The things I found hidden in my stash

I have five more Post-It-Note Holders that I’ve created.  These five are for the women in Tim’s life.  I still have not heard from him so I am winging it and having a blast.

I did a little experimenting with flowers.  Someday I hope to be more confident in creating flowers than I am now.  Until then I’ll just keep playing with them until I do become confident.

Now, I’ve not seen this technique used on YouTube or read it in a blog.  Please keep in mind that I am experimenting and you will just have to consider the source here….ditz sometimes 🙂

I have a container of plain Prima Flowers.

Plain Prima flowers

Plain Prima flowers

I have used my own “brew” of shimmer spritz.  A little of another color bled through to this flower from the paper towel.  Gives it a bit of character 🙂

My brew of shimmer spritz

My brew of shimmer spritz

Now for the experimenting part.  I have some measuring spoons with deep bowls.

Measuring spoons

Measuring spoons

I have put the wet flower in the bowl of one of the spoons.  The 1/2 teaspoon size and pressed it in to seat it.

Wet flower in measuring spoon

Wet flower in measuring spoon

Then I used my heat tool to dry the flower and to set it in the bowl shape.

Heat tool to dry the flower

Heat tool to dry the flower

Using the 1 Tablespoon I did the same with another flower piece and the leaf piece.

1 Tablespoon for next flower

1 Tablespoon for next flower

1 Tablespoon for the leaves

1 Tablespoon for the leaves

The flowers held the shape I dried them in.  The brad I used as the center was a bit too big and flattened them out a bit, but it still turned out pretty good.

In my stash I dug up some feathers, a bit of bling flourish (hidden behind the feathers), and some ribbon for the first Holder I made.  The focal papers are from Graphic 45 “On The Boardwalk” and I really like them.

The Post-It-Note cover is a piece from Club Scrap that I will be using tomorrow in my next go round.

On The Boardwalk

On The Boardwalk

You see the flower I made with the measuring spoons?  It is up in the top right corner of the Holder.  Oh, and I forgot…the button is from my stash also.

The next Holder’s focal papers are from Graphic 45 “Le’ Romantique”.  I really like how this one turned out.  Mainly because I didn’t make the flowers.  They were from my stash of silk flowers from Hobby Lobby or Michaels.  The lace trim is from my stash, as is the beaded trim that I’ve been trying to figure out why I bought it in the first place.  I really like this beaded trim.  I’ll have to find more uses for it 🙂

Feathers and pearl flourishes are from my stash and I’ve used a Stampin’ Up! punch to make the border of the lid piece on the cover of the Post-It-Notes.

Le' Romantique

Le' Romantique

The next Holder has ribbon from my stash.  Another purchase I made and have not found a use for in over a year.  What can I say.  It has shiny bits, and I’m attracted to shiny stuff 🙂

If you’ve seen my videos, you may remember the centerpiece of the Post-It-Note cover from my tutorial on “Serendipity Squares”.  Again, from my stash.  The red paper is from Club Scrap.  That covers the cardboard base.

The focal paper is from DCWV Mariposa papers and I love this paper.  Shiny 🙂

DCWV Mariposa

DCWV Mariposa

Now the next one can be for either a man or a woman.  Joe says it is for a man….but he also said the first one on this post was for a man, too.  I think he is hinting at me to make him one 🙂

The paper covering the cardboard is from Club Scrap.  I’ve had this paper for several years.  The doily is something I purchased in Lebanon, Missouri at Shepherd Hills Outlet Center last year or the year before that (can’t remember).

Now, the telephone.  It is a Sizzix die that I have had since 2007.  The “Important Message” piece and the “Hello” piece are from Club Scrap and they are part of the pack from the base paper.  The only piece on this Holder that is new is the “Hello, this is Liberty speaking” and it is from Graphic 45 Communique pack.

Communique

Communique

The final Holder for today is food related.  For someone that loves to cook Tim may know.

SORRY – I forgot to upload the photo.

Cooking

Cooking

The papers to cover the base, once again, are from Club Scrap, the piece covering the Post-It-Note cover is a piece from Prima Printery paper.  Both of the chipboard stickers are from Melody Ross and I purchased those about three years ago.

The quote on this Holder is from Nigella Lawson and I thought it was great! and needed to be added to this Holder.  I also wrote cooking terms around the chipboard sticker.

So.  There you have it.  5 more Post-It-Note Holders, of the feminine variety, and ready for Tim’s approval.

Are you digging through your stash now?  I hope I’ve tempted you to go see what you have 🙂

I’m quitting for the day.  My brain hurts from making that flower 🙂

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jann
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 18:22:28

    Leslie…these are FANTABULOUS! Each is unique and gorgeous in and of itself….and collectively they are a brilliant use of your “stash!” Your flower technique rocks…and I think I can safely move that tool into my studio and out of my kitchen….hey measuring stuff when you cook is highly over rated! LOL Great post…off to dig through my stash. Hugs…love you!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 03, 2011 @ 18:42:23

      Thank you Jann 🙂 You have me rolling on the floor, Girlfriend 😀 I can hear Royce now. “Honey, those go in the kitchen. Why are you taking them to your studio?” I’m going to win this battle of the flowers! They are not going to get the best of me 🙂

      I’m glad I inspired you to dig through your stash 😀 I know you had a major clean up and organize event during the summer. Have fun an I await news of a forthcoming project 🙂

      Love you my Friend – Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 15:56:14

    Awesome, brilliant work. Just adore these but of course the Mariposa one has to be my favourite 🙂 Don’t use up all that paper!
    The flower you created is gorgeous, have no idea why you have a problem with using flowers…certainly no one would guess that you do have a problem with them because the one you made from scratch is lovely and the other ones are perfectly placed. Great stuff here 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 07, 2011 @ 18:32:28

      Thank you Lynn. I’ll set some of the Mariposa paper aside to send to you. Then you will have some to gaze upon and run your hands over 😀 That stuff is more for hoarding than using 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

