a hard job with ribbon…love all the colours and have quite a stash of ribbon but I am not comfortable using it on my cards as it always looks (to me) like I’ve got a piece of ribbon so must use it 🙂 Same with paper..love paper ( well some of it) but have a hard job using it on cards as I can never make it look right so, like the ribbon, I use it up in other ways such as making ornaments or origami flowers (as in my Kusadamo ball). Don’t sweat the little stuff (as you Americans are fond of saying!):)

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 07, 2011 @ 18:37:54

      Aren’t we a pair? 😀 You ribbons, me flowers. How about a challenge? Are you up for one? What would it be? A card front piece? A 6 x 6 collage piece? Let me now when you want to give this a whack 😀

      Thank you for your sweet words of praise. I appreciate them.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  4. gardenpinks
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 19:43:19

    A challenge would be great! Let’s get Christmas out of the way and we’ll all participate in a challenge to use some of that stash and ‘stuff’ that challenges us!!
    Think we talked about this before and I recall that Shelly was up for it too 🙂 Perhaps a challenge per fortnight or something along those lines?? Now what if we had some containers and each container stood for a colour, card/collage, flowers, ribbon, paper, etc and we decided on the basics e.g stamps, colouring medium, etc?????????????? What do you think? Then each container had papers in them with contents on each piece and a piece was pulled out of say 3 containers each challenge? Is that clear as mud?
    I’d love this, I need to get out of my comfort zone.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 08, 2011 @ 07:22:13

      Love your idea!! Have you ever taken part in a challenge or a swap? I have not but have thought about it.

      After the Christmas festivities are over would be a great time to start this. And every fortnight (two weeks) would be time enough to complete a challenge. Everything you have mentioned is something I need to step into 😀 and conquer my fears of.

      Let’s do this….maybe we can wrangle Shelly, Maureen, and Jann into participating 😀

      Love you my Friend – Leslie

      Reply

      • gardenpinks
        Dec 08, 2011 @ 17:44:37

        I am involved in a few swaps on two of the forums I visit – with one forum we have swapped decorated dominoes and do a monthly postcard swap based on a theme. There is also an ATC swap for the end of January based on Alice in Wonderland which I hate!!!! On the other forum we have done a Christmas card swap and chllenges are set too but I haven’t yet joined in any of the challenges but hope to in the New Year.
        With the first forum we are given swap partners to send our items/postcards to but in the second forum all swaps are sent to a hostess who then posts out the swaps.
        I also join in a Virtual Challenge which I’ve mentioned on my blog.

        I like challenges because they push your boundaries more but you don’t have to send them to anyone so no one can see all your inky fingerprints or mistakes 🙂

        Love and hugs
        Lynn xx

      • Message In A Fold
        Dec 09, 2011 @ 16:47:49

        Someday…I’m going to be part of a swap. Something I’ve wanted to do for years and have blamed it on my job. Not being home all the time. 2012 will be different 😀

        Beginning with a challenge with you and whom ever else wants to participate 😀

        Love you – Leslie

  5. gardenpinks
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 19:20:17

    The beauty of swaps and challenges is that you can dip into and out of….you are not committed to them 365 days per year. So when you do find yourself at home you can participate for that period and pick up later 🙂

    I’m looking forward to our challenge 🙂 Have you thought any more about creating a calendar with your beautiful photos?

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 10, 2011 @ 09:09:06

      Ah, the calendar. I have seven of them in the process. My philosophy stinks. “If one is good, more is better”.

      Truthfully, the first one started out as a collage of photos each month for each state we went through. I had more photos than months and spent way too much time in the picking, choosing, cut and paste mode from one page to the next.

      The second one I decided would be only of one state in entirety. That is sitting on the sidelines with January and February filled, March partially, and April has one photo. I got bored with that one.

      The third one is only of boulders and mountains with a few photos of trees. That one I got to June.

      The fourth one is all flowers. Again, I wanted to do these photos by month and by state for the variety of flowers. I got to August on that one.

      The fifth one is a mish mash of carved bears, flowers, mountain ranges, the eagle on its nest, and the tree growing out of the rock. I got through March with that one.

      The sixth one has photos through May of the various ships and maritime museums we have been to, including the Statue of Liberty. That one is through September.

      The final one has two photos in it. The Statue of Liberty and the skyline of the Lincoln Memorial around Washington, D.C.

      I don’t think I am the person to do calendars. I can’t remain objective and clinical. I love all of the photos and each one is just as amazing as the next one 😦

      I’ve been toying with making a calendar of odd places. Like in Goldfield, Nevada. A town that is for sale….or was when we went through there many years ago. Old building falling down, a few others that have been restored, one house made from soda pop bottles encased in dried mud (adobe). Another set of photos is of an old railroad town that is a ghost town now and is almost lost to the weeds.

      So, as you can see. I’m not having much success with the calendar bit 😀

      As to the swaps, I thought a person had to do them always once they started. From what you are telling me it is by the choice of the participants. Thank you for letting me know that. I’ll have to give it some more thought…after I’m finished with Tim’s Holders.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

